flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Main > newbie question operand size

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Ren



Joined: 09 Jun 2007
Posts: 11
Ren
Hello,

When I put:

mov [esi],1 I got:
error: operand size not specified

What does it mean

Greetings,
Ren
Post 30 Jun 2007, 07:40
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
DOS386



Joined: 08 Dec 2006
Posts: 1901
DOS386
> error: operand size not specified

Must be BYTE , WORD or DWORD

1 or 2 or 4 bytes to be written. Wink

_________________
Bug Nr.: 12345

Title: Hello World program compiles to 100 KB !!!

Status: Closed: NOT a Bug
Post 30 Jun 2007, 07:45
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
m



Joined: 28 Dec 2006
Posts: 304
Location: in
m
do this:
Code:
mov dword [esi], 1
; or
mov word [esi], 1
; or
mov byte [esi], 1

    


Smile
Post 30 Jun 2007, 10:56
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Ren



Joined: 09 Jun 2007
Posts: 11
Ren
Yes, that does it
Thank You guys.

Ren
Post 30 Jun 2007, 16:18
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.