flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Heap > CPUKiller ?

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
TmX



Joined: 02 Mar 2006
Posts: 821
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
TmX
Sometimes I use this when playing my old games.
Just wondering, what's the algorithm/technique of slowing CPU down ?

http://www.cpukiller.com
Post 24 Feb 2007, 13:05
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
pabloreda



Joined: 24 Jan 2007
Posts: 100
Location: Argentina
pabloreda
waste time in a interrupt
Post 24 Feb 2007, 13:34
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Dex4u



Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 1601
Location: web
Dex4u
I would say its a TSR hook to the clock ticks, that as pabloreda said "waste time", by a number set in a var, this makes it posable to slow it down by a varable amount.
Post 24 Feb 2007, 15:23
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
DOS386



Joined: 08 Dec 2006
Posts: 1901
DOS386
Quote:
waste time in a interrupt


30$ for the luxe of wasting time Laughing

Quote:
would say its a TSR hook


Seems NOT a DOS program ... but there are no official
system requirements Laughing

_________________
Bug Nr.: 12345

Title: Hello World program compiles to 100 KB !!!

Status: Closed: NOT a Bug
Post 24 Feb 2007, 22:53
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
pabloreda



Joined: 24 Jan 2007
Posts: 100
Location: Argentina
pabloreda
well... some soft are more expensive and waste the time of users Smile
Post 25 Feb 2007, 00:07
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
yumka



Joined: 09 Feb 2007
Posts: 38
Location: Tenochtitlan
yumka
pabloreda wrote:
well... some soft are more expensive and waste the time of users Smile


On-demand Antivirus are great for that Very Happy

_________________
rofl eax,eax
Post 25 Feb 2007, 01:24
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Plue



Joined: 15 Dec 2005
Posts: 151
Plue
That CPUkiller program looks like it only uses your CPU. You should try Battle Encoder Shirase, it actually limits the CPU used by a process without using anything itself. (So it keeps the processor cool.)
Post 25 Feb 2007, 20:11
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.