flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > MenuetOS > COMPRESSION SCHEME

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Ripside2



Joined: 30 Nov 2003
Posts: 11
Ripside2
any one got one? cuz it needs one lol. Uhhh...yeah I am running out of space for applications I write I am going to have to delete source from original floppy.
Post 06 Dec 2003, 09:50
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Den



Joined: 27 Nov 2003
Posts: 16
Location: Canada
Den
If you've got a Windows system running you can backup files (off the floppy) by reading it from your Windows system (copy and paste) and writing to the hard drive. Pretty simple actually. That's why Menuet supports FAT32 filesystem.

Den
Post 07 Dec 2003, 00:18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
Ripside2



Joined: 30 Nov 2003
Posts: 11
Ripside2
if u mean take off the source and put on harddrive ok. But if u mean load from hard well, only if u have fat32 as a filesystem. I have xp and use ntfs so that makes it a little harder. so...my question still stands.
Post 07 Dec 2003, 00:25
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Den



Joined: 27 Nov 2003
Posts: 16
Location: Canada
Den
Hi Riptide2,

XP will read FAT32. So booting from XP you can just place the floppy in the drive and remove whatever files (.ZIP, .MHC, .MT, etc) files you choose that you do not want on your floppy. You can customize the desktop, place a wallpaper, etc. Check out some of the posts regarding the webbrowser ... it appears that Mike Hibbett is using some icons that are recognizable from WinXP machines. So there is lots you can do because of the FAT32 supported filesystem.

Have fun,

Den
Post 07 Dec 2003, 00:32
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
Ripside2



Joined: 30 Nov 2003
Posts: 11
Ripside2
o I misunderstood u, well as I said above I have removed like everything not required for basic running but my program is taking up butt loads of room, due to its bmp images used.
Post 07 Dec 2003, 04:41
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.