flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Feedback > Hello World!

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
yumka

yumka
Hello everybody.

I'm a pre-newbie in assembler. Actually I'm not a programmer at all. The last program i did was a sort made in pascal in an Apple IIe (1984) Laughing

But I'm attracted by fasm toy, really a peace of art. Very cleaver way of making software.

Just for comparison, my program takes ~ 15 min to compile in a single floppy (swapping was to floppy Shocked) and other 15 min to linking it. I spent all night long to debug less than 100 lines of code.

Now you can assemble fasm itself in a few seconds.

Everything inside the box, not need of linker and anything else, very cool!

So I'll try to learn it just for fun, with your help it would be easy. Very Happy

Very good job Tomasz!

Congratulations!
Post 17 Feb 2007, 20:14
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
MCD

MCD
sure fasm is a very nice program, but I REALLY DON'T recommend learning the awful overbloated intel80x86 syntax for beginners except when you REALLY have a LOT of time, like several years to basically only learn this language.
Post 17 Feb 2007, 23:32
DOS386

DOS386
Quote:
REALLY DON'T recommend learning the awful overbloated intel80x86 syntax for beginners

Need to develop for 80x86 ? Then you need the "overbloated" syntax and FASM Confused

Better CPU ? OK, no need for FASM ...

Title: Hello World program compiles to 100 KB !!!

Post 18 Feb 2007, 01:39
vid
Verbosity in development

vid
few years? not thing to be afraid of, or even to take into account. EVERYTHING in programming requires few years to be good at.
Post 18 Feb 2007, 01:52
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
rugxulo

rugxulo
vid wrote: