flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Main > Running Fasm under Vista 64

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
dosin



Joined: 24 Aug 2007
Posts: 337
dosin
Is it possible ....

I just built a new computer.. and trying to figure out a way to use fasm with it..
So far .. no luck... Does anyone know of a version that works on it?

64 bit version of Fasm..

If not I still have my old computer... But it would be nice..
Post 02 Apr 2008, 02:58
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17247
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
AFAIK you can still run all the existing 32bit apps on Vista64. Or at least it is supposed to be like that, there may be the occasional bug in vista but let's ignore that.
Post 02 Apr 2008, 03:05
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4237
Location: 2018
edfed
64 cannot run 32?
it's curious. isn't it a limitation of vistahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh?
Post 02 Apr 2008, 03:07
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
dosin



Joined: 24 Aug 2007
Posts: 337
dosin
I have tried...

Quote:


C:\fasm>fasm
This version of C:\fasm\FASM.EXE is not compatible with the version of Windows y
ou're running. Check your computer's system information to see whether you need
a x86 (32-bit) or x64 (64-bit) version of the program, and then contact the soft
ware publisher.

C:\fasm>

Get the same message with apps from the other computer ....

It can run 32 bit.. but to install is a pain... esp... with older apps... Visual C++ 6 works .. getting it installed was fun...


Last edited by dosin on 02 Apr 2008, 03:13; edited 1 time in total
Post 02 Apr 2008, 03:09
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4237
Location: 2018
edfed
upgrade to 98 and PIII @ 800MHz Laughing
Post 02 Apr 2008, 03:11
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17247
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
dosin wrote:
I have tried...

Quote:


C:\fasm>fasm
This version of C:\fasm\FASM.EXE is not compatible with the version of Windows y
ou're running. Check your computer's system information to see whether you need
a x86 (32-bit) or x64 (64-bit) version of the program, and then contact the soft
ware publisher.

C:\fasm>

[/code]
Get the same message with apps from the other computer ....
Oh, that doesn't bode well for Vista64. I'm glad I don't use it.

But I thought that Vista was able to do the 32bit thing? Maybe it is just the console apps that can't run?
Post 02 Apr 2008, 03:12
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
dosin



Joined: 24 Aug 2007
Posts: 337
dosin
I can run 32 bit of call of duty.. and Visual C++ 6.0 ...

Just not.. the 32bit console apps from fasm...
Post 02 Apr 2008, 03:14
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4237
Location: 2018
edfed
did you try the DOSBOX emulator?


Last edited by edfed on 02 Apr 2008, 03:17; edited 1 time in total
Post 02 Apr 2008, 03:16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
dosin



Joined: 24 Aug 2007
Posts: 337
dosin
Quote:
upgrade to 98


XP would be a better choice.. I can't stand to look at 98 anymore..
Post 02 Apr 2008, 03:17
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
dosin



Joined: 24 Aug 2007
Posts: 337
dosin
dosbox.. I could try it...

Is there was a way to recompile fasm under it...
Post 02 Apr 2008, 03:18
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17247
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
dosin wrote:
Quote:
upgrade to 98


XP would be a better choice.. I can't stand to look at 98 anymore..
Yeah, there are a lot of people now 'upgrading' to XP. I suggest you join them and get your money back from MS.
Post 02 Apr 2008, 03:19
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4237
Location: 2018
edfed
it's funny, for me, it's the oposite situation. 98 boots in less than 20 seconds, shutdown in 2 seconds, don't know what a virus attack is and blah and blah and blah.
just it's a bit dangerous to play with int13h and frequentlly hangs. but the switch offbutton is there and save my soul.
Post 02 Apr 2008, 03:20
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17247
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
edfed wrote:
... it's a bit dangerous to play with int13h and frequentlly hangs ...
Therein lies the ugliness of 98. If it hangs then it means lost work and lost time, I think you lose more time with hangs than you save with a 20 second boot up. BTW, my XP boots in 28 seconds, but I don't have the hanging at all.
Post 02 Apr 2008, 03:23
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17247
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
Oh, I just checked the uptime on my Dell laptop, last time it rebooted was August 2006!
Post 02 Apr 2008, 03:25
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
dosin



Joined: 24 Aug 2007
Posts: 337
dosin
On my other computer with XP .. Never had any prob... back to the 98 days..aaaahhhhh!!!!!

I would better off using linux before 98....

In a few weeks I am going to add anothe hd and duel boot.. and install 64 bit version of linux.. I wonder if Fasm works on that version..
Post 02 Apr 2008, 03:26
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17247
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
dosin wrote:
... 64 bit version of linux.. I wonder if Fasm works on that version..
Let us know if it works.
Post 02 Apr 2008, 03:28
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4237
Location: 2018
edfed
maybe, but i'm oldschool, i cannot use xp.

this machine was XP when i bought it. but it was sooo hem. so.. i don't find the word.
maybe if i find a very good version of XP. but for now, i fond they are all limited from XP pro SP2 to XP LSD and over. it's my choice. hang is only about some internet programs. and when i'm in a code session, i never play with unknown programs.

about the problem of dosin:

upgrade to XP. don't wait no more.


Quote:
Oh, I just checked the uptime on my Dell laptop, last time it rebooted was August 2006!

you lie! Shocked
Post 02 Apr 2008, 03:29
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17247
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
about the problem of edfed:

upgrade to XP. don't wait no more.


Last edited by revolution on 02 Apr 2008, 03:32; edited 1 time in total
Post 02 Apr 2008, 03:32
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
dosin



Joined: 24 Aug 2007
Posts: 337
dosin
I will .. That would be nice if it does..

I am going to try qemu and dos box under vista 64..

Qemu works under vista to run the apps... like my OS...

Later will try dos box...

I think I would need to figure out a way to recompile Fasm under it
Post 02 Apr 2008, 03:32
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17247
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
edfed wrote:
Quote:
Oh, I just checked the uptime on my Dell laptop, last time it rebooted was August 2006!

you lie! Shocked
Sorry to disappoint you edfed, but it is true.
Post 02 Apr 2008, 03:33
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.