flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > OS Construction > fasm port to FAMOS now operational

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
bogdanontanu



Joined: 07 Jan 2004
Posts: 403
Location: Sol. Earth. Europe. Romania. Bucuresti
bogdanontanu
If you are serious about developing your OS ... then I kindly suggest that you get yourself a site that you pay for (not much) and you have control of what is shown and what files are available and presumably with no ads.

This shows that you have trust in your future OS work and saves a lot of problems for people that intend to download your demos.
Post 27 Oct 2008, 11:03
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Shahada



Joined: 25 Jul 2008
Posts: 77
Shahada
Or meantime try to use another file sharing site, there are enough free file sharing sites with less or no ads and faster upload and download speeds.


Last edited by Shahada on 27 Oct 2008, 15:28; edited 3 times in total
Post 27 Oct 2008, 13:27
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4633
Location: Argentina
LocoDelAssembly
Yes, googlepages for example.
Post 27 Oct 2008, 13:29
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4240
Location: 2018
edfed
or sourceforge.

googlepages means google, means not a good idea.
Post 27 Oct 2008, 18:04
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4633
Location: Argentina
LocoDelAssembly
Quote:

or sourceforge.

Oh yes definitively, it is harder to get your project accepted than getting an account at googlepages but if it is possible then you should try something like that.
Post 27 Oct 2008, 18:59
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
neville



Joined: 13 Jul 2008
Posts: 507
Location: New Zealand
neville
tom tobias wrote:
One could understand the need for an offsite location (but not a porn site) to manage LARGE files, but this OS resides on a floppy disk, for heaven's sake....KILOBYTES. What, such a tiny file is going to cause the FASM forum to crash?
Rolling Eyes

It might be tiny, but it still exceeds the maximum limit (which is why I've never uploaded any FAMOS boot images to the forum before).

Any chance of increasing this limit?

The new release of FAMOS NZ panorama is now at easy-share, for those who are prepared to take the risk Wink
http://w14.easy-share.com/1702201438.html

_________________
FAMOS - the first memory operating system
Post 27 Oct 2008, 23:14
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
neville



Joined: 13 Jul 2008
Posts: 507
Location: New Zealand
neville
Shahada wrote:
Or meantime try to use another file sharing site, there are enough free file sharing sites with less or no ads and faster upload and download speeds.


Thanks, Shahada, and everybody. SourceForge is obviously good, but imposes lots of constraints and conditions... Any other suggestions?

_________________
FAMOS - the first memory operating system
Post 27 Oct 2008, 23:24
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4240
Location: 2018
edfed
your own http server, located on your pc.
Post 27 Oct 2008, 23:55
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
neville



Joined: 13 Jul 2008
Posts: 507
Location: New Zealand
neville
edfed wrote:
your own http server, located on your pc.

One day maybe, but in the meantime a free file host would be better!

Unless of course you would host FAMOS on your server ?
Wink

_________________
FAMOS - the first memory operating system
Post 28 Oct 2008, 00:11
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
windwakr



Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 827
Location: Michigan, USA
windwakr
The problem I posted before about the scrolling is no longer there. I like the new panorama. Keep up the good work!
Post 28 Oct 2008, 00:42
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
neville



Joined: 13 Jul 2008
Posts: 507
Location: New Zealand
neville
windwakr wrote:
The problem I posted before about the scrolling is no longer there. I like the new panorama. Keep up the good work!

Good news. Thanks for the feedback. Quick too! It all goes to prove that BIOS's don't always do what they're "supposed" to do (which I've discovered over and over again during FAMOS development).

_________________
FAMOS - the first memory operating system
Post 28 Oct 2008, 00:48
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Shahada



Joined: 25 Jul 2008
Posts: 77
Shahada
The scrolling issue is fixed now Smile . But which BIOS scrolling functions did you use and how do you set the video mode for the IDE? I ask you only to be sure that there was indeed a buggy video BIOS problem. I really like the programming manual Smile . BTW the "Hex search" in the memory editor is implemented or not? I haven't found how to use it yet.

EDIT: before writing to the CRTC registers for setting the palette you should also check for VGA compatibility, otherwise it's possible to encounter problems, like in the scrolling case. Some VESA implementations are very strange, so for total compatibility better use int 10h ax=4f09h for setting the palette. The advantage is that for the most cards, at least for all the realtively new cards that I know, you could also extend DAC palette width from 6bit to 8bit per color (int 10h ax=4f08h).
Post 28 Oct 2008, 08:50
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
tom tobias



Joined: 09 Sep 2003
Posts: 1320
Location: usa
tom tobias
neville wrote:
...in the meantime a free file host would be better!

here's a few sites which I have not tested, and which may not be satisfactory.

Smile
Post 28 Oct 2008, 09:55
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
neville



Joined: 13 Jul 2008
Posts: 507
Location: New Zealand
neville
to Shahada
Thanks for your feedback again. About the CRTC regs, FAMOS checks for video capabilities during boot-up and configures itself accordingly, so it should be OK to write to the CRTC regs? But that's interesting about INT 10/AX=4F08/BL=0 Set DAC Format/BH=Desired bits per colour. I hadn't noticed that before. I've always just used 0-3Fh (6 bits) for the colours. But does 8 bits work on the video card in your old 486 for example?

