flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > OS Construction > qemu on windowsXP

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
dosin



Joined: 24 Aug 2007
Posts: 337
dosin
I am trying to boot from my floppy disk.. and I keep getting this error!..
I am new to qemu and not sure how to get this working.. I have seen in prev post that some of you use this program..Thats why I posted it here..

qemu -L .\pc-bios -fda \\.\a: -boot a

Error:
Could not open '\\.\kqemu' - QEMU acceleration layer not activated
qemu: could not load PC bios '.\pc-bios/bios.bin'

bios.bin is located in the qemu folder?

Thanks, for any help given...
Post 07 Oct 2007, 07:02
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Dex4u



Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 1601
Location: web
Dex4u
I do not use emulators much, but this bat file works with DexOS and MiniDos under qemu in XP.
Code:
@echo offSET SDL_VIDEODRIVER=windibSTART qemu-system-x86_64.exe -L . -m 32 -fda MiniDOS.ima -soundhw sb16 -std-vga -localtimeCLSexit    

NOTE: You need to change "qemu-system-x86_64.exe" to the one your using and also change "MiniDOS.ima" to the image your using.
I know you want to load it from A: drive, but is just the way i do it.
Post 07 Oct 2007, 17:41
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
dosin



Joined: 24 Aug 2007
Posts: 337
dosin
This code below will boot from a floppy disk..
Just place it in a .bat file... Thanks Dex.. It took me a while to figure it out..
The only problem is that it will boot my 16 bit kernel but not a Pmode one..

I can load the 16 bit and then execute the 32 bit one once the 16bit one is loaded.. It should work the same with minidos.. The graphics worked also by doing this..


qemu-system-x86_64.exe -L .\ -fda \\.\a: -boot a
Post 08 Oct 2007, 10:59
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Dex4u



Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 1601
Location: web
Dex4u
Thanks dosin, i will give it a try with MiniDos.
Post 08 Oct 2007, 16:18
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
dosin



Joined: 24 Aug 2007
Posts: 337
dosin
I was able to boot MenuetOS with that config.. if anyone wanted to know!
Post 08 Oct 2007, 20:48
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.