flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Main > Possible to create Memory State Saving and loading?

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Jojodi



Joined: 01 Jan 2004
Posts: 3
Location: SC, USA
Jojodi
Is it possible through ASM to sequencialy load each byte of memory from range X to X into a file on a HardDisk? Be very useful on critical projects. Could then link to a shortcut save and load keys ont he keyboard.
Post 02 Jan 2004, 16:49
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
vid
Verbosity in development


Joined: 05 Sep 2003
Posts: 7105
Location: Slovakia
vid
why, this is usualy done. Just open file, write the N bytes from position X to hdd and close file handle. Or did you meant it without using OS? THne you have to have some hdd driver
Post 03 Jan 2004, 16:30
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
Madis731



Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 2140
Location: Estonia
Madis731
It isn't just that easy
99% of memory addresses give errors even when NOT writing to them. I'm using Win2000 and when I tried to copy &200000-&200400 or about 1KB to dat.txt, then my program ran tgether and DrWatson said that memory was accessed illegally.Sad
I have 256MB of RAM so the values should be legal, but I have tried starting from 1 and I wasn't lucky even in &FFFFFFF
Post 05 Jan 2004, 23:43
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
vid
Verbosity in development


Joined: 05 Sep 2003
Posts: 7105
Location: Slovakia
vid
of course, protected mode, you can only access memory allocated for your process. You can't modify or even read memory of other processes (so easily).
Post 06 Jan 2004, 10:37
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
fasm9



Joined: 19 Jun 2003
Posts: 439
fasm9
i found this on daily rotation.
Post 08 Jan 2004, 01:50
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Madis731



Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 2140
Location: Estonia
Madis731
It's written in MASM. I can live with that, but why does it use so much calls???
I have seen programs capable of saving few megs per second. With this I got ~128KB/s. The calls take clocks!!!
Post 09 Jan 2004, 14:53
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.