flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > MenuetOS > Stuck at "Unmaksing all IRQs"

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
cookednoodle



Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 1
cookednoodle
I'm attempting to run MenuetOS on a Dell Latitude XP 475D with a 75 MHZ processor, 40 mb Ext memory, and 37 mb XMS memory. Everything runs smoothly until I hit escape at "All set - press ESC to start." At this point, I see "Unmasking all IRQs" and the computer just hangs there. Any help would be appreciated. I'm rather new to anything but Windows.
Post 29 Dec 2003, 20:20
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Reply with quote
Da Fox



Joined: 24 Dec 2003
Posts: 1
Da Fox
I had the same problem when I booted from my HD into DOS, allowing all my TSR's to load. If you're trying to run menuet from your HD (as I did, no floppies :p) try booting _only_ DOS (Shift F5 / F8 -> MSDOS only).
That worked for me Smile

_________________
·-■-· ·-■-·
Post 12 Jan 2004, 09:01
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Bitdog



Joined: 18 Jan 2004
Posts: 97
Bitdog
Hello, I use Win98 and it has DOS that handles large hard drives.
WinME does also.
F7/F8 (DOS in a box) isn't the same as straight DOS.

I made a batch file that
IF EXIST AUTOEXEC.DOS GOTO DOS
WIN:
;write your Win code here
GOTO END
DOS:
ATTRIB -S -H -R +A MSDOS.SYS
so I could
REN MSDOS.SYS MSDOS.WIN
REN MSDOS.DOS MSDOS.SYS
ATTRIB +S +H +R MSDOS.SYS
REN AUTOEXEC.BAT AUTOEXEC.WIN
REN CONFIG.SYS CONFIG.WIN
REN CONFIG.DOS CONFIG.SYS
REN AUTOEXEC.DOS AUTOEXEC.BAT
:END

ok once you have made a DOS system file set from your Win files
the SOS.BAT Swaps your Opperateing System boot files for you.

I hope that helps some one some how.

Bitdog

http://bitdog.home.att.net/temp/swapos.zip


Last edited by Bitdog on 22 Jan 2004, 18:06; edited 1 time in total
Post 19 Jan 2004, 13:19
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
spideros1



Joined: 17 Jan 2004
Posts: 77
Location: Poland
spideros1
Menuet kernel wouldn't be even able to boot from Windows, because it reloads CR0 and CR3 which can't be accessed in V86 mode.
There's a problem somewhere in MenuetOS code (I think in SYS32.INC). Using TSSes for switching to/from interrupts is very slow (same speed as switching to another task). I wrote some debugging code that sends data to COM1 and IRQ0 isn't even started.
Post 19 Jan 2004, 16:36
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.