flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Windows > a question about the quetannon example

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
madmatt



Joined: 07 Oct 2003
Posts: 1045
Location: Michigan, USA
madmatt
I'm currious why you have to load the "richedit32.dll" library using "LoadLibrary" instead of importing it using the import macro Question Confused
Post 15 Sep 2007, 14:00
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
f0dder



Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 3170
Location: Denmark
f0dder
You don't, and my guess to why many people do it that way, is that whoever originally wrote tutorials for richedit didn't have an import library or a header file for it...

Perhaps there's justification for it if you want multiple version support.
Post 16 Sep 2007, 17:08
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 7725
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar
There also might be a justification if you want to display your own custom error message when the DLL is missing. And that's all.
Post 17 Sep 2007, 08:41
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
madmatt



Joined: 07 Oct 2003
Posts: 1045
Location: Michigan, USA
madmatt
The reason I ask is because I'm using the excellent apiresolve to create dll imports, it worked for riched20.dll, but crashed for riched32.dll. So I was wondering if this is some kind of com object or something?
Post 17 Sep 2007, 10:19
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
vid
Verbosity in development


Joined: 05 Sep 2003
Posts: 7105
Location: Slovakia
vid
Quote:
There also might be a justification if you want to display your own custom error message when the DLL is missing.

is that possible to not have riched32.dll ?

madmatt: i quess it isn't so excellent then Smile You have sources for it?
Post 17 Sep 2007, 10:39
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
farrier



Joined: 26 Aug 2004
Posts: 274
Location: North Central Mississippi
farrier
Riched32.dll represents RichEdit 1.0 , the lowest functionality in the RichEdit family. It is present in 95, 98, ME, & NT and is emulated in 2000, xp, & Vista. If you look at all the Rich*.dll and *edit.dll files on a system, Riched32.dll is about 4k, while others are >400K. This may be why apiresolve does not work.

farrier

_________________
Some Assembly Required
It's a good day to code!
U.S.Constitution; Bill of Rights; Amendment 1:
... the right of the people peaceably to assemble, ...
The code is dark, and full of errors!
Post 17 Sep 2007, 14:09
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
vid
Verbosity in development


Joined: 05 Sep 2003
Posts: 7105
Location: Slovakia
vid
Oh, so i quess that api resolve can't handle export forwarding.
Post 17 Sep 2007, 14:15
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
madmatt



Joined: 07 Oct 2003
Posts: 1045
Location: Michigan, USA
madmatt
farrier wrote:
Riched32.dll represents RichEdit 1.0 , the lowest functionality in the RichEdit family. It is present in 95, 98, ME, & NT and is emulated in 2000, xp, & Vista. If you look at all the Rich*.dll and *edit.dll files on a system, Riched32.dll is about 4k, while others are >400K. This may be why apiresolve does not work.

farrier


yeh, your right, riched32.dll is only 3.5kb on my system, must be just a bunch of jump tables to riched20.dll (which is 423kb on my system).
Post 17 Sep 2007, 15:30
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
vid
Verbosity in development


Joined: 05 Sep 2003
Posts: 7105
Location: Slovakia
vid
madmatt: not jump tables, but export forwarding, that's why your utility most probably failed.
Post 17 Sep 2007, 17:36
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
madmatt



Joined: 07 Oct 2003
Posts: 1045
Location: Michigan, USA
madmatt
vid wrote:
not jump tables, but export forwarding, that's why your utility most probably failed.

Hmmm, so the riched32.dll just loads the riched20.dll?
Post 18 Sep 2007, 08:42
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
vid
Verbosity in development


Joined: 05 Sep 2003
Posts: 7105
Location: Slovakia
vid
kinda... why don't you try this

Also see this
Post 18 Sep 2007, 11:22
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 7725
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar
vid wrote:
is that possible to not have riched32.dll ?

I recall I had this problem in Win95 when during the installation I did not select to install the WordPad.
Post 19 Sep 2007, 11:34
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
madmatt



Joined: 07 Oct 2003
Posts: 1045
Location: Michigan, USA
madmatt
vid wrote:
kinda... why don't you try this

Also see this


The second link answered my question, thanks.
Post 22 Sep 2007, 06:12
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.