flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > MenuetOS > Total greenhorn needs help getting started.

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
bitshifter



Joined: 04 Dec 2007
Posts: 796
Location: Massachusetts, USA
bitshifter 04 Dec 2007, 23:53
Hello to everyone at flat-land.

I am new to the forum and this is my first post, so...

I would like to know what i need to get this MenuetOS going.

Im running Windows XP Home Edition.

I think a dual boot is what i need but im not sure?

Im a seasoned pro at C programming, but i know nothing else.

Please, talk to me like a three year old so i can understand.

Ok, thanks for your time and happy coding.
Post 04 Dec 2007, 23:53
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4354
Location: Now
edfed 05 Dec 2007, 00:08
just download menuet installer.
copy it at the C:\ fat32 root
exectute
restart computer
boot device = floppy drive

then choose the right options, like screen resolution, mouse port, and where to load the kernel, hard drive (c:\ copy of menuet installer), floppy, preloaded ram?
thats all

but i warn you. menuet is full of graphic bugs
Post 05 Dec 2007, 00:08
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
bitshifter



Joined: 04 Dec 2007
Posts: 796
Location: Massachusetts, USA
bitshifter 05 Dec 2007, 00:41
Ok, so far i have downloaded the app.

I copied it to the C drive path.

I have ran it and copied to a floppy diskette.

Now how do get to select which os i want to boot on system startup?

If i run msconfig it only recognizes MS windows as a valid os.

Do i need to press a special key during startup to choose the boot sector path?
Post 05 Dec 2007, 00:41
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4354
Location: Now
edfed 05 Dec 2007, 00:53
normal, menuet os doesn't support the multiboot.
it's only a single boot compatible OS

at sartup, enter setup, then select floppy drive to boot.

note that the hard drive kernel load option is only available for FAT32 hard drives.
winXP is NTFS, not FAT32, so it cannot works.

simply exectute the menuet floppy installatiçn, and restart on floppy.
and forget the use of MS tools. they are very limited to MS programms and OSes.

MENUET OS DOESN'T SUPPORT THE MULTIBOOT.
MENUET OS DOESN'T SUPPORT THE MULTIBOOT.
MENUET OS DOESN'T SUPPORT THE MULTIBOOT.
MENUET OS DOESN'T SUPPORT THE MULTIBOOT.
MENUET OS DOESN'T SUPPORT THE MULTIBOOT.
MENUET OS DOESN'T SUPPORT THE MULTIBOOT.
MENUET OS DOESN'T SUPPORT THE MULTIBOOT.
MENUET OS DOESN'T SUPPORT THE MULTIBOOT.
MENUET OS DOESN'T SUPPORT THE MULTIBOOT.
MENUET OS DOESN'T SUPPORT THE MULTIBOOT.
MENUET OS DOESN'T SUPPORT THE MULTIBOOT.
MENUET OS DOESN'T SUPPORT THE MULTIBOOT.
MENUET OS DOESN'T SUPPORT THE MULTIBOOT.
MENUET OS DOESN'T SUPPORT THE MULTIBOOT.
MENUET OS DOESN'T SUPPORT THE MULTIBOOT.
MENUET OS DOESN'T SUPPORT THE MULTIBOOT.
MENUET OS DOESN'T SUPPORT THE MULTIBOOT.
Post 05 Dec 2007, 00:53
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
bitshifter



Joined: 04 Dec 2007
Posts: 796
Location: Massachusetts, USA
bitshifter 05 Dec 2007, 01:12
I get no setup menu during startup.

Do i press one of the f* keys to get to it?

This pc is different than mine, on my system you get a quick glance at the setup menu options, but on this one i see nothing.
Post 05 Dec 2007, 01:12
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4354
Location: Now
edfed 05 Dec 2007, 01:18
del to enter setup
F2 to enter setup
etc etc ...
depend on the brand of your BIOS and machine.
Post 05 Dec 2007, 01:18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
bitshifter



Joined: 04 Dec 2007
Posts: 796
Location: Massachusetts, USA
bitshifter 05 Dec 2007, 03:33
Ok, i have it up and running!!!

The del key was the one to access the setup menu.

The settings were ok just as they were there?

So i re-ran the setup app to re-write itself to the disk, then reboot, then walaa, im in...

I think the first time i ran the setup app it didnt copy itself to disk correctly.

I see what 'edfed' says about the graphics instabilities.

I had to run it in 16 color 640x480 just to get it to load.

It took about fifteen tries before i found the settings it would accept.

You still gotta give the guys credit for making anything happen, whether it runs bad or good.

Ok, thanks for your time, im going to go study the source code now.
Post 05 Dec 2007, 03:33
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4354
Location: Now
edfed 05 Dec 2007, 03:49
good luck, the menuet source is very dirty. too many different guys devellop on it, no one respects the same code style.
the worse is that the semaphores and other fixed memory locations are accessed by numeric address instead of symbols.
Code:
mov ebx,[0x0124663]
;instead of
semaphore=0124663h
mov ebx,[semaphore]
    

Sad
Post 05 Dec 2007, 03:49
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Krulj



Joined: 03 May 2007
Posts: 12
Location: Serbia
Krulj 05 Dec 2007, 21:27
Hello Bitshifter

It is possible to have dual boot machine.

What I'm going to write from now on work's only for:
- 32 bit menuet
- FAT32 primary partition (if you have NTFS partition on C: you can
convert it to FAT32 in command shell without losing data)

Download file M32-085.img from menuetos site.
Copy it to root of primary partition (C:\) and rename it to
menuet.img

Copy file mtldr to C:\ and modify boot.ini by adding folowing line at the end
c:\mtldr="MenuetOS"

Reboot your machine.
When boot screen appear chose MenuetOs and that's it.

In attached file you will find files mtldr and example of my boot.ini

Happy experimenting Wink


Description:
Download
Filename: boot.rar
Filesize: 2.78 KB
Downloaded: 1047 Time(s)

Post 05 Dec 2007, 21:27
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
rugxulo



Joined: 09 Aug 2005
Posts: 2341
Location: Usono (aka, USA)
rugxulo 05 Dec 2007, 23:49
Krulj wrote:

- FAT32 primary partition (if you have NTFS partition on C: you can
convert it to FAT32 in command shell without losing data)


AFAIK, that's not correct. You can only convert from FAT32 to NTFS, not the other way around (from what I've read, corrections welcome). Vista's DISKPART can resize NTFS, though, or maybe you can try a GParted liveCD for XP. But writing a bootable floppy is much safer and easier! Wink
Post 05 Dec 2007, 23:49
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Krulj



Joined: 03 May 2007
Posts: 12
Location: Serbia
Krulj 07 Dec 2007, 11:16
Hi Wink

You are right Rugxulo, mine mistake.
You do have two solutions to convert form NTFS to FAT32 without losing data (but use it on your own risc):
1) http://www.buildorbuy.org/ntfstofat32.html
2) Hirens boot CD
Post 07 Dec 2007, 11:16
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2025, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube.

Website powered by rwasa.