flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Heap > Windows Update

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
DustWolf

DustWolf
Doing what I do for a living I use it a lot, also on older computers and am kind of tired of looking at that progress bar swoop along slowly for hours on end, while Windows Update checks for updates.

The processor usage is up to 100% for quite some time even on our fastest machines. Harddisk and network usage is low. I am really curious what could it possibly be calculating all this time?

Anyone ever found out? It's seriously bugging me as it represents a HUGE amount of computation and it doesn't make any sense whatsoever. Is it some terribly inefficient hashing algorithm? Poorly implemented communication between modules? CPU-crunching based delay loop? I'm going to dissasemble Everything if I do not get the answers... >.>
Post 23 Mar 2007, 20:04
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
sleepsleep

Location: ˛                             ⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣Posts: 334455
sleepsleep
i enjoy doing manual update Very Happy
using hfslip + nlite
basically, we just update the i386 with hotfix that rated "critical" or "security update", format, reinstall... Smile or just ghost if you got lots of machine with same hardware.

http://users.telenet.be/tc76/winup/_winxpsp2.html
http://hfslip.org/

[edit]
you are welcome LocoDelAssembly,
btw, here is the link to each OS, 2k, 2k3, xp
http://hfslip.org/hflists.html

Last edited by sleepsleep on 23 Mar 2007, 22:02; edited 1 time in total
Post 23 Mar 2007, 20:14
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug

LocoDelAssembly