flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Main > salc

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Kicer



Joined: 30 Apr 2005
Posts: 34
Location: Poland
Kicer 22 Jun 2007, 10:47
Hi
i have a quesiton about salc instruction.
i saw it in fasm's docs but i couldn't find it in intel's documentations.
am i blind ?
Post 22 Jun 2007, 10:47
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
f0dder



Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 3175
Location: Denmark
f0dder 22 Jun 2007, 11:36
Post 22 Jun 2007, 11:36
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
MazeGen



Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 977
Location: Czechoslovakia
MazeGen 22 Jun 2007, 11:41
BTW, Intel claims it is undefined and reserved, not that it is kind of NOP.
Post 22 Jun 2007, 11:41
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4624
Location: Argentina
LocoDelAssembly 22 Jun 2007, 13:10
There is no mention of what it does in the AMD64 Volume 3, but if you search it you will it in the table A-1 marked with number 3 which means "3. Invalid in 64-bit mode.".

I though it was documented and actually I used it in a code recently posted by me. Well, I take resposability only up to the currently made processors to the date Razz
Post 22 Jun 2007, 13:10
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
f0dder



Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 3175
Location: Denmark
f0dder 22 Jun 2007, 13:26
You can use the documented SETcc instruction instead - for instance, SETC AL, which is roughly equivalent to SALC (1 instead of 0xFF though).
Post 22 Jun 2007, 13:26
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4624
Location: Argentina
LocoDelAssembly 22 Jun 2007, 13:34
If you really need an equivalent then use sbb al, al instead (if changing the flags isn't a problem).
Post 22 Jun 2007, 13:34
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
kohlrak



Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Posts: 1421
Location: Uncle Sam's Pad
kohlrak 23 Jun 2007, 02:53
I personally don't see it overly useful (unless you want to stuff FF in AL upon a certain tested condition), but i don't see why companies would put instructions in their processors if they don't plan on supporting it... Unless they're reserving the name for something else... But i don't see the point in reserving this name or it's operation.
Post 23 Jun 2007, 02:53
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
rugxulo



Joined: 09 Aug 2005
Posts: 2341
Location: Usono (aka, USA)
rugxulo 25 Jun 2007, 00:44
TetrOS uses it.
Post 25 Jun 2007, 00:44
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2024, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube.

Website powered by rwasa.