FIDE runs in vmode 12!
MOV AX,12H
INT 10H

The FIDE text editor is based on FED, a very simple little text editor I wrote some years ago. FED never had PgUp/Dn and FIDE inherited its single-line scrolling code which I thought would be OK, but it turned out not to be. FED's scrolling was done with INT10H/AH=8 (read text on screen) and AH=9 (write text to screen) - combined with re-writing either the top or bottom line. Well, it seemed like a good idea at the time ...

I'm glad you like the programming manual. After all, it was your idea Smile

Sorry, the memory editor hex search is not implemented yet, but I forgot to connect it to the "not available" message.

Can I ask if you know of any good code for displaying JPG images, preferably for DOS, but without using any DOS calls? It's something I've wanted to do for a long time, but never researched it enough. I can only display uncompressed bitmap images in FAMOS (although I have my own compression technique for disk storage purposes).


to tom tobias
Thanks for the links. I might try fileden soon Very Happy

_________________
FAMOS - the first memory operating system
Post 29 Oct 2008, 01:52
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Shahada



Joined: 25 Jul 2008
Posts: 77
Shahada
Quote:
But does 8 bits work on the video card in your old 486 for example?

My ancient TRIDENT card doesn't have this feature, but it is a VESA 1.2 card. How many people still use such cards?

Quote:
Can I ask if you know of any good code for displaying JPG images, preferably for DOS, but without using any DOS calls?

One of them is here.
For a better example please check your PM.
Post 29 Oct 2008, 06:44
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
neville



Joined: 13 Jul 2008
Posts: 507
Location: New Zealand
neville
FAMOS NZ panorama (ver 1.14) CD image


I've uploaded FAMOS14C.ZIP (incorporating all the latest changes) to fileden free filehost, at

http://www.fileden.com/files/2008/10/28/2163547/FAMOS14C.ZIP


and to my new free website at zoomshare:

http://watkintechnology.zoomshare.com/files/FAMOS/FAMOS14C.ZIP


Both of these provide right-clickable direct download links so you don't even have to see any banner ads or be offended by any site content Smile

Thanks for all suggestions...

Hmm, I think I'll create a dedicated FAMOS download site at zoomshare now and put the latest floppy version there too, and hopefully all future releases...

Shahada, thanks for JPG stuff, very helpful Smile

_________________
FAMOS - the first memory operating system
Post 29 Oct 2008, 23:10
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
windwakr



Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 827
Location: Michigan, USA
windwakr
I tried it in virtual pc and it seems to load fine, but how do I load the snoopy thing? I have it in the root directory of the .iso and I dont see it anywhere in media access. Problem with Magiciso, virtual pc, or you? But anyways, keep up the good work!

_________________
----> * <---- My star, won HERE
Post 29 Oct 2008, 23:39
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
neville



Joined: 13 Jul 2008
Posts: 507
Location: New Zealand
neville
I don't know anything about virtual PC, but I assume you haven't actually burnt a CD but are emulating it with an .ISO image?

If everything is working, Media Access will append the ISO9660 directory entries to the end of the media contents summary, so SNOOPY (and AUTORUN etc. if you used them) should be the last items after "FAMOS Last Words" on page 3 of the black Media Access screen. If not, then there is definitely a problem.

There's a few things that could go wrong, which you can check, but it will be easier to do them one at a time - otherwise I'll be writing a book Smile

1. Is your CD (or CD image) an 'El Torito' bootable CD? If not, it won't work

2. Is Virtual PC good enough to work with the "Watkin Technology Media Editor' (item 8 on page 0 of the GUI) ?
If so, when you press ? followed by (UpperCase) R does it give you
a green 'OK' at bottom right?
This program isn't very user friendly, but I put it there to help with possible CD problems like yours. You have to press Q to quit.

Once you've tried these we'll take it from there...

_________________
FAMOS - the first memory operating system
Post 30 Oct 2008, 03:08
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
windwakr



Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 827
Location: Michigan, USA
windwakr
1. I don't know

2. ya, it works fine, I get the green ok at bottom right.

Heres what is after the last words in the media access

When I try loading it, it gives me an error like "not enough ram"


Description:
Filesize: 16.41 KB
Viewed: 2780 Time(s)

test.png


Post 30 Oct 2008, 14:04
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
neville



Joined: 13 Jul 2008
Posts: 507
Location: New Zealand
neville
OK, here's how to find out if the CD is El Torito (BTW, is it a real CD, or just an image on your HD?)

When you entered ?R in the Watkin Technology Media Editor you were actually reading Absolute Sector Number 0 (ASN0) on the CD because it starts off with ASN=0.

Now if you change the ASN to 11 hex by pressing UpperCase P once and X once (or just X 17 times!) and then enter ?R again you will read ASN11h which is the "Boot Record Volume Descriptor". The sector contents are shown in hex in red, and in ASCII in blue and should start with "CD001 EL TORITO SPECIFICATION". If so Very Happy if not Crying or Very sad (if its a real CD you might need to wait a few seconds while the CD spins up)

If we're still in business, there will be a hex number at offset 47H in the buffer - what is that number? (It's the pointer to the Boot Catalogue). Then we'll take it from there.

If not, you'll need to burn a CD with Nero - I can guarantee that will work!

windwakr wrote:
Heres what is after the last words in the media access

When I try loading it, it gives me an error like "not enough ram"

What exactly were you trying to load here? Was there an entry after FAMOS Last Words, and if so what was it?

_________________
FAMOS - the first memory operating system
Post 30 Oct 2008, 19:14
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.