flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Compiler Internals > include pointing to a global folder.

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4347
Location: Now
edfed 11 Nov 2008, 07:41
i explain, is it easy to modify a little the include drective in order to include files from "fasmw/includes' regardless of the location of the source file to be compiled.

and a simple include 'win32a.inc' will be required to access this file.
and there will be no need to move the source code or modify this line.
Post 11 Nov 2008, 07:41
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 20356
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution 11 Nov 2008, 08:36
I'm not sure what you are asking/saying but it seems that this is already functional:
Code:
set include=drive:\somePath\morePath    
Is that what you are referring to?
Post 11 Nov 2008, 08:36
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4347
Location: Now
edfed 11 Nov 2008, 11:44
yes but something more internal.
fasmw will search for a file in the current folder, and if it don't find the file, it will search in the include folder provided with fasmw.zip.

and then, an interresting feature is possible, put our own librairies in fasmw/include folder to access them from any place on the computer.
Post 11 Nov 2008, 11:44
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 20356
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution 11 Nov 2008, 11:47
But we can already do that with the include environment variable right? What is it that you are saying should be different?
Post 11 Nov 2008, 11:47
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4347
Location: Now
edfed 11 Nov 2008, 11:51
just something by default, without setting any include environment variable.
fully transparent.
Post 11 Nov 2008, 11:51
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 20356
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution 11 Nov 2008, 12:50
So are you recommending that the folder (or the sub-folder INCLUDE/*) of the executable be searched automatically?

I think that is a reasonable thing to do.

It would also need to be done with all of the five versions, DOS, LINUX, Windows, Libc and DLL so as to be a standard feature among all.
Post 11 Nov 2008, 12:50
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4347
Location: Now
edfed 11 Nov 2008, 16:04
yes, all fasm versions would have this feature.

simple to do i think because it is only an additionnal file open in case of unexistant file in the current folder.
this will force fasm to have a folder "include"

fasmx/include is needed in order to make fasm work with this feature.

but it shall be possible to don't have this folder in case of singl executable without package.
in this case, it will search for an unexisting folder and report a file not found error.
Post 11 Nov 2008, 16:04
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2024, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube.

Website powered by rwasa.