flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Heap > ghost

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
sleepsleep



Joined: 05 Oct 2006
Posts: 8885
Location: ˛                             ⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣Posts: 334455
sleepsleep
do you ghost? (i mean ghosting) Laughing
and what tools do you use to ghost?
Post 22 Feb 2007, 21:11
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
HyperVista



Joined: 18 Apr 2005
Posts: 691
Location: Virginia, USA
HyperVista
I use Norton Ghost and Acronis TrueImage
Post 22 Feb 2007, 22:00
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
DOS386



Joined: 08 Dec 2006
Posts: 1901
DOS386
Quote:
do you ghost? (i mean ghosting)


NO. Ghostbusting maybe Laughing
Post 23 Feb 2007, 02:23
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
sleepsleep



Joined: 05 Oct 2006
Posts: 8885
Location: ˛                             ⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣Posts: 334455
sleepsleep
yo yo NTOSKRNL_VXE Razz
trying to ghost with netbsd g4u Razz hopefully i would learn something new... Wink
Post 26 Feb 2007, 07:48
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
m



Joined: 28 Dec 2006
Posts: 304
Location: in
m
My stupid question on a question...

What is ghosting ?
Post 26 Feb 2007, 07:57
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
sleepsleep



Joined: 05 Oct 2006
Posts: 8885
Location: ˛                             ⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣Posts: 334455
sleepsleep
if i am not wrong,
ghosting is an "action" to clone a maybe "fully configured / installed OS" into another pc.

now i got a more crazy idea.
assume we got 2 pc.
pc A & pc B
assume pc A is fully install with xp (~ :p ) and ms office.
pc B = empty, null partition pc

so, we use an os (bsd / linux) to live boot on pc A, then zip all the contents on C drive to let say FTP.

then we go pc B, fdisk and then format c:/s
after then, boot pc B with live CD os then extract the FTP c drive content into pc B...

do u think pc B would boot gracefully?

btw, i did the following already.
i use vmware for learning.

install win2k on vmware (vm1) set hard disk only 800 mb
after that boot vm1 using g4u then ftp the partition c:

then i create another vmware (vm2), set hard disk to 1.3 Gb
boot using DOS and fdisk then format c:/s
after that reset and boot using g4u then slurppart into the c:

now, the great news is,
IT WORKS!! Smile
the newly ghosted win2k gracefully occupied the whole defined c: size.
Post 26 Feb 2007, 09:24
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
f0dder



Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 3170
Location: Denmark
f0dder
TrueImage here, works very well. Used GHOST back in the old days, but TI suits me better.
Post 26 Feb 2007, 09:30
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
m



Joined: 28 Dec 2006
Posts: 304
Location: in
m
Hey sleepsleep !

It was some useful piece of information.

Can you tell me what is it good for ?
Does it work if two computers are configured differently ?
(say: they have different hardware etc.).
Post 26 Feb 2007, 09:37
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
sleepsleep



Joined: 05 Oct 2006
Posts: 8885
Location: ˛                             ⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣Posts: 334455
sleepsleep
the auto resize doesnt' seem work if i use hard disk 3GB... don't know why..
anyway, the fix it, just dl this tool BootIt
http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/bootitng.html

the resize again the C partition Smile
Post 26 Feb 2007, 09:40
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
sleepsleep



Joined: 05 Oct 2006
Posts: 8885
Location: ˛                             ⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣Posts: 334455
sleepsleep
Quote:

Can you tell me what is it good for ?

it is free, easy way to "refresh" the pc
save time/money/trouble/mind power .... Wink
anyway, if have have experience install windows xp + software on your own on more than 16 pcs which urgently need by tomorrow, u would understand why we need to ghost.

