flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Main > Fasm won't compile

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Klod



Joined: 25 Nov 2003
Posts: 25
Location: Canada
Klod 25 Nov 2003, 01:46
I have installed and run Fasm. I can't compile any of the example programs. I get an Error File not foundand'
include '%include%\win32a.inc' is the culprit.

I tried to set the path include 'c:\Fasmw\Include\win32a.inc' but with the same result Question

Whatever I do it won't work. I'm not familiar with the %include% directive.
I have also tried to set environment in ini file
[Environment]
Include = c:\fasmw\include don't work either

what I am doeing wrong?
Win98 and network Question

_________________
Do not Assume, it makes an ASS out of U and ME!
Post 25 Nov 2003, 01:46
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Vortex



Joined: 17 Jun 2003
Posts: 318
Vortex 25 Nov 2003, 10:00
Hi Klod,

All what you need to do is to type the following statement at the DOS command prompt.(similarly, yo can create also a batch file containing this instruction)

Code:
set include=c:\fasmw\include
    

_________________
Code it... That's all...
Post 25 Nov 2003, 10:00
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8353
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 25 Nov 2003, 12:36
Is the "'c:\fasmw\include" a valid path for the include files (that is where you have extracted the archive)? Because all the rest (what have you added to the .ini file) seems to be OK.
Post 25 Nov 2003, 12:36
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
fasm9



Joined: 19 Jun 2003
Posts: 439
fasm9 25 Nov 2003, 13:21
Hi, admin

BTW, is there any other way to avoid this problem?

is this possible?
say, all files in one directory but no sub directory, so make fasmw.exe assume *.inc with him.

--
Code:
using System;
class helloworld{static void Main(){Console.WriteLine("hello world");}}    
Post 25 Nov 2003, 13:21
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Rotator



Joined: 09 Dec 2003
Posts: 1
Rotator 09 Dec 2003, 17:45
I have the exact same problem. I have tried everything. Nothing works.
And yes Privalov I am using VALID paths for the include files.
No matter what I do with the ini file, I still get the same problems.
Fasm won't compile.
Hey Privalov, how about fixing this stupid problem instead of adding new features all the time?
Post 09 Dec 2003, 17:45
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8353
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 09 Dec 2003, 18:18
Are you using fasm or fasmw version? For the console version you need to set standard environment variable.
Post 09 Dec 2003, 18:18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Czubin



Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 51
Location: Belgium
Czubin 09 Dec 2003, 18:30
Try this : control panel > system : advanced : enviroment variables
Add a system variable : fasminc > C:\fasmw\include
and reboot your computer , that did solves the problem for me
Post 09 Dec 2003, 18:30
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger Reply with quote
i-don



Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Posts: 66
i-don 13 Dec 2003, 21:24
Same source code but different directory
Fasmw v1.50 seem has wierd/strange behaviour while compile a source code. I've compile an example from this forum and place the file under \examples directory. when I compile it, it ok. Then I place the same source code 1 level down under \examples to a new directory named \directory\intro . When I compile it, it produce an error "illegal instruction" for the line 1 of start: entry. here is the code:

Code:
format PE GUI 4.0
entry start

include '%include%\win32a.inc'

  start:

        mov     esi,user
        mov     edi,wc
        macro   invoke proc,[arg] {common invoke esi+proc-user,arg}
        virtual at edi
        ediwc   WNDCLASS
        end     virtual

        invoke  GetModuleHandle,ebx
        mov     [ediwc.hInstance],eax
        invoke  LoadIcon,0,IDI_WINLOGO
        mov     [ediwc.hIcon],eax
        invoke  LoadCursor,0,IDC_ARROW
        mov     [ediwc.hCursor],eax
        xor     eax,eax
        mov     [ediwc.style],eax
        mov     [ediwc.lpfnWndProc],WindowProc
        mov     [ediwc.cbClsExtra],eax
        mov     [ediwc.cbWndExtra],eax
        mov     [ediwc.lpszMenuName],eax
        mov     [ediwc.hbrBackground],COLOR_BTNFACE+1
        mov     ebx,_title
        mov     [ediwc.lpszClassName],ebx
        invoke  RegisterClass,edi
        invoke  CreateWindowEx,0,ebx,ebx,WS_VISIBLE+WS_DLGFRAME+WS_SYSMENU,64,64,127,127,NULL,NULL,[ediwc.hInstance],NULL

        mov     ebx,msg
  msg_loop:
        invoke  GetMessage,ebx,NULL,0,0
        or      eax,eax
        jz      end_loop
        invoke  TranslateMessage,ebx
        invoke  DispatchMessage,ebx
        jmp     msg_loop

  end_loop:
        invoke  ExitProcess,0

proc WindowProc, hwnd,wmsg,wparam,lparam
        enter
        push    esi
        mov     esi,user
        cmp     [wmsg],WM_DESTROY
        je      wmdestroy
        invoke  DefWindowProc,[hwnd],[wmsg],[wparam],[lparam]
        jmp     finish
  wmdestroy:
        invoke  PostQuitMessage,0
        xor     eax,eax
  finish:
        pop     esi
        return

data import

  library kernel,'KERNEL32.DLL',\
          user,'USER32.DLL'

  import kernel,\
         GetModuleHandle,'GetModuleHandleA',\
         ExitProcess,'ExitProcess'

  import user,\
         RegisterClass,'RegisterClassA',\
         LoadIcon,'LoadIconA',\
         LoadCursor,'LoadCursorA',\
         CreateWindowEx,'CreateWindowExA',\
         DefWindowProc,'DefWindowProcA',\
         GetMessage,'GetMessageA',\
         TranslateMessage,'TranslateMessage',\
         DispatchMessage,'DispatchMessageA',\
         PostQuitMessage,'PostQuitMessage'

end data

  _title db '1024',0

  msg MSG
  wc WNDCLASS
    


Fasmw Environment
If it's about the %include% environment, I've put an addition statement in fasmw.ini file to make it compatibility with previous version source code files (as example below):

Code:
[Environment]
Include=c:\Fasmw\include
Fasminc=c:\Fasmw\include
    


Long file name
Seem fasmw goes 16 bit on file management. when I compile a file with a name such as longfilename.asm, it will produce longfil~1.exe. On previous version (1.49) this does not happening to me.

Resource handling unstable
I've the same menu resource on other files and it's compile ok but in a few other files, it wouldn't compile and produce the same "Illegal instruction" like the above problem. see code below:

Code:
section '.rsrc' resource data readable

  directory RT_MENU, menus

  resource menus,\
  IDM_MAIN,LANG_ENGLISH+SUBLANG_DEFAULT,main_menu


menu main_menu
       menuitem '&PopUp',0,MFR_POPUP
           menuitem '&Say Hello',IDM_HELLO,0
           menuitem 'Say &Goodbye',IDM_GOODBYE,0
           menuseparator
           menuitem 'E&xit',IDM_EXIT, MFR_END
       menuitem '&Help', IDM_TEST,MFR_POPUP + MFR_END
           menuitem '&Test...',IDM_TEST,MFR_END

    


hope you'll look into these problem. the compiler errors were too much noticing on un-neccessary so-called "Illegal". Hope this report will help you to rectify the bugs.

greetings.
[/code]
Post 13 Dec 2003, 21:24
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8353
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 13 Dec 2003, 23:11
I was not able to reproduce any of such behaviours. What system are you using?
Post 13 Dec 2003, 23:11
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
i-don



Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Posts: 66
i-don 14 Dec 2003, 17:11
I'm using win95ocr2.

Now I'm understand why it wont compile. I was save the copy of the file using a text editor that convert all TAB characters to equivalent to TAB lenght with WHITESPACE characters.

For subject "same code but different directory" and "Resource Handling unstable" was the same problem, I think. See attached screenshots.

When I change to TAB, the error goes to the next line. To get simulate the problem, put whitespace to replace TAB in first instruction in (start:) section:

Code:
    mov   esi,user
; ^-----^--- use white space instead,
;            you will get the error.
    


Imagine, if I have to replace back all the WHITESPACE with TAB characters on long source code? It's quite a works!

greetings.


Description: Resource error screenshot.
Filesize: 8.49 KB
Viewed: 25133 Time(s)

resource_error.gif


Description: WHITE SPACE error screenshot.
Filesize: 9.44 KB
Viewed: 25134 Time(s)

whitespace_err.gif


Post 14 Dec 2003, 17:11
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8353
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 14 Dec 2003, 17:46
What character do you mean by WHITESPACE? Fasmw will put spaces instead of tabs when you turn off "Optimal fill on saving options" and it will convert spaces into tabs where possible when you turn it on, but it both cases fasm compiles source without any problems.
Perhaps you should post your source files here, so I could take a look at them. It seems that your editor had put there the characters that are non-standard spaces.
Post 14 Dec 2003, 17:46
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
i-don



Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Posts: 66
i-don 14 Dec 2003, 19:08
WHITESPACE is the normal space character (spacebar). Turning ON or OFF on "Optimal fill on saving" does not given any effect after compiling the saved file.

BTW, take a look at the attached source code files for both problem.


Description: this source code cause illegal instruction for the first line of code in start: section
Download
Filename: demo.asm
Filesize: 2.26 KB
Downloaded: 2420 Time(s)

Description: this source code cause menu resources error.
Download
Filename: asmeditctrl.ASM
Filesize: 5.2 KB
Downloaded: 2363 Time(s)

Post 14 Dec 2003, 19:08
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8353
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 14 Dec 2003, 19:44
In the first source there are characters of code 0xA0 among the spaces - you can check it in any hex editor. They look like a space, but are definitely not spaces - what program did this?

You can fix your source by copying one such character into clipboard and then using "Replace" function of fasmw to replace all occurences of that character with regular space.

