flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Heap > Soviet calculators

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Tomasz Grysztar
Assembly Artist

Tomasz Grysztar
Today I found a website with materials about a great collection of old Soviet calculators, and among others I've found the one I've been using for many years (I had two of them; one broke, but the other one I still have at home working flawlessly), the Elektronika MK 61. It has a fluorescent display, which I consider a great thing and it was quite a powerful machine for me in the days when I haven't had any PC yet (though the calculations were slow - I recall that computing the sine took several seconds). The best thing about it was that it was RPN.
Is there anyone but me here that had used any of such calculators?

There's also other interesting model shown on that page - the MK 98 (and some other very similar ones), which appears to have x86-compatible assembler! I regret I never had a chance to play with such machine in old days. Smile
Post 22 Sep 2008, 15:36
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
ender

ender
God, this is marvelous! I immediately get freaky when it comes to such things like old good calculators. It started when I was given my first one - Citizen SRP-45. It was given to me by an aunt.
Several years later I decided to buy a more powerful version - SRP-175, as the previous one lacked some function important when I tried to "program" this tiny little bit and I didn't imagine that more powerful machines then Citizen exist (even if I did, I couldn't have afforded any of them).
Unfortunately I've lost both of those pieces of hardware - that's really a pity and I regret it very much.