flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > DOS > How do I run FASM in Dosbox?

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
rCX



Joined: 29 Jul 2007
Posts: 166
Location: Maryland, USA
rCX
Sorry for the dumb question but how do I run FASM in Dosbox? When I use the dos version of fasm it gives me an error that says "error: processor is not able to enter 32-bit real mode"

Thanks Confused
Post 11 May 2008, 06:02
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 7751
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar
DOSBox doesn't emulate the 32-bit unreal mode correctly, thus the only way to run fasm under DOSBox is to install some DPMI service (like HDPMI32 or CWSDPMI).

BTW, even though this thing doesn't work right, I really love the latest DOSBox - it runs the most of my old DOS stuff perfectly. In fact I fell just like I had my old DOS computer right here, windowed under 64-bit XP. Great thing.
Post 11 May 2008, 10:20
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Picnic



Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 1288
Location: behind the arc
Picnic
Hi rCX, see here low on page.

Great emulator Tomasz, i love it Razz
Post 11 May 2008, 10:35
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17467
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
Tomasz Grysztar wrote:
DOSBox doesn't emulate the 32-bit unreal mode correctly, thus the only way to run fasm under DOSBox is to install some DPMI service (like HDPMI32 or CWSDPMI).

BTW, even though this thing doesn't work right, I really love the latest DOSBox - it runs the most of my old DOS stuff perfectly. In fact I fell just like I had my old DOS computer right here, windowed under 64-bit XP. Great thing.
Now there is a good reason not to use unreal mode if ever there was one. Wink
Post 11 May 2008, 12:40
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
rCX



Joined: 29 Jul 2007
Posts: 166
Location: Maryland, USA
rCX
Thanks! It works but there is still one problem Smile. I configured dosdox to run "CWSDPMI.exe -p" every time it starts. The first time I use fasm it works but when I use it a 2nd time dosbox freezes. Does anyone know how to fix this?
Post 11 May 2008, 16:26
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
rCX



Joined: 29 Jul 2007
Posts: 166
Location: Maryland, USA
rCX
I fixed it . Thanks for your help! Very Happy
Post 11 May 2008, 19:54
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
rugxulo



Joined: 09 Aug 2005
Posts: 2341
Location: Usono (aka, USA)
rugxulo
Just FYI, I like DOSBox a lot too (and use it frequently), but it's quite slow (and I think they say you really need > 1 Ghz just to get 486 speed, meh). DOSEMU is supposedly faster, but I have yet to find a Linux liveCD that has it preinstalled. (At least DOSBox 0.72 is in antiX-M7.2.iso, but it didn't run well at all on their suggested target of P2/128 MB RAM).
Post 24 May 2008, 22:03
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Jack



Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Posts: 21
Jack
rCX wrote:
I fixed it . Thanks for your help! Very Happy

would you care to elaborate? it could help others. Smile
Post 25 May 2008, 00:13
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
rCX



Joined: 29 Jul 2007
Posts: 166
Location: Maryland, USA
rCX
Basically what you have to do is run "cwsdpmi.exe -p" before you run FASM. The overly detailed explanation now follows Cool....

1. Download csdpmi5b.zip from by clicking on the "Binary Distribution Link" here.
2. In the zipped folder under "BIN" you will find "cwsdpmi.exe". Copy "cwsdpmi.exe" to your fasm folder (or wherever you like if you are familiar with DOSBox).
3. Start DOSBox and enter "mount Z C:\blah1\blah2\FASM\" (or something like this).
4. Then enter "cwsdpmi.exe -p" (This starts DPMI. The "-p" cwsdpmi.exe tells the program to stay resident meaning that you only need to use this line once.
5. Then enter "fasm file.asm file.exe"

So basically like this:
Code:
Z:\mount Z C:\blah1\blah2\FASM\
Z:\cwsdpmi.exe -p
Z:\fasm file.asm file.exe
    




If you want to, you can have cwsdpmi run automatically when you start DOSBox...
1. Open "dosbox.conf" It can be found in e.g. "C\blah\dosbox\dosbox.conf"
2. At the end of the file under:
Code:
[autoexec]
# Lines in this section will be run at startup.
    

3. Write
Code:
Z:\mount Z C:\blah1\blah2\FASM\
Z:\cwsdpmi.exe -p
    

4. Save dosbox.conf
5. Run dosbox and use fasm as much as you want.
Post 27 May 2008, 01:26
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.