flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Heap > What internet browser do you use? And why?

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
OzzY



Joined: 19 Sep 2003
Posts: 1029
Location: Everywhere
OzzY
I'm using a lot Opera. I can't get used to any other browser now.
IE is crap.
Firefox is good, especially the addons, but I still find Opera faster and lighter.

So I'm very confused to find THE browser.

Which one do you use? And why?

Thanks
Post 04 Feb 2008, 05:27
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
OzzY



Joined: 19 Sep 2003
Posts: 1029
Location: Everywhere
OzzY
I was thinking about writing a small and fast browser in ASM with ATL.DLL. Is it a good idea?
I would add features like favorites, IRC client, download manager. Very cool!
Would just not have it's own rendering engine (too hard to make a good one).
Post 04 Feb 2008, 06:46
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
asmhack



Joined: 01 Feb 2008
Posts: 431
asmhack
i use opera too.. because it is flat Wink
and if you want something more flat you can use quetannon from the examples pack Laughing

Image
http://www.woodmann.com/fravia/noanon.htm
Post 04 Feb 2008, 08:24
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Vasilev Vjacheslav



Joined: 11 Aug 2004
Posts: 392
Vasilev Vjacheslav
firefox, because it's not IE Smile
Post 04 Feb 2008, 10:19
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
vid
Verbosity in development


Joined: 05 Sep 2003
Posts: 7105
Location: Slovakia
vid
i prefer Opera
Post 04 Feb 2008, 12:05
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4237
Location: 2018
edfed
IE6 Embarassed because firefox is buggy, and i didn't try another browser, M$ with M$, it's the pure logic.
and soon (i hope) FBrowser.Very Happy Rolling Eyes
Post 04 Feb 2008, 12:38
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
drhowarddrfine



Joined: 10 Jul 2007
Posts: 535
drhowarddrfine
Firefox for the web development tools and add-ons. All good web developers use Firefox as their test bed.
Opera for general surfing because it is fast and light.

Never Internet Explorer because it is 10 years behind web standards, insecure and non-standards compliant. It is verifiably the worst browser on the planet.
Post 04 Feb 2008, 12:55
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
0.1



Joined: 24 Jul 2007
Posts: 474
Location: India
0.1
drhowarddrfine, I usually have hard time debugging my JavaScripts on FireFox!
No JavaScript console, at least I could not find one in options . . .

_________________
Code:
 o__=-
 )
(\
 /\  
    
Post 04 Feb 2008, 13:01
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4237
Location: 2018
edfed
OPera since i read this thread

really.

but i dislike opera presentation... how to put all the bars on a single line? menu takes a lot of place... and touchpad scroll don't work.
Post 04 Feb 2008, 13:17
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4633
Location: Argentina
LocoDelAssembly
Quote:

No JavaScript console, at least I could not find one in options . . .

Try harder, it comes with such console (try tools>Errors console, there you will be able to evaluate JavaScript statements and check results).
Post 04 Feb 2008, 15:06
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
sleepsleep



Joined: 05 Oct 2006
Posts: 8903
Location: ˛                             ⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣Posts: 334455
sleepsleep
opera and opera:config to exclude below 2 features

~ disable speed dial
~ disable bit torrent
Post 04 Feb 2008, 15:25
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
drhowarddrfine



Joined: 10 Jul 2007
Posts: 535
drhowarddrfine
0.1 wrote:
drhowarddrfine, I usually have hard time debugging my JavaScripts on FireFox!
No JavaScript console, at least I could not find one in options . . .
You can use Error Console to see javascript and other errors. Most people use Firebug, a most excellent debugger for everything.
Post 04 Feb 2008, 16:18
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4237
Location: 2018
edfed
finally, i use IE 6... simple interface, one single menu line for all components.
and my datas, finally, they are not importants, and i fuck win$
IE 6 is the best for win98 on old mahines.

opera is buggy and don't support the touchpad scroll.
netscape is buggy and don't suppot touchpad scroll.

and the more important:
with IE, my 98 boots in 17 seconds
with opera or netscape, it boots in 25 seconds

as i always reboot to test my boots programs, it's important.

why i don't use an emulator:
bosh takes many more than one minute to show a slow execution. so i prefer rebooting, it's faster.
Post 04 Feb 2008, 17:39
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
vid
Verbosity in development


Joined: 05 Sep 2003
Posts: 7105
Location: Slovakia
vid
edfed: stop bashing opera because you can't use it:

Quote:
how to put all the bars on a single line?

what do you call "bar" ? You can customize menu by right-clicking it and selecting "customize"

Quote:
touchpad scroll don't work.

works for me, at least up down one (i dont use left-right).

