flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Windows > transparent (or bmp background) edit box

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
dw0rek



Joined: 05 Feb 2007
Posts: 7
dw0rek
Heya.

I tried to search around a little but have not found any way to do this yet. Do anyone of you guys know how to make an 'EDIT' box or a 'RichEdit' to be either transparent or uses a bmp as background?

I know that many of the api functions for transparent seems to be only available for windows 2k and up. Im running on windows vista so hope that wont be a problem.

this is from MSDN and is used to change the background color of a 'RichEdit' box, but it cant be used to make its background transparent i think.
Code:
lResult = SendMessage(      // returns LRESULT in lResult
   (HWND) hWndControl,      // handle to destination control
   (UINT) EM_SETBKGNDCOLOR,         // message ID
   (WPARAM) wParam,         // = (WPARAM) () wParam;
   (LPARAM) lParam          // = (LPARAM) () lParam;
);    


Anyways, if you know how to make it id love to see a solution.

Cheers /dw0rek

_________________
Image
Post 08 Feb 2007, 10:19
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger Reply with quote
MichaelH



Joined: 03 May 2005
Posts: 402
MichaelH
Hope these links are what you're looking for.

layered/transparent window example by coconut

http://board.flatassembler.net/topic.php?t=1521


Simple way to make your window transparent by that tired fellow that likes to sleep sleep ( excuse my stutter Smile ).

http://board.flatassembler.net/topic.php?t=5066
Post 08 Feb 2007, 12:32
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
dw0rek



Joined: 05 Feb 2007
Posts: 7
dw0rek
Thx for the link to an awesome tutorial ill read it and learn it for sure, but:

Ultrascall wrote:
Please note that you cannot use this style for child windows. That means that you cannot make a single button/edit/static/etc.


So it cannot make a single edit box transparent.
What i want to do is to use a 'STATIC' dialogitem for background, and then somehow get the background of the 'EDIT' dialogitem to use the same background as the 'STATIC' dialogitem which is behind it. Either by using the same bmp image for the edit box's background or by making the color white on the edit box transparent somehow.

Would you know how to do this?

Thx

Cheers /dw0rek

_________________
Image
Post 10 Feb 2007, 07:01
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.