flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Heap > My AMD suprized me today...

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
DustWolf



Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 373
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
DustWolf
Image

Take a close look at that measured MHz reading.

Yes the image is quite genuine and no, no liquid-nitrogen-based overclocking scheemes.

Well.. so much about benchmark reliability.
Post 07 Jul 2007, 19:54
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
DOS386



Joined: 08 Dec 2006
Posts: 1901
DOS386
Quote:
Take a close look at that measured MHz reading.


COOL Shocked

Quote:
Yes the image is quite genuine and


... just not as small as it could be Shocked

Quote:
liquid-nitrogen-based overclocking scheemes.


Nevertheless, some hell-brewed CPU's advertized here recently are even 10x faster Shocked

9'085 bytes shot deleted Laughing

_________________
Bug Nr.: 12345

Title: Hello World program compiles to 100 KB !!!

Status: Closed: NOT a Bug


Last edited by DOS386 on 08 Jul 2007, 23:01; edited 2 times in total
Post 07 Jul 2007, 21:18
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
DustWolf



Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 373
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
DustWolf
NTOSKRNL_VXE wrote:
Quote:
Yes the image is quite genuine and


... just not as small as it could be Shocked


The image is 14kb... I can't immagine how to go under that with a 32-bit color depth. The problem is more in the point that the webserver providing it is a 50 MHz computer with 640k RAM.
Post 07 Jul 2007, 21:31
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
vid
Verbosity in development


Joined: 05 Sep 2003
Posts: 7105
Location: Slovakia
vid
well... and what does the link say about it?
Post 08 Jul 2007, 00:50
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
kohlrak



Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Posts: 1421
Location: Uncle Sam's Pad
kohlrak
This is interesting.. Really interesting. The clock rating windows gave it, but your AMD is just fine at that high rate but windows has it clocked so low? I think it's time to tell windows it's real clock speed. Wink
Post 08 Jul 2007, 08:09
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
DustWolf



Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 373
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
DustWolf
kohlrak wrote:
This is interesting.. Really interesting. The clock rating windows gave it, but your AMD is just fine at that high rate but windows has it clocked so low? I think it's time to tell windows it's real clock speed. Wink


... Laughing
Post 08 Jul 2007, 10:50
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
Furby



Joined: 01 May 2007
Posts: 74
Location: Kraków, Poland
Furby
I think windows has launched his TurboLag service that is consuming 90% of your CPU, so all looks fine Wink
Post 08 Jul 2007, 11:15
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
DustWolf



Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 373
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
DustWolf
Furby wrote:
I think windows has launched his TurboLag service that is consuming 90% of your CPU, so all looks fine Wink


Actually I'm not using Vista. Laughing
Post 08 Jul 2007, 11:26
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
MHajduk



Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 6034
Location: Poland
MHajduk
NTOSKRNL_VXE wrote:
... just not as small as it could be Shocked
  • NTOSKRNL_VXE's 'overclok.png' 8.87 KB (9 085 Bytes)
  • 'smaller_overclock.png' 8.76 KB (8 969 Bytes)
My version of this screenshot is 116 bytes smaller than yours. Wink


Description: smaller_overclock.png
Filesize: 8.76 KB
Viewed: 5586 Time(s)

smaller_overclock.png


Post 08 Jul 2007, 14:19
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
DOS386



Joined: 08 Dec 2006
Posts: 1901
DOS386
8'823


Description:
Filesize: 8.62 KB
Viewed: 5565 Time(s)

OVERCLOL.PNG



_________________
Bug Nr.: 12345

Title: Hello World program compiles to 100 KB !!!

Status: Closed: NOT a Bug
Post 08 Jul 2007, 22:58
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
MHajduk



Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 6034
Location: Poland
MHajduk
8 372 Bytes Very Happy


Description: over_shock.png
Filesize: 8.18 KB
Viewed: 5547 Time(s)

over_shock.png


Post 09 Jul 2007, 09:36
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
kohlrak



Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Posts: 1421
Location: Uncle Sam's Pad
kohlrak
Dang, what program are you guys using? MSPAINT sizes that png over 70kb. The JPEG mspaint outputs is smaller...
Post 09 Jul 2007, 12:59
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
DustWolf



Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 373
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
DustWolf
kohlrak wrote:
Dang, what program are you guys using? MSPAINT sizes that png over 70kb. The JPEG mspaint outputs is smaller...


JPEG is lossy and thus doesn't count.

Not to mention screenshots look terrible in JPEG.
Post 09 Jul 2007, 13:23
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
f0dder



Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 3170
Location: Denmark
f0dder
Dualcore AMD, and timing weirdnes caused by use of RDTSC and each core having it's own TSC?
Post 09 Jul 2007, 13:56
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
mattst88



Joined: 12 May 2006
Posts: 260
Location: South Carolina
mattst88
kohlrak wrote:
This is interesting.. Really interesting. The clock rating windows gave it, but your AMD is just fine at that high rate but windows has it clocked so low? I think it's time to tell windows it's real clock speed. Wink


Wow. You really missed the point.

_________________
My x86 Instruction Reference -- includes SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSSE3, SSE4 instructions.
Assembly Programmer's Journal
Post 09 Jul 2007, 17:35
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
DustWolf



Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 373
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
DustWolf
f0dder wrote:
Dualcore AMD, and timing weirdnes caused by use of RDTSC and each core having it's own TSC?


Exactly.

It looked pretty cool tho. Laughing
Post 09 Jul 2007, 17:39
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
DOS386



Joined: 08 Dec 2006
Posts: 1901
DOS386
Quote:
8 372 Bytes
Description: over_shock.png


Seems that you won Laughing

Nevertheless: The reason why I opened this challenge was NOT to win it Shocked

It was to promote the PNG file format and memory-anti-hogging OS'es like DexOS and DOS - and show the absurdity of highest-end "OS" 'es like Vi$ta with its 10 GiB installation and M$-PAINT saving this shot to over 70 KiB of "PNG" Shocked


Description: No longer lossless
Filesize: 2.17 KB
Viewed: 5489 Time(s)

OVERLOSS.PNG



_________________
Bug Nr.: 12345

Title: Hello World program compiles to 100 KB !!!

Status: Closed: NOT a Bug


Last edited by DOS386 on 14 Jan 2010, 02:15; edited 1 time in total
Post 09 Jul 2007, 22:22
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
f0dder



Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 3170
Location: Denmark
f0dder
NTOSKRNL_VXE: that image doesn't retain the same color depth though...

paint is pretty limited, so if you want to save a 32bpp screenshot to a 256-color PNG, you'll have to do it in a bit roundabout way... first save to 256-color BMP/DIB format, this reduces color depth, then save to PNG.

I assume your image is 16-color?
Post 09 Jul 2007, 23:35
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
DOS386



Joined: 08 Dec 2006
Posts: 1901
DOS386
Quote:
that image doesn't retain the same color depth


Failed to read ? I explicitly mentioned this fact Laughing

Quote:
assume your image is 16-color


Failed to count ? There are 4 Shocked

_________________
Bug Nr.: 12345

Title: Hello World program compiles to 100 KB !!!

Status: Closed: NOT a Bug
Post 10 Jul 2007, 00:55
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
MHajduk



Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 6034
Location: Poland
MHajduk
NTOSKRNL_VXE
kohlrak

I compressed my version of this screenshot with very good program IrfanView with PNGOUT plugin. Of course, to reach such result you have to experiment a little with proper parameters... Very Happy
Post 10 Jul 2007, 08:44
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.