flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Heap > need techno hardware purchase idea for such situation

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
sleepsleep



Joined: 05 Oct 2006
Posts: 8903
Location: ˛                             ⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣Posts: 334455
sleepsleep
i got a client.

basically, he wants a solution that is like below:

1st computer = server, have 3 hard disk, each 1 for each terminal, which means, we put 3 OS aka windows there.

each terminal will have an LCD, a keyboard and a mouse.

so, how to link such terminal to the 1st computer.

and u got idea how to give him a solution?
Post 03 Feb 2008, 17:24
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4237
Location: 2018
edfed
there are old technologies, like old ibm terminals.
you need at least a CPU/ram per terminal.

the communication can be done by a tonken ring network.
Post 03 Feb 2008, 17:30
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
sleepsleep



Joined: 05 Oct 2006
Posts: 8903
Location: ˛                             ⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣Posts: 334455
sleepsleep
well, client only want LCD, keyboard and mouse exists on terminal....
coz space limitation problem.
Post 03 Feb 2008, 17:32
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4633
Location: Argentina
LocoDelAssembly
Buying three PlayStation2? Razz It comes with two USB so one for a USB keyboard and one for a USB mouse, and also has a network adapter so you can run a terminal client on the PS2. I have no idea of how to attach a LCD monitor though.

Also it is supposed to exists some PCI cards that exposes a monitor connector and a mouse&keyboard connector but that is something I saw on TV around 6 years ago and I have no links to such technology.
Post 03 Feb 2008, 17:41
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4237
Location: 2018
edfed
or minitels. minitels are terminals.

your client can buy old computers too, it's economic and ecologic.

or you can concept a little module, with PS/2, VGA, and ethernet connectors. good luck.

or propose him three notebooks, it's good for little places, and it consume less energy than lcd screens...
on ebay, there are old notebooks with P 233MHz for 10euros
Post 03 Feb 2008, 20:34
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
f0dder



Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 3170
Location: Denmark
f0dder
What he thinks he wants probably can't be done.

But you can set up a Windows Terminal Server, and then use dumb, inexpensive, not very power-hungry thin clients (very small computer cases, about the size of a hardcover book) to hook up to the WTS.

Oh yeah btw., there's even smaller than book-sized Smile
Post 03 Feb 2008, 23:57
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
sleepsleep



Joined: 05 Oct 2006
Posts: 8903
Location: ˛                             ⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣Posts: 334455
sleepsleep
glad to see all the inputs.
i guess maybe i ask him to buy laptop Smile and a numpad.

the chippc is quite good, i send an e-mail to them already see, what price they wanna sell.
Post 04 Feb 2008, 15:42
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4633
Location: Argentina
LocoDelAssembly
Finally I found the fucking thingy I was talking about... http://www.ncomputing.com/Xseries.aspx (Well this is improved to the level in which in fact you attach to the server via Ethernet rather than having a server near the "workstations").

Surely you haven't solved the problem yet and now you will apply this solution, don't you? Razz

[edit]I haven't seen f0dder's link before posting, my link is somewhat equivalent to http://www.chippc.com/thin-clients/xtreme-pc/ [/edit]
Post 20 Jul 2008, 00:39
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
sleepsleep



Joined: 05 Oct 2006
Posts: 8903
Location: ˛                             ⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣Posts: 334455
sleepsleep
Quote:

i send an e-mail to them already see, what price they wanna sell.

they seem to told me, they don't ship to asia (i forgot if they reply me or not..., u know, that time is feb, now is july Smile

Quote:

Surely you haven't solved the problem yet and now you will apply this solution, don't you?

well, they bought new pc (from me) and squeze it (on the roof) sort of...
Post 20 Jul 2008, 05:55
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4633
Location: Argentina
LocoDelAssembly
haha, sleepsleep, I was joking, I know I came too late (REALLY late) with the link, I just found it yesterday and I remembered your thread.
Post 20 Jul 2008, 15:35
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.