flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Main > flat assembler 1.51

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8356
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 24 Jan 2004, 20:50
The first beta version of fasm 1.51 is now available as official download on http://flatassembler.net - no new features this time, only some code revisions, optimizations for better speed of compilation of large projects, and some other small fixes.
Post 24 Jan 2004, 20:50
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
comrade



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 1150
Location: Russian Federation
comrade 24 Jan 2004, 21:26
Thanks!

_________________
comrade (comrade64@live.com; http://comrade.ownz.com/)
Post 24 Jan 2004, 21:26
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
fasm9



Joined: 19 Jun 2003
Posts: 439
fasm9 24 Jan 2004, 21:33
Hi,

FASM 1.51 beta 1 for MenuetOS?
Is it difficult to porting?

Excuse me (=newbie)
--
Post 24 Jan 2004, 21:33
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
mike.dld



Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 235
Location: Belarus, Minsk
mike.dld 24 Jan 2004, 21:50
fasm9 wrote:
Is it difficult to porting?

ask Ville, he knows Wink

i think no because things you need to change are messages processing and I/O
Post 24 Jan 2004, 21:50
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
fasm9



Joined: 19 Jun 2003
Posts: 439
fasm9 24 Jan 2004, 21:59
But i want(sorry for only mouth lives) officially linked in http://flatassembler.net/

--
Post 24 Jan 2004, 21:59
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
asmdemon



Joined: 18 Jan 2004
Posts: 97
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
asmdemon 24 Jan 2004, 22:46
can u still provide the links for the last stable version(non Beta) on your site? Laughing
Post 24 Jan 2004, 22:46
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
asmdemon



Joined: 18 Jan 2004
Posts: 97
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
asmdemon 24 Jan 2004, 22:57
also, CTRL+HOME doesn't go to the begining of the file.
Post 24 Jan 2004, 22:57
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8356
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 25 Jan 2004, 08:39
Here you've got the old releases: http://fasm.sourceforge.net/archive/
But beta release in this case of fasm means stable, though not final. Actually 1.51 is probably even more stable than 1.50, as some crash-causing bugs were fixed.
Post 25 Jan 2004, 08:39
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8356
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 25 Jan 2004, 08:53
asmdemon wrote:
also, CTRL+HOME doesn't go to the begining of the file.

Please read the "Keyboard commands for Windows version" from the http://flatassembler.net/. FASMW's keyboard layout is very traditional one (based on some old IDEs for DOS), and i'm very used to it.
Post 25 Jan 2004, 08:53
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
VitalOne



Joined: 29 Jul 2003
Posts: 54
Location: USA
VitalOne 25 Jan 2004, 20:05
I open up the HELLO example that came with fasmw151, and compile it getting this error:
Quote:

Error: out of memory


I tried other windows applications and still the same error. I have enough memory and fasm 1.50 compiles it fine, what could be the problem?
Post 25 Jan 2004, 20:05
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8356
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 25 Jan 2004, 20:39
You can adjust the memory settings in "Compiler setup" window.
But thanks to your notification I realized that I should increase the percent of memory that is used for additional memory block, as 1.51 uses it more that previous releases. I have fixed it and it again is able to compile the HELLO example with the default 4 MB memory setting.
Post 25 Jan 2004, 20:39
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
VitalOne



Joined: 29 Jul 2003
Posts: 54
Location: USA
VitalOne 26 Jan 2004, 01:40
Thanks Privalov!
Post 26 Jan 2004, 01:40
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger Reply with quote
HarryTuttle



Joined: 26 Sep 2003
Posts: 211
Location: Poland
HarryTuttle 26 Jan 2004, 10:15
the best of all is the question who has better fun?
users who have new version or Privalov because of smart code solutions...

I wish YOU Privalov much joy with your interests and work and very thank YOU for your help.


Code:

        __FASM__
       |        |
       |   1    |Others
--------        ________
   2                3   
    

_________________
Microsoft: brings power of yesterday to computers of today.
Post 26 Jan 2004, 10:15
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
decard



Joined: 11 Sep 2003
Posts: 1092
Location: Poland
decard 26 Jan 2004, 13:43
Hi Privalov,
The following code doesn't want to compile (got undefined symbol):
Code:
global_label:

  jmp   .local_label
SOME_CONSTANT = 1
.local_label:    


Instead of global_label.local_label it produces SOME_CONSTANTS.local_label. Is this a bug?
Post 26 Jan 2004, 13:43
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8356
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 26 Jan 2004, 13:50
It's intended - for parser labels and constants are the same thing. So the constant begins the new local labels space. Do you think I should change it? It would break backward-compatibility, but it would also allow to simplify some macros...
Post 26 Jan 2004, 13:50
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3499
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound 26 Jan 2004, 14:27
Absolutely the same effect is with local macro labels. So, in many cases we are forced to use double pointet labels ( local ..mylocal ).
And if we bring up this subject, why not to think about how to make multy level labels in the code. Now only data structures may have more than two levels of nested local labels, why not to make it for code too.

Regards
Post 26 Jan 2004, 14:27
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8356
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 26 Jan 2004, 14:40
Would that be really useful for something? I even don't have an idea how could it look like in terms of syntax.

Anyway I like the idea of disabling beginning new locals section on the numerical constant - and only one line in PARSER.INC needs to be changed to achieve it. Are you for it?
Post 26 Jan 2004, 14:40
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
decard



Joined: 11 Sep 2003
Posts: 1092
Location: Poland
decard 26 Jan 2004, 14:42
Yeah, IMO that's good idea. backward compatibility isn't an argument, I dont think that anybody uses numerical constants with local labels.
Post 26 Jan 2004, 14:42
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8356
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 26 Jan 2004, 14:49
What about data labels (like "something db 0")?
Post 26 Jan 2004, 14:49
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3499
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound 26 Jan 2004, 14:52
Privalov wrote:
Would that be really useful for something? I even don't have an idea how could it look like in terms of syntax.


Well, I have no idea too about syntax. Smile But I know where it may be useful. Actually it is the same idea for local labels and the same reasons, but in a new level. Now, second level of labels, make possible to write internal to subroutines labels with equal names. ( .finish or .quite for example Wink )
But the names of the subroutines still have to be unique in the bounds of the whole project. So, if you write big project with big amount of procedures in the libraries, you have to use the names that must be unique among hundreds and thousends of names.
If it is possible to use one more level of labels, there will be possible to set one common label for whole library and if there are equal names we may use them prefixed with library name. And so on, and so forth...

Quote:
Anyway I like the idea of disabling beginning new locals section on the numerical constant - and only one line in PARSER.INC needs to be changed to achieve it. Are you for it?


I am for it.
Post 26 Jan 2004, 14:52
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  
Goto page 1, 2  Next

< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2024, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube.

Website powered by rwasa.