flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Main > 32-bit drivers, 64-bit OS

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Patrick_



Joined: 11 Mar 2006
Posts: 53
Location: 127.0.0.1
Patrick_
Why is it that 32-bit drivers cannot be used under 64-bit Windows (and I'll assume other 64-bit OSes?), while most 32-bit programs can run under a 64-bit CPU? I don't have a 64-bit OS or CPU, but someone asked me this question and I figured you guys would know the answer.

Anyone have a clue? Smile
Post 13 Jul 2008, 13:37
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17664
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
32bit programs cannot access the full 64bit system. There would need to be an extensive amount of mode switching just to get the driver to interact with a 64bit OS. The complexity would be very high and thus the potential for bugs would be correspondingly high.
Post 13 Jul 2008, 15:39
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Hunter



Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 41
Hunter
Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard supports 32-bit drivers although Leopard is 64-bit OS.
Post 17 Jul 2008, 14:01
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
f0dder



Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 3170
Location: Denmark
f0dder
Hunter wrote:
Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard supports 32-bit drivers although Leopard is 64-bit OS.
It must have a cute thunking layer then? Or perhaps a lot of drivers run as usermode services?

_________________
Image - carpe noctem
Post 17 Jul 2008, 14:22
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
comrade



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 1137
Location: Russian Federation
comrade
That's interesting.

The closest thing Windows has is UMDF - user-mode driver framework.
Post 17 Jul 2008, 17:21
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
comrade



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 1137
Location: Russian Federation
comrade
Haha, it looks like Leopard has a 32-bit kernel even though its advertised as a 64-bit OS. What a fail.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=383492

What is even more fail is some Mac zealot is flaming WOW64.
Post 17 Jul 2008, 17:24
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
f0dder



Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 3170
Location: Denmark
f0dder
comrade wrote:
Haha, it looks like Leopard has a 32-bit kernel even though its advertised as a 64-bit OS. What a fail.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=383492

What is even more fail is some Mac zealot is flaming WOW64.
Doh, I remember hearing about that a while ago, but had forgotten about it.

Fail Smile

_________________
Image - carpe noctem
Post 17 Jul 2008, 21:46
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.