flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Heap > laptop/notebook with forgotten bios password

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
sleepsleep



Joined: 05 Oct 2006
Posts: 8884
Location: ˛                             ⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣Posts: 334455
sleepsleep
when you are working in computer shop, some time you would get a laptop that the customer already forgotten what is their notebook/laptop bios password. (maybe they set it, or their first system builder set it or they just forgot what their bios password)

what tools you guys recommend to handle such locked bios? (* notebook/laptop)

i know desktop pc bios could be easily erase by taking the battery out and put it back again.
Post 26 Oct 2007, 20:32
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4237
Location: 2018
edfed
like on desktop
locate the cmos battery
remove it
or find the clear cmos jumper

if nothing of this exists ( flash rom )
i don't know what to do
try to access the cmos memory ship in a eprom reader
and find the password
Post 26 Oct 2007, 20:36
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4633
Location: Argentina
LocoDelAssembly
Isn't the very trivial CMOS eraser just work on it?

[edit]
http://board.flatassembler.net/topic.php?t=7058 <- some info about CMOS accessing and checksum

http://pubs.logicalexpressions.com/pub0009/LPMArticle.asp?ID=156 <- DOS/Windows9x procedure to break checksum and hence the password and all the BIOS configuration.[/edit]
Post 26 Oct 2007, 21:58
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
sylwek32



Joined: 27 Apr 2006
Posts: 339
sylwek32
The way I removed a bios password on my old PC (there wasn't any CMOS Clear Jumper):

1. Disconnect all Power Plugs etc.
2. Take out the Bios Battery
3. Shortcut the 2-Pins of the Bios Battery Holder (leave it shortcutted about 1-2min)
4. Insert the battery as it was inserted.
5. Connect all connectors.
6. Your machine should be be free now
Post 26 Oct 2007, 22:26
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
DustWolf



Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 373
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
DustWolf
Laptops have a default BIOS password that always works. They are the same for all laptops of a brand. If you contact the laptop manufacturer they will supply it for you, tho there are also websites that have them.

A very silly security leak if you ask me but that's how it is.
Post 27 Oct 2007, 13:25
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
sleepsleep



Joined: 05 Oct 2006
Posts: 8884
Location: ˛                             ⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣Posts: 334455
sleepsleep
tried all the mentioned methods. no luck Sad
the laptop is compaq hp presario V3000 series.
Post 27 Oct 2007, 22:51
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4633
Location: Argentina
LocoDelAssembly
You have tested http://pubs.logicalexpressions.com/pub0009/LPMArticle.asp?ID=156 on a non NT/2000/XP/Vista Windows?
Post 27 Oct 2007, 22:59
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
sleepsleep



Joined: 05 Oct 2006
Posts: 8884
Location: ˛                             ⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣Posts: 334455
sleepsleep
yup, boot straight from dos boot diskette DOS 7.1 and using debug.exe ~ but it still doesn't clear the phoenix bios pwd.
Post 27 Oct 2007, 23:29
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Dex4u



Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 1601
Location: web
Dex4u
I run this from MiniDos and it works fine for me:
Code:
org 0x100   mov       al, 0x2E  out         0x70, al  mov       al, 0xFF  out         0x71, alexit:  int      0x20    
Post 28 Oct 2007, 03:12
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
sleepsleep



Joined: 05 Oct 2006
Posts: 8884
Location: ˛                             ⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣Posts: 334455
sleepsleep
hi dex,
do i need to boot using miniDos to try the above or any normal ms-dos will do the same magic?

update:
doesn't work Crying or Very sad
Post 28 Oct 2007, 10:14
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Dex4u



Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 1601
Location: web
Dex4u
Here some other things to try, go to google and put the bios " _brand_ default bios password"
Replace _brand_ with the make of BIOS, you should get links to the default.

Eg: With respect to the Award BIOS, the "AWARD_SW" (use without quotes) and (is is case sensitive) password should even override a set password! If not, you may also want try j262 as the password.

Here are some i have found:

For Award BIOS' try these backdoor passwords:

AWARD_SW
j262
HLT
SER
SKY_FOX
BIOSTAR
ALFAROME
Lkwpeter
j256
AWARD?SW
LKWPETER
syxz
ALLy
589589
589721
awkward
CONCAT
d8on
CONDO
j64
szyx



 



For AMI BIOS' try these backdoor passwords:

AMI
BIOS
PASSWORD
HEWITT RAND
AMI?SW
AMI_SW
LKWPETER
A.M.I.
CONDO



 



For PHOENIX BIOS' try this backdoor password:

phoenix

Also differant make have things like this
Quote:

Key Disk for Toshiba laptops


Some Toshiba notebooks allow to bypass BIOS by inserting a "key-disk" in
the floppy disk drive while booting. To create a Toshiba Keydisk, take a
720Kb or 1.44Mb floppy disk, format it (if it's not formatted yet), then
use a hex editor such as Hex Workshop to change the first five bytes of
the second sector (the one after the boot sector) and set them
to 4B 45 59 00 00 (note that the first three bytes are the ASCII for "KEY" Smile
followed by two zeroes). Once you have created the key disk put it into the
notebook's drive and turn it on, then push the reset button and when asked for
password, press Enter. You will be asked to Set Password again.
Press Y and Enter. You'll enter the BIOS configuration where
you can set a new password.


Let use know if any work.
Post 29 Oct 2007, 02:15
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
sleepsleep



Joined: 05 Oct 2006
Posts: 8884
Location: ˛                             ⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣Posts: 334455
sleepsleep
ya. i google already before posting here,
but those "master" password just doesn't work. (phoenix bios here) hp v3000 series laptop.

no luck Sad i already decide to ask client if they wanna send it to hp service center or not...
Post 29 Oct 2007, 15:42
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4237
Location: 2018
edfed
did you try the hard ware methods?
clear cmos?
you just need a rivscrew
Post 29 Oct 2007, 15:44
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4633
Location: Argentina
LocoDelAssembly
So, time for IDApro and a dump of BIOS ROM Wink

Try the hardware methods if it is not too much risky.
Post 29 Oct 2007, 15:51
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
sleepsleep



Joined: 05 Oct 2006
Posts: 8884
Location: ˛                             ⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣Posts: 334455
sleepsleep
i tried hardware method, and disconnect the cmos battery for half-hour but still.... doesn't work.
Post 29 Oct 2007, 23:35
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4633
Location: Argentina
LocoDelAssembly
Even shortcircuiting positive and negative pins???

If hardware methods persists to fail you will really need some reverse engineering then Confused

Is there some official site to download a BIOS update? (and preferably the original BIOS)

By flashing a new BIOS as edfed proposed could reset the password as desktop PCs does (among all the CMOS configuration), but I trust so few in re-flashings that if I were you I would invest some time reversing before proceeding to re-flash.
Post 29 Oct 2007, 23:47
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
sleepsleep



Joined: 05 Oct 2006
Posts: 8884
Location: ˛                             ⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣Posts: 334455
sleepsleep
sent to HP compaq service center, and yes, they changed the motherboard Smile foc cause still under 1 year warranty.
Post 20 Nov 2007, 22:45
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.