flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Windows > missing characters

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
iic2



Joined: 26 Jun 2008
Posts: 123
iic2
Hello everybody. I am working on a proc that will dump my machine code as I execute after each build. It will be a build in dumper for better understanding of what im seeing as I code, much quicker.

I ran into a problem... i cut and paste the dumped machine code from notepad to WordPerfect/MSWord. Than latter I just so happen to cut-and-paste it back to Notepad and it changed the look of some characters. Can I set word to accept the original format and save it as such without stripping the original format.

Also what is this encoding called and what do you have to do to keep it from changing if I coded my own little editor for that purpose only. Is there an example anywhere here in fasm about this.

Example:

Notepad show: ÿr0@^

MSWord show: ÿ§r0@^

Word stripped the last 3 character and added an extra space i just

notice... I need see the character rather than emtpy spaces the same way I saved it with simple notpad in the first place. What is Word problem with this or how do I set Word up to do what is expected.

I expecially need to see my tabs, spaces and returns the way machine code represents them visually, re-workable.

Thanks very much in advance
Post 02 Jul 2008, 05:34
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
ManOfSteel



Joined: 02 Feb 2005
Posts: 1154
ManOfSteel
Quote:
Can I set word to accept the original format

What original format? Isn't it all binary garbage? Am I missing something here or you're trying to open binary code with a word processor? Why would you want to do that?
Why don't you dump it to a file and then open that file with a hex editor, disassembler or anything useful? Why not do some live debugging?

Quote:
Than latter I just so happen to cut-and-paste it back to Notepad and it changed the look of some characters.

Which is totally normal since neither an editbox nor a richedit control are designed to properly handle binary code.
Post 02 Jul 2008, 12:45
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
iic2



Joined: 26 Jun 2008
Posts: 123
iic2
I see. I just never done this kind of thing before and wonder why it happen and needed to know what tools Im suppose to use. Now I understand.

Thanks ManOfSteel
Post 02 Jul 2008, 15:39
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.