flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > OS Construction > Micro OS contest

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next

winner
bitshifter
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
windwakr
100%
 100%  [ 1 ]
Total Votes : 1

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
windwakr



Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 827
windwakr 24 Jul 2009, 22:11
Try RawWrite. I don't know if it would work, but its worth trying. I really need to get myself a working floppy drive.

If that doesn't work, here is a file that should. Just remove the "times 1474560-($-$$) db 0" line so its 512 bytes then run the program abscopy in this zip file with the parameters "abscopy wind_os.img 0"


The OS in here was written by ATV for the 512b OS competition here on these boards. If anyone wants, I can upload all the ones I had downloaded. I can't seem to find a mirror anywhere else....hmm, I wonder what happened to decard....




Hmm, I may be on to something. Either decard is off doing this. Or someone else in his town has the same name. Notice the bottom, "Mateusz Tymek 2008" And you can see the town Kalisz mentioned there in the text. I wonder why he hasnt been to the forums in 3 years.
decard wrote:
My name is Mateusz Tymek. I live in Poland, in not very big (100 thousand citzents) city called Kalisz.


Description:
Download
Filename: DEBUGOS3.ZIP
Filesize: 24.51 KB
Downloaded: 268 Time(s)


_________________
----> * <---- My star, won HERE


Last edited by windwakr on 24 Jul 2009, 22:42; edited 7 times in total
Post 24 Jul 2009, 22:11
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Coddy41



Joined: 18 Jan 2009
Posts: 384
Location: Ohio, USA
Coddy41 24 Jul 2009, 22:16
Lol, Thats what I was using, I get an error, it cant find the track requested Confused

Edit: Ignore read below
||
v


Last edited by Coddy41 on 24 Jul 2009, 23:06; edited 1 time in total
Post 24 Jul 2009, 22:16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Coddy41



Joined: 18 Jan 2009
Posts: 384
Location: Ohio, USA
Coddy41 24 Jul 2009, 23:04
OK... I got it to work, it looks fine,

works well on:
Intel MMX
AMD anthalon (however you spell it)
Intel Celeron
Intel pentium 2


all 32 bit prossesers, I only have 4 different types of prosesers
to test on.


Description: Wind OS test succeed, with rawright and ect.
Download
Filename: WindOS.zip
Filesize: 9.15 KB
Downloaded: 271 Time(s)


_________________
Want hosting for free for your asm project? You can PM me. (*.fasm4u.net)
Post 24 Jul 2009, 23:04
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
windwakr



Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 827
windwakr 24 Jul 2009, 23:42
Ok, thanks for testing it on real hardware.
Post 24 Jul 2009, 23:42
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Coddy41



Joined: 18 Jan 2009
Posts: 384
Location: Ohio, USA
Coddy41 24 Jul 2009, 23:57
No problem, It looks cool, looks as if Bitshifter has some good competition. as well as me.....
Post 24 Jul 2009, 23:57
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
bitshifter



Joined: 04 Dec 2007
Posts: 796
Location: Massachusetts, USA
bitshifter 25 Jul 2009, 04:00
Hi Coddy
I had finished my 2K entry but i though this was dead in the water.
Next time i get on my coding pc i will grab it and post it here for u.
Post 25 Jul 2009, 04:00
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
windwakr



Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 827
windwakr 25 Jul 2009, 04:13
I have been bored over the last couple hours, so I decided to try coding my first Command-Line Interface. It doesn't check for commands or anything, but enter and backspace work. It even scrolls up when you type too far or press enter a lot. It was fun figuring out how to do all that. Ignore the extremely disgusting code, I was just trying out ideas and didn't want to format my code good in case I made a big mistake, all that effort would have been a waste. I'll clean it up eventually.


To test it, assemble the bootloader. Uncomment the following lines in "Wind_OS.asm":
Code:
;format binary as 'img'

;file 'WindOS_boot.bin' 

;times 1474560-($-$$)-512 db 0  
    

Then write it to a floppy or try it in a virtual machine.


Description:
Download
Filename: Wind_OS.zip
Filesize: 1.99 KB
Downloaded: 260 Time(s)


_________________
----> * <---- My star, won HERE
Post 25 Jul 2009, 04:13
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
windwakr



Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 827
windwakr 26 Jul 2009, 00:54
What is wrong with my scrolling code?? It works right and everything but it leaves a cyan block on the screen, I can't see whats causing it.

When I remove this code from scrollupone the cyan block doesn't appear. WTF
I don't see how this code could affect the 4th line when it is clearing the last line.
Code:
mov ax,0F00h
mov di,3840
mov cx,80
rep stosw
    


Description:
Download
Filename: wind_os_001.zip
Filesize: 2.1 KB
Downloaded: 273 Time(s)


_________________
----> * <---- My star, won HERE
Post 26 Jul 2009, 00:54
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
bitshifter



Joined: 04 Dec 2007
Posts: 796
Location: Massachusetts, USA
bitshifter 26 Jul 2009, 04:54
This is how i scroll up in real mode (text mode 3)
Code:
      mov ah,0x06 ; function id 
      mov al,0x01 ; num lines (0=all)
      mov bh,0x0F ; attribute (bk = black, fg = white) 
      mov cl,0x00 ; top left column 
      mov ch,0x00 ; top left row 
      mov dl,79   ; bottom right column 
      mov dh,24   ; bottom right row 
      int 0x10    ; invoke BIOS
    

You will need to adjust caret position afterward.

