flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Windows > Help - Error: file not found

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
ashepherd89



Joined: 13 Feb 2008
Posts: 4
ashepherd89 13 Feb 2008, 19:54
Before I begin I'd like to say I'm sorry if my problem has already been addressed. I've already tried searching these forums for it, but it failed to turn up.

I'm relatively new to assembly language and I just downloaded fasm today. Upon trying to compile an example file included with the package that I downloaded, I received an error which stated, "error: file not found." Before I downloaded fasm, I downloaded a few other assemblers earlier today which all yielded the same result, "Error: file not found." This is crazy to me because obviously the files are there and fasm seems to open them and maintain the integrity of their paths.

Simpling asking, what am I doing wrong?
Post 13 Feb 2008, 19:54
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 20451
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution 13 Feb 2008, 20:02
Check your include path

set include=c:\fasm\include

Or something like that, obviously it should be set your where you put fasm.
Post 13 Feb 2008, 20:02
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
ashepherd89



Joined: 13 Feb 2008
Posts: 4
ashepherd89 13 Feb 2008, 20:07
Yeah, that was the problem. I just figured that out as you posted too. Thanks a lot!
Post 13 Feb 2008, 20:07
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
ashepherd89



Joined: 13 Feb 2008
Posts: 4
ashepherd89 13 Feb 2008, 20:25
Where do i go to set my include path manually? I initially resolved the problem by typing in the entire path to the include directory in an assembly file.

I opened 'cmd' and tried passing 'set include=c:\fasm\include'. Although this seemed to not do anything when I checked in environment variables. Also, "c:\fasm\include" is the correct path that I'm using. How do I set that path?
Post 13 Feb 2008, 20:25
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
ashepherd89



Joined: 13 Feb 2008
Posts: 4
ashepherd89 13 Feb 2008, 20:35
Nevermind, I figured out how to set it. Smile I should have just initially read the pdf file that came with fasm. It had all the anwsers.
Post 13 Feb 2008, 20:35
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
asmrox



Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 160
asmrox 13 Feb 2008, 21:27
only troubles with macros, its really so hard to write iat yourself?

i usually edit Path in HKLM\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\Session Manager\Environment to not have to ..\..\..\..\dir\program.exe
Post 13 Feb 2008, 21:27
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2025, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube.

Website powered by rwasa.