flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Heap > Windows XP SP3

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
OzzY



Joined: 19 Sep 2003
Posts: 1029
Location: Everywhere
OzzY
Post 24 Dec 2007, 04:01
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17274
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
I'll wait for it to come out of beta.
Post 24 Dec 2007, 04:54
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
kohlrak



Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Posts: 1421
Location: Uncle Sam's Pad
kohlrak
I think we're going to have "the service pack 2 error" all over again.
Post 24 Dec 2007, 14:59
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
bitRAKE



Joined: 21 Jul 2003
Posts: 2914
Location: [RSP+8*5]
bitRAKE
Wonder if this is an effort to break WinXP and force Vista onto everybody? Or, rather maybe they want to prevent such accusations?

Does appear to be a couple things I want from SP3, but I might install them separately as I don't want/need the other stuff.
Post 24 Dec 2007, 17:18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4237
Location: 2018
edfed
why did they not make a good win98 remake?
XP XP XP xP xp Xp XP xp obsess
all the world runs on XP?

xp doesn't permitts to code for direct hardware, xp is purelly a custommer/enduser/imposed OS
like a dictature...
buy a PC, it have XP onto... or VISTA...
where are the linux, bsd, beos and others?
Post 24 Dec 2007, 17:42
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Vasilev Vjacheslav



Joined: 11 Aug 2004
Posts: 392
Vasilev Vjacheslav
it's great that wmp11 and ie7 will not be installed with SP3
Post 25 Dec 2007, 14:29
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
kohlrak



Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Posts: 1421
Location: Uncle Sam's Pad
kohlrak
Amen to that. WMP is annoying. Lacks many features, one being the most important feature of everything, a repeat button. Laughing IE7 should never have come out. At lest, though, programs will open a new tab rather than hijacking your browser completely, requiring you to use a back button, or a quick double click of the back button.
Post 25 Dec 2007, 16:56
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
bitRAKE



Joined: 21 Jul 2003
Posts: 2914
Location: [RSP+8*5]
bitRAKE
WMP has a repeat, but for such a memory/resource hog I expect a great deal more.
Post 26 Dec 2007, 00:07
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
kohlrak



Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Posts: 1421
Location: Uncle Sam's Pad
kohlrak
Must be a version later than the one i have. Laughing I just had problems with it tonight at my girlfriend's house since it's her default player. It's crappy.
Post 26 Dec 2007, 06:16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
f0dder



Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 3170
Location: Denmark
f0dder
kohlrak wrote:
I think we're going to have "the service pack 2 error" all over again.

And what exactly is "the service pack 2 error"?

edfed wrote:
why did they not make a good win98 remake?

Because win9x is a piece of shit compared to NT?

edfed wrote:
xp doesn't permitts to code for direct hardware

And no general-purpose OS should allow that outside of drivers. Win9x == fail.

_________________
Image - carpe noctem
Post 26 Dec 2007, 14:11
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
kohlrak



Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Posts: 1421
Location: Uncle Sam's Pad
kohlrak
Quote:
And what exactly is "the service pack 2 error"?


Corrupted version in automatic updates that crashes during install, corrupting windows itself. Really don't know the technical information, since i finally got a good update, i never bothered researching it. I'm looking on google right now, and it says if you don't use a genuine copy of windows or if you don't have the right permissions to certain registry keyes, that was the problem for some. I have this thing pre-installed on my compy, and with admin priviledegs. That wasn't the problem...
Post 26 Dec 2007, 14:44
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
f0dder



Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 3170
Location: Denmark
f0dder
Probably a problem on your end, the service-pack installers verify themselves before starting install...

Registry (and NTFS file/folder) permissions can, btw, be set so even administrators don't have access, unless they manually "take control".
Post 26 Dec 2007, 14:48
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
kohlrak



Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Posts: 1421
Location: Uncle Sam's Pad
kohlrak
But would dell lock the keys? It's funny that how after i reformatted and got a different version, it worked.
Post 26 Dec 2007, 15:14
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.