_________________
Coding a 3D game engine with fasm is like trying to eat an elephant,
you just have to keep focused and take it one 'byte' at a time.
Post 26 Jul 2009, 04:54
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
windwakr



Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 827
windwakr 26 Jul 2009, 14:28
Hmmm, thanks. That is much simpler than my method.
Post 26 Jul 2009, 14:28
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Coddy41



Joined: 18 Jan 2009
Posts: 384
Location: Ohio, USA
Coddy41 27 Jul 2009, 13:57
I am not getting the Cyan Block on my PC :/ It runs fine on all of them......
Post 27 Jul 2009, 13:57
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
pelaillo
Missing in inaction


Joined: 19 Jun 2003
Posts: 878
Location: Colombia
pelaillo 27 Jul 2009, 20:41
Quote:

Notice the bottom, "Mateusz Tymek 2008" And you can see the town Kalisz mentioned there in the text. I wonder why he hasnt been to the forums in 3 years.

It's certainly him, just look at the html source of some of the pages. I suppose that he wanted to earn a living out of scripting languages and that's great. It is easier than with assembly nowadays. However I wonder why he lost interest in fasm altogether. Sad
Post 27 Jul 2009, 20:41
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger Reply with quote
Coddy41



Joined: 18 Jan 2009
Posts: 384
Location: Ohio, USA
Coddy41 28 Jul 2009, 13:01
bitshifter wrote:
Hi Coddy
I had finished my 2K entry but i though this was dead in the water.
Next time i get on my coding pc i will grab it and post it here for u.

How did I miss this post? Anyway way, If you want as I told Windwakr and revolusion you can
make to 5k if you want to.

_________________
Want hosting for free for your asm project? You can PM me. (*.fasm4u.net)
Post 28 Jul 2009, 13:01
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
windwakr



Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 827
windwakr 30 Jul 2009, 00:55
New test version, kernel completely rewritten. The code is now readable(well, compared to the last version)! There are 4 commands, "help", "?", "ver", and "cls". Case does not matter in the commands. I'm thinking about doing some simple com loading.

EDIT: Uploaded slightly better version.


Description:
Download
Filename: Wind_OS_v02.zip
Filesize: 3.51 KB
Downloaded: 277 Time(s)


_________________
----> * <---- My star, won HERE


Last edited by windwakr on 30 Jul 2009, 14:32; edited 1 time in total
Post 30 Jul 2009, 00:55
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Coddy41



Joined: 18 Jan 2009
Posts: 384
Location: Ohio, USA
Coddy41 30 Jul 2009, 13:35
Cool, It works alot better than the last one, I didn't have to try 13 times to get it to right to floppy, this one I got on first try. What I found intristing was I typed in say... "ver help" it displayed the version, or if I typed in help ver it displayed help, it reads the first command and ignores the space and beond. I thought it was going to give me an error.
Post 30 Jul 2009, 13:35
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
windwakr



Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 827
windwakr 30 Jul 2009, 14:13
Ya, I plan on allowing some commands to have arguments passed to them, but am too lazy to check on commands that shouldn't have any. Although, I should fix it. You can type stuff like "help3jhejkreyrufdfbby" and it'll show the help message lol. Should be a pretty easy fix.

Thanks for testing.

EDIT: Uploaded fix, now these commands are only recognized if you type them exactly. Lol, just had to change a few little things, took under a minute. And it doesn't mess up using arguments on future commands.
Post 30 Jul 2009, 14:13
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Coddy41



Joined: 18 Jan 2009
Posts: 384
Location: Ohio, USA
Coddy41 30 Jul 2009, 20:45
lol, nice, I see yours is coming nicely, as for mine, I started over because I didn't like the derection it was headed and some places looked like my old code, so I just started over.
Post 30 Jul 2009, 20:45
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
windwakr



Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 827
windwakr 17 Aug 2009, 18:40
Is this thing still going on? Is anyone else participating? I haven't worked on mine since my last post, and probably won't have time to work on it for a few weeks.
Post 17 Aug 2009, 18:40
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Coddy41



Joined: 18 Jan 2009
Posts: 384
Location: Ohio, USA
Coddy41 18 Aug 2009, 12:33
Its still going on, though I don't know if anyone else is participating Sad I would of posted my OS by now but I'm stuck with it.
Post 18 Aug 2009, 12:33
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
windwakr



Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 827
windwakr 18 Aug 2009, 18:36
What are you stuck with?
Post 18 Aug 2009, 18:36
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next

< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2024, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube.

Website powered by rwasa.