And in the second one you just forgot to put the MFR_END in the last item, it should be:
Code:
menu main_menu
     menuitem '&PopUp',0,MFR_POPUP + MFR_END
          menuitem '&Say Hello',IDM_HELLO,0
          menuitem '&Clear',IDM_CLEAR,0
          menuitem '&Get Text',IDM_GETTEXT,MFR_END    
Post 14 Dec 2003, 19:44
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
i-don



Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Posts: 66
i-don 14 Dec 2003, 22:41
I guess it's not a bugs entirely except incompatibility with the differences of WHITESPACE(ANSI hex:A0) I guess. It was fixed using replace tool. Thanks for the solutions. Smile

I'm using Arisesoft Winsyntax Editor. Quite useful for me while browsing the Internet, because it has intergrated handy files manager with top[folder]-bottom[files] style oppose to window explorer which is using right[folder]-left[files] style. This feature are very good for limited screen view size also included the favourites folder for quick jump (see pic).

I would updates source code from forums if there any changes with easy. I've no problem on other compiler like basic and c compiler on files that save using this editor. they compile without complaint about those characters (0xA0 or &hA0 or $A0 or A0h).

And for the menu, I admitted this is human mistakes. Embarassed since I'm just learning ASM using FASM(great tool for learning asm), I have no idea where the mistake has actually occured and the error line just too short to figure out where exactly the problem. still, I was fooled by the error messages. so I kept scratching my head why the error hilighting on "menu main_menu" line every time change has been made.

could we have extended error messages in the error dialog box to show the group lines of section where the errors were possibly happened? With added scrollbars if neccessary? This would be wonderful to any typo/mistakes would be fixed easily for newbie like me. for example, it would hilight a group of lines where from begin to end of possible mistakes that caused the error instead of a single line. Just a suggestion. Rolling Eyes

greetings.


Description: Arisesoft Winsyntax 2.0
Filesize: 45.01 KB
Viewed: 25103 Time(s)

wsyn.gif


Post 14 Dec 2003, 22:41
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8353
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 14 Dec 2003, 23:29
Well, fasm can be easily fixed to interpret 0xA0 as space character, though I have never heard that this is some kind of standard. The only file you have to change is the PREPROCE.INC. At the line 1441 you should find the following data:
Code:
symbol_characters db 27
 db 9,0Ah,0Dh,1Ah,20h,'+-/*:=|&~()[]<>{},;\#`'    

Change it to:
Code:
symbol_characters db 28
 db 9,0Ah,0Dh,1Ah,20h,0A0h,'+-/*:=|&~()[]<>{},;\#`'    

Now there are some places where preprocessor recognizes spaces, and you have to add the check for 0A0h character there. First is after the "convert_line_data" label (about the 86 line). There is such piece of code:
Code:
      convert_line_data:
        cmp     edi,[memory_end]
        jae     out_of_memory
        lods    byte [esi]
        cmp     al,20h
        je      convert_line_data
        cmp     al,9
        je      convert_line_data    

After adding a check for 0A0h character it should look like:
Code:
      convert_line_data:
        cmp     edi,[memory_end]
        jae     out_of_memory
        lods    byte [esi]
        cmp     al,20h
        je      convert_line_data
        cmp     al,0A0h
        je      convert_line_data
        cmp     al,9
        je      convert_line_data    

The next change should be after the "symbol_character" label, about the 137 line:
Code:
      symbol_character:
        cmp     al,3Bh
        je      ignore_comment
        cmp     al,5Ch
        je      concatenation_character    

Add the following two lines just after the above code:
Code:
        cmp     al,0A0h
        je      convert_line_data    

And the last check is at the "concatenate_lines" label:
Code:
      concatenate_lines:
        lods    byte [esi]
        cmp     al,20h
        je      concatenate_lines
        cmp     al,9
        je      concatenate_lines    

add to it the following two lines:
Code:
        cmp     al,0A0h
        je      concatenate_lines    

I suggest to do all the above changes with FASMW, this way you'll be sure you won't get any 0A0h characters in code at this stage. Now recompile the fasm, and it should accept any 0A0h-spaces in your sources.

As for the "menu" macro - yes, it can be made better, with ability to display appropriate message with "display" directive when some mistake like yours occurs, when I have some time, I'll have to rewrite all the resource macros, as they were written very quickly in a very simple form just to show that such things as resources can be generated with macros. But now fasm also has the ability to link the .res files generated by resource compiles (it's a new feature of fasm 1.50) - maybe you'll find that way of making resources more handy?
Post 14 Dec 2003, 23:29
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
i-don



Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Posts: 66
i-don 15 Dec 2003, 12:23
Working like a charm! thanks Privalov! I'll keep the above notes for future version of fasmw if it's not include this character control. at least, it serve my purpose well. hope my learning process speeding up so I can contribute to the fasm community too. Smile

cheers.
Post 15 Dec 2003, 12:23
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2024, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube.

Website powered by rwasa.