Quote:

Does it work if two computers are configured differently ?
(say: they have different hardware etc.).

i havent try this, but no worry, i would try it coz i wanna know the answer too Smile
imo, the "windows" should able to works and detect the different hardwares then prompt us to install the driver.
Post 26 Feb 2007, 17:20
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
f0dder



Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 3170
Location: Denmark
f0dder
You need relatively similar hardware configurations, otherwise you risk BSODs, "inaccessible boot device" and whatnot.
Post 27 Feb 2007, 00:12
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
pierre



Joined: 07 Nov 2004
Posts: 10
pierre
Try :
http://drivesnapshot.de/en/index.htm

It's very nice and small.
Works from within Windows, even has a differential backup mode.
Post 27 Feb 2007, 11:13
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
sleepsleep



Joined: 05 Oct 2006
Posts: 8885
Location: ˛                             ⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣Posts: 334455
sleepsleep
btw if anybody ever encountered NTLDR missing after slurppart,
then use the windows setup cd and boot into recovery console then type fixboot c:
Smile

btw, the BootIt floppy GUI is cool, it got an interface like windows 95 Smile

anyway, regarding the bsod or etc. i think, if we build the image in vmware (without install the vm tools) or etc drivers, there is a higher chance that we could skip this bsod, imo.
Post 27 Feb 2007, 12:43
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
sleepsleep



Joined: 05 Oct 2006
Posts: 8885
Location: ˛                             ⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣Posts: 334455
sleepsleep
well, luck was not on my side when i tried it on real pc Sad
the problem came when the windows loading those drivers => those animated line during safe mode.. and the pc restarts itself Sad

the glad part is, u need to use the install cd and choose repair during setup. after windows gone through it, u would find you could boot into windows and all the previous softwares installed on image are there.
Post 27 Feb 2007, 16:51
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
sleepsleep



Joined: 05 Oct 2006
Posts: 8885
Location: ˛                             ⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣Posts: 334455
sleepsleep
i still wonder why it couldn't works Sad
after all, the OS itself (maybe there is a flag or option somewhere for us) to ask it to redetect all the hardwares and clear all previously detected h/w on his list. (something like the matrix during unix or linux booting).

and i always wondering, what are the minimum files that we need on c drive in order to boot into windows xp environment (without the explorer or etc utilities), just an environment that could executes win32 application.
Post 27 Feb 2007, 18:24
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
f0dder



Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 3170
Location: Denmark
f0dder
Why it couldn't work? Complex answer, but it has to do with installed drivers, boot.ini, how the registry is set up, and a couple other things as well. I don't even know the full answer. I guess the idea is that redetecting all hardware on boot would be slow and unnecessarily complex for quite the majority of users, so having to do a reinstall if major changes happened is okay.

The minimum files etc? Read "inside windows" to get a rough idea. But you can strip a lot if you don't mind running only native applications without full win32 support.
Post 28 Feb 2007, 01:58
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
vid
Verbosity in development


Joined: 05 Sep 2003
Posts: 7105
Location: Slovakia
vid
Quote:
But you can strip a lot if you don't mind running only native applications without full win32 support.

what native application besides disk checker is there?
Post 28 Feb 2007, 02:22
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
f0dder



Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 3170
Location: Denmark
f0dder
Various (commercial) disk defragmenters... and I don't thing anything stops you from making your own. SysInternals might have some as well.
Post 28 Feb 2007, 02:24
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
rugxulo



Joined: 09 Aug 2005
Posts: 2341
Location: Usono (aka, USA)
rugxulo
sleepsleep wrote:
and i always wondering, what are the minimum files that we need on c drive in order to boot into windows xp environment (without the explorer or etc utilities), just an environment that could executes win32 application.


(Warning: this ain't exactly the answer you were looking for, but ...)

FreeDOS + HXRT. Smile
Post 01 Mar 2007, 01:42
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
okasvi



Joined: 18 Aug 2005
Posts: 382
Location: Finland
okasvi
f0dder wrote:
and I don't thing anything stops you from making your own.


yep, you're right, there's even example here on this board Smile

_________________
When We Ride On Our Enemies
support reverse smileys |:
Post 01 Mar 2007, 02:00
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.