flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > OS Construction > Hardware programming examples (some USB and CardBus too)

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
pfranz



Joined: 13 Jan 2007
Posts: 49
Location: Italy
pfranz
I haven't tested it with an emulator. Really, I don't see the point of doing such a thing, unless you want to test the emulator. Why do you want to run HwTest in an emulator?
Post 16 Jul 2009, 08:41
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Madis731



Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 2141
Location: Estonia
Madis731
I always use emulators to test code that I cannot debug otherwise.
The problem is that then I would need full debugging to know what's wrong and I can't simply reboot my machine for every byte that I change in the code.
Some things like IPI/SIPI/SMP and alike are nearly impossible to debug. I need to be able to change the count of CPUs or their properties. I can't have all the configs of a PC.

I'm just saying that if Windows can boot in both QEMU and on a real machine, then the proper way to make an OS or any boot-able program is to test them on both: PC and an emulator.

That is why I asked Smile
Post 16 Jul 2009, 11:48
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
pfranz



Joined: 13 Jan 2007
Posts: 49
Location: Italy
pfranz
OK, still I'm not convinced it is useful to run a USELESS program in an emulator (I think you have to adapt it even to emulator bugs and this is pointless with a program which is just an example), anyway when I have time I'll try. In the meantime, can you tell me more precisely your configuration and the problem that you have, maybe via e-mail?
Post 16 Jul 2009, 13:55
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Madis731



Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 2141
Location: Estonia
Madis731
I will first test it on some real machines before I bother to look what's wrong with the emulator.

As I see from Dex4u's post, the hwtest works, but I know that he has an older machine so this might be the problem.
Post 16 Jul 2009, 16:59
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
pfranz



Joined: 13 Jan 2007
Posts: 49
Location: Italy
pfranz
Tested on Bochs 2.4.1, runs fine except for APM which doesn't shutdown. I set up only disks (no pci, no usb), both hard disk and floppy work, but you have to set up correctly CHS for the first, and floppy image must be of correct size (take those generated by makecd).
Note that 1589 call was implemented only recently (without it hwtest doesn't start) and that microcode MSR are still not implemented (they shouldn't either, I think), that's why I don't care for APM not working and I don't test more extensively.
Post 18 Jul 2009, 10:15
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
pfranz



Joined: 13 Jan 2007
Posts: 49
Location: Italy
pfranz
updated to beta2, some small bug corrections and documentation changes. Visit
pfranz73.googlepages.com
Post 17 Aug 2009, 18:33
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3

< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.