flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > IDE Development > Line Deletion/Duplication Bug

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
comrade



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 1150
Location: Russian Federation
comrade 27 Jun 2003, 03:11
This happens occasionally, just now I have been able to capture:

Before:
Image

After:
Image

Notice that I have deleted "sin", but that also caused "wsd" to be deleted and dnshdr to go in place of it.

_________________
comrade (comrade64@live.com; http://comrade.ownz.com/)


Last edited by comrade on 27 Jun 2003, 06:39; edited 1 time in total
Post 27 Jun 2003, 03:11
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
fasm9



Joined: 19 Jun 2003
Posts: 439
fasm9 27 Jun 2003, 04:28
sorry, but, i can't see anything

Quote:

Before:


After:
Post 27 Jun 2003, 04:28
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
comrade



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 1150
Location: Russian Federation
comrade 27 Jun 2003, 06:39
How about now?

_________________
comrade (comrade64@live.com; http://comrade.ownz.com/)
Post 27 Jun 2003, 06:39
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
scientica
Retired moderator


Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 689
Location: Linköping, Sweden
scientica 27 Jun 2003, 07:48
A few times I've had some unexplained issues when coding, and deleting lines, however I've always pushed Ctrl+Z and thought I did something wrong, perhaps I'm not as flawed as I occsionaly think. Wink
(btw I can see the images)

_________________
... a professor saying: "use this proprietary software to learn computer science" is the same as English professor handing you a copy of Shakespeare and saying: "use this book to learn Shakespeare without opening the book itself.
- Bradley Kuhn
Post 27 Jun 2003, 07:48
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8376
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 27 Jun 2003, 09:04
What set of options are you using?
Post 27 Jun 2003, 09:04
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8376
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 27 Jun 2003, 20:46
OK, got it. That was hard to reproduce but I've finally found what caused it - and it's fixed for the coming 1.47 release.
Post 27 Jun 2003, 20:46
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
fasm9



Joined: 19 Jun 2003
Posts: 439
fasm9 27 Jun 2003, 21:29
comrade wrote:
How about now?


same. it seems my fault.
i am using zone alarm pro 4.0.123.012 and mozilla 1.4 RC3
turned java, cookie, javascript off. set ZA pro High.

but i wouldn't change the setting.
anyway, that's ok, thanks.
Post 27 Jun 2003, 21:29
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
comrade



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 1150
Location: Russian Federation
comrade 27 Jun 2003, 21:37
privalov wrote:
OK, got it. That was hard to reproduce but I've finally found what caused it - and it's fixed for the coming 1.47 release.


Just curious, what was problem?

_________________
comrade (comrade64@live.com; http://comrade.ownz.com/)
Post 27 Jun 2003, 21:37
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8376
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 27 Jun 2003, 21:50
It was because the undo buffer consists of the lines allocated in the same way as the reguar lines. Lines are 108h-byte chunks allocated from 64kB memory blocks, when there is no more free space on the top of the last block, allocation routine searches for the released (marked with -1 in place where usually address to next line in chain is stored) lines inside the block, and when no such line is found, it allocates the new 64kB block.
The routine that was deleting block was marking the last line of block as released, then storing the next line in undo buffer (because next line was about to have changed the pointer to previous line) and then copying all the characters after the end of selection from that line to the first line of block. If it happened that all 64kB block was fully used at that moment, the allocation routine was using that line (which has been just marked as released) to store the next line for undo, and so the assumption that the characters of just released line are still there was false. I have fixed it by marking the line as released only after that copying.
Post 27 Jun 2003, 21:50
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
comrade



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 1150
Location: Russian Federation
comrade 27 Jun 2003, 23:26
Fascinating! Wink

_________________
comrade (comrade64@live.com; http://comrade.ownz.com/)
Post 27 Jun 2003, 23:26
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2025, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube.

Website powered by rwasa.