Quote:
opera is buggy

example?

Quote:
with IE, my 98 boots in 17 seconds
with opera or netscape, it boots in 25 seconds

how do you mean "with <browser> system boots in ..."? System booting doesn't involve browser.
Post 04 Feb 2008, 18:11
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
asmhack



Joined: 01 Feb 2008
Posts: 431
asmhack
Image

isn't this simple ? Confused opera ftw
and the new m$ iexplorer is the worst thing i have ever seen.. it's like vista XD


Last edited by asmhack on 04 Feb 2008, 18:31; edited 1 time in total
Post 04 Feb 2008, 18:29
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4237
Location: 2018
edfed
Quote:
System booting doesn't involve browser.

fasle, windows search all present programms in the config at bootup.(BOOTLOG.txt)
and then, the less you have installed programms, the fast is the boot.
don't ask me why, it's like that, m$ decided that as this.

opera block some times, ~1second. opera don't adapt the page to the screen resolution. and it's really boring.

as bar, i consider the menubar, with:
"files, edit, options" for the system bar
"address bar" for the address bar
"< > X R H" for button bar
on IE 6, i've put all n a single bar, and then i have the maximum place for the work space.

and the scroll from touch pad really don't work on my machine with opera.
but, nescape, it's worse, and firefox, don't speak about.
only IE 6 is well supported by 98. i don't know for other browsers and OS.
Post 04 Feb 2008, 18:30
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
vid
Verbosity in development


Joined: 05 Sep 2003
Posts: 7105
Location: Slovakia
vid
Quote:
fasle, windows search all present programms in the config at bootup.

in what config? he just lists them, or do you say it runs them? if it just lists them, how come that listing Opera takes 5 seconds?

Quote:
on IE 6, i've put all n a single bar, and then i have the maximum place for the work space.

in opera, you have F11 for fullscreen browsing, otherwise you can put menu in one bar and buttons + address in other. two lines is not that much.

Quote:
opera block some times, ~1second

that's true, but i had same problem with other browsers too

Quote:
opera don't adapt the page to the screen resolution

it does, for pages that aren't fixed to some resolution. and for those, you have ZOOM
Post 04 Feb 2008, 18:38
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4237
Location: 2018
edfed
i don't know, possible the miss of IE as default braowser is the reason.

i don't use F11, never, i always have mutliple IE instances. you'll see how must be my ideal braowser when FB is ready. ;D
Post 04 Feb 2008, 18:52
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
drhowarddrfine



Joined: 10 Jul 2007
Posts: 535
drhowarddrfine
edfed wrote:

opera is buggy and don't support the touchpad scroll.
That's the first time I've ever heard anyone say that. As far as rendering web pages, Opera is number one or two in the world.
Quote:
netscape is buggy and don't suppot touchpad scroll.
Netscape is now dead that AOL stopped all development.
Quote:
and the more important:
with IE, my 98 boots in 17 seconds
with opera or netscape, it boots in 25 seconds
How can you claim opera or netscape slows down booting up? They don't do anything unless you activate them.
Post 04 Feb 2008, 20:22
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
drhowarddrfine



Joined: 10 Jul 2007
Posts: 535
drhowarddrfine
Quote:
opera don't adapt the page to the screen resolution
it does, for pages that aren't fixed to some resolution. and for those, you have ZOOM
This isn't the duty of the browser but the web page developer. You can create a page that expands to full size and you can write one that prevents it. In any case, no browser can be faulted for that.
Post 04 Feb 2008, 20:26
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.