flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Main > new pre-release with the resource linker

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8351
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 27 Nov 2003, 20:44
Here's the new pre-release of incoming fasm 1.50. It has finally implemented feature of linking .res files with PE formatter. It's horribly complicated piece of code, but it works, at least in my first few tests. Now I'm waiting for your feedback - please test it and let me know if there are any problems.
To link the .res file into PE just put the from 'filename' phrase after the resource word when declaring resource data with section or data directive. For example:
Code:
section '.rsrc' data readable resource from 'rsrc.res'    

or
Code:
data resource from 'rsrc.res'
end data    


Last edited by Tomasz Grysztar on 27 Nov 2003, 23:01; edited 3 times in total
Post 27 Nov 2003, 20:44
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
silkodyssey



Joined: 02 Oct 2003
Posts: 198
Location: St.Vincent & the Grenadines
silkodyssey 27 Nov 2003, 21:39
I am having a problem. It's not compiling anything. When I try compiling a file, it displays no error messages and no output is generated.

_________________
silkodyssey
Post 27 Nov 2003, 21:39
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8351
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 27 Nov 2003, 21:47
That's very strange, what OS are you using?
Post 27 Nov 2003, 21:47
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
silkodyssey



Joined: 02 Oct 2003
Posts: 198
Location: St.Vincent & the Grenadines
silkodyssey 27 Nov 2003, 21:51
I am using windows xp. I compiled the source and that seemed to work but when I tried the new feature I got an extra character on line error.

_________________
silkodyssey
Post 27 Nov 2003, 21:51
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8351
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 27 Nov 2003, 22:26
Oh, I see. You cannot compile under XP's DPMI system the include directive with environment variables inside it. This is actually the bug of 1.49 version, thanks for finding it out, I'll fix it soon.
Post 27 Nov 2003, 22:26
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
silkodyssey



Joined: 02 Oct 2003
Posts: 198
Location: St.Vincent & the Grenadines
silkodyssey 27 Nov 2003, 22:32
I don't understand because I use environment variables with the include directive all the time. The problem I am having is with the prerelease version of fasm you just posted. I've had no problems with version 1.49 before.

_________________
silkodyssey
Post 27 Nov 2003, 22:32
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger Reply with quote
art_sands



Joined: 23 Oct 2003
Posts: 55
art_sands 27 Nov 2003, 22:34
i was struggling with the environment variables in 1.49 too

i'm using xp too silkodyssey how have you set up the variable. i've set up the include variable

Regards,
Art
Post 27 Nov 2003, 22:34
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
silkodyssey



Joined: 02 Oct 2003
Posts: 198
Location: St.Vincent & the Grenadines
silkodyssey 27 Nov 2003, 22:39
The only problem I had have with includes with fasm is when compiling from the command prompt. I added the path for fasm to the 'include' environment variable but that didn't help so I created another environment variable that wasn't used before and called it fasminc and it works for me. Smile

_________________
silkodyssey
Post 27 Nov 2003, 22:39
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger Reply with quote
art_sands



Joined: 23 Oct 2003
Posts: 55
art_sands 27 Nov 2003, 22:46
yeah absolutely, i tried the same and it worked!! Very Happy

Hi Privalov,

There are too many apps that use include as their environment variables. Perhaps you should change it to finclude or fasminc or the cutie finc.

Regards,
Art
Post 27 Nov 2003, 22:46
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8351
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 27 Nov 2003, 22:49
This was the bug of DOS version only, so the 1.49 that was working for you was probably the Win32 console version. I have fixed it anyway - please try now.

About the environment variable: well, that would be only a small cosmetic change, why not? I'll consider this with 1.50 release.
Post 27 Nov 2003, 22:49
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
silkodyssey



Joined: 02 Oct 2003
Posts: 198
Location: St.Vincent & the Grenadines
silkodyssey 27 Nov 2003, 22:56
Ok the good news is that it compiles now but when I try to compile a demo with the new features I get an extra characters on line error.

_________________
silkodyssey
Post 27 Nov 2003, 22:56
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger Reply with quote
art_sands



Joined: 23 Oct 2003
Posts: 55
art_sands 27 Nov 2003, 23:03
same here

a silly question here odyssey. Why'd you choose silkodyssey here?


Last edited by art_sands on 27 Nov 2003, 23:06; edited 1 time in total
Post 27 Nov 2003, 23:03
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8351
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 27 Nov 2003, 23:04
Oh, you're right. I've broken it by mistake when searching for a reason why it was not working for you. What an unfortunate release! Probably I'm too tired today... Wink
It should be OK now.
Post 27 Nov 2003, 23:04
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
silkodyssey



Joined: 02 Oct 2003
Posts: 198
Location: St.Vincent & the Grenadines
silkodyssey 27 Nov 2003, 23:28
The example I tested works!!!! Smile. Cool feature, nice work privalov. Creating resources with macros is not much fun Sad.

art_sands,

Sometimes I use silkodyssey, sometimes I use Odyssey for short Smile. I can't remember exactly what was going through my head when I signed up to the fasm board though. It's not something totally different so that no one knows its me so I think its ok Smile

_________________
silkodyssey
Post 27 Nov 2003, 23:28
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger Reply with quote
Tommy



Joined: 17 Jun 2003
Posts: 489
Location: Norway
Tommy 28 Nov 2003, 14:45
Mine won't compile either...Sad WinXP... I'll try again later...but got to go now...

Seems to be good work though Privalov! Wink
Post 28 Nov 2003, 14:45
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3499
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound 28 Nov 2003, 16:13
Hi Privalov.

I implemented this version of FASM in Fresh and it seems to work (BTW: thanks to the new FASM I fixed a bug in Fresh. Wink )
The problem is that it links to the exe only the first resource from .RES file. I created res file with "Norton resource editor" and then check the PE file with "PE browser Pro".

Regards.
Post 28 Nov 2003, 16:13
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8351
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 28 Nov 2003, 16:17
Can you send me that resource file? I have tested my routine only with files generated with RC/GORC, and it's OK with them.
Post 28 Nov 2003, 16:17
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3499
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound 28 Nov 2003, 16:27
No problem:

Here is the res file, precompiled exe and sources. The sources are with Fresh structure, so if you want to compile them you need Fresh include files. It is not special example, but the prog that I write in this moment. I simply add resource section to try new feature.

Regards.


Description:
Download
Filename: proptest.rar
Filesize: 6.97 KB
Downloaded: 1065 Time(s)

Post 28 Nov 2003, 16:27
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8351
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 28 Nov 2003, 16:51
Oh, yeah. I knew it. Another thing I have broken while to improve that horrible procedure. I have updated it with finally fully working version (at least for me Wink), please try it.
Coding this way the .res converted into binary tree format for PE resource was really an insane task. But I've done it. Cool
Post 28 Nov 2003, 16:51
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3499
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound 28 Nov 2003, 17:34
Yea, it works now in Fresh too.
Great work Privalov. This was a big problem of FASM and now it is solved.
Thank you.

Regards.

BTW: One possible reason why it does not work for some people:
<from 'filename'> expression is related to "resource" word. Following construction won't work:
Code:
wrong:
section '.rsrc' resource readable from 'rsrc.res'

right:
section '.rsrc' resource from 'rsrc.res' data readable
    
Post 28 Nov 2003, 17:34
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2024, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube.

Website powered by rwasa.