flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Windows > How to change icon of an executable?

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
0.1



Joined: 24 Jul 2007
Posts: 474
Location: India
0.1
How to change icon of an executable that was not created by me?
Say I have a executable program received from somewhere.
How do I change the icon that is displayed for it now?

_________________
Code:
 o__=-
 )
(\
 /\  
    
Post 21 Nov 2007, 09:40
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
shoorick



Joined: 25 Feb 2005
Posts: 1608
Location: Ukraine
shoorick
replace icon with resource editor, say, reshacker
Post 21 Nov 2007, 10:40
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Paulo



Joined: 27 Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Location: Brazil
Paulo
This is like a cracking question... Shoorick's answer is right but with packed executables the change couldn't be so simple. And if the change you made goes a wrong way, you can invalidate your executable.
Post 21 Nov 2007, 11:43
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
0.1



Joined: 24 Jul 2007
Posts: 474
Location: India
0.1
no cracking!
i have a program. but it's icon i don't like!
so i thought maybe it's possible to change icons Exclamation

_________________
Code:
 o__=-
 )
(\
 /\  
    
Post 21 Nov 2007, 12:13
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
shoorick



Joined: 25 Feb 2005
Posts: 1608
Location: Ukraine
shoorick
create link with another icon Wink
Post 21 Nov 2007, 12:23
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
0.1



Joined: 24 Jul 2007
Posts: 474
Location: India
0.1
shoorick, it does not help!
the program appears on the system tray ( with that ugly looking icon Sad )

_________________
Code:
 o__=-
 )
(\
 /\  
    
Post 21 Nov 2007, 13:37
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
shoorick



Joined: 25 Feb 2005
Posts: 1608
Location: Ukraine
shoorick
then only reshack or other tool for direct resource editing must be used. if application is packed/protected - then big hack needed or just do not pay much attention to it Wink
Post 21 Nov 2007, 14:04
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
0.1



Joined: 24 Jul 2007
Posts: 474
Location: India
0.1
shoorick i am sorry for my stupidity Sad
i should have mentioned it before. but anyway the program is Yahoo Messenger.
and when it appears on system tray then every one can see it. and know that i am chatting ( in my office Sad ). which is obviously not allowed!

so is there a simpler way? Sad

_________________
Code:
 o__=-
 )
(\
 /\  
    
Post 22 Nov 2007, 04:13
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
shoorick



Joined: 25 Feb 2005
Posts: 1608
Location: Ukraine
shoorick
the simpliest way i can suggest: go to the taskbar & start menu settings, set on "use tray icons hiding", press "configure", find yim icon and choose to it "hide always" option from combobox. (you may have different names for these options as i have only russian interface here)
Post 22 Nov 2007, 07:22
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
0.1



Joined: 24 Jul 2007
Posts: 474
Location: India
0.1
thanks a lot shoorick!
it worked Smile

_________________
Code:
 o__=-
 )
(\
 /\  
    
Post 22 Nov 2007, 08:36
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
AlexP



Joined: 14 Nov 2007
Posts: 561
Location: Out the window. Yes, that one.
AlexP
Most Admins have a complete log of any .exe's run on the computers. Our school employs a similiar program...
Post 22 Nov 2007, 18:04
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
0.1



Joined: 24 Jul 2007
Posts: 474
Location: India
0.1
really!
AlexP is there a better way to avoid detection while i chat?

_________________
Code:
 o__=-
 )
(\
 /\  
    
Post 23 Nov 2007, 05:52
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
shoorick



Joined: 25 Feb 2005
Posts: 1608
Location: Ukraine
shoorick
rename yim.exe to excell.exe and fix all related links and registry settings... (a lot of work... Smile )
Post 23 Nov 2007, 06:04
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
0.1



Joined: 24 Jul 2007
Posts: 474
Location: India
0.1
shoorick why rename yim.exe to excell.exe only?
can't i name it anything else?

_________________
Code:
 o__=-
 )
(\
 /\  
    
Post 23 Nov 2007, 06:23
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
shoorick



Joined: 25 Feb 2005
Posts: 1608
Location: Ukraine
shoorick
because excell.exe will look like excel.exe in logs Smile generally i'm not sure it is really best way - it depends on your situation Smile don't you have friends among admins? they may cover you against chief - not sure if your chief reads logs by himself, or i could be wrong
Post 23 Nov 2007, 07:59
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
0.1



Joined: 24 Jul 2007
Posts: 474
Location: India
0.1
shoorick i think that it's better that i avoid or do as little chatting as possible Wink

_________________
Code:
 o__=-
 )
(\
 /\  
    
Post 23 Nov 2007, 08:56
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
shoorick



Joined: 25 Feb 2005
Posts: 1608
Location: Ukraine
shoorick
i know...

two women were in the prison many years in one camera together, they were free at the same day... then they were talking near prison gate about couple of hours, and only then gone each with own way Wink
Post 23 Nov 2007, 09:02
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.