flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > OS Construction > End of RhynOS

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3

Should I scrap RhynOS?
Yes
42%
 42%  [ 3 ]
No
57%
 57%  [ 4 ]
Total Votes : 7

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
rhyno_dagreat



Joined: 31 Jul 2006
Posts: 487
Location: Maryland, Unol Daleithiau
rhyno_dagreat 17 Oct 2006, 02:30
Thanks for the info man! One thing: When you say "mask interrupt" I still don't know what you mean by that. I've heard it used so much yet still have hardly any idea what it means. And what's the difference between masking interrupts and setting up an IDT?
Post 17 Oct 2006, 02:30
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Dex4u



Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 1601
Location: web
Dex4u 17 Oct 2006, 03:18
You need to
Code:
cli    
In realmode before going to pmode.
See here how they work http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CLI_(x86_instruction)
Basically you are disabling all maskable interrupts.
Post 17 Oct 2006, 03:18
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
rhyno_dagreat



Joined: 31 Jul 2006
Posts: 487
Location: Maryland, Unol Daleithiau
rhyno_dagreat 17 Oct 2006, 03:23
Ah, thanks. So masking an interrupt is basically clearing it, right?
Post 17 Oct 2006, 03:23
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Dex4u



Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 1601
Location: web
Dex4u 17 Oct 2006, 03:44
rhyno_dagreat wrote:
Ah, thanks. So masking an interrupt is basically clearing it, right?

Yes, but your clear (or switch off ) all the ones that can be cleared, do not worry about the others for now.


Last edited by Dex4u on 17 Oct 2006, 03:48; edited 2 times in total
Post 17 Oct 2006, 03:44
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
rhyno_dagreat



Joined: 31 Jul 2006
Posts: 487
Location: Maryland, Unol Daleithiau
rhyno_dagreat 17 Oct 2006, 03:45
So the CLI switches it off?

Edit: Wait... I thought cli clears all non-maskable interrupts, including your own created ones that you'd want to use (i.e. - Keyboard).
Post 17 Oct 2006, 03:45
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Dex4u



Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 1601
Location: web
Dex4u 17 Oct 2006, 03:54
In your OS with idt set and someone press a key a interrupt is fire and it jump to your key handerling code.
But if you do not set idt in your OS, you need a loop that test for keypress.
Post 17 Oct 2006, 03:54
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
rhyno_dagreat



Joined: 31 Jul 2006
Posts: 487
Location: Maryland, Unol Daleithiau
rhyno_dagreat 17 Oct 2006, 03:57
How would I do that without an IDT though? just use "in al, 60h" like I usually do inside my interrupt, through ports?
Post 17 Oct 2006, 03:57
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Dex4u



Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 1601
Location: web
Dex4u 17 Oct 2006, 03:58
Something like this
Code:
;*********************************
; Main keyboard loop.
;*********************************

NoKey:
        xor   eax,eax
        in    AL,60h
OverXor:
        cmp   al,0x50
        jne   NoKey1

        mov   si,Stop
        call  DrawImage
NoKey1:
        cmp   al,0x48
        jne   NoKey1A

        mov   si,Play
        call  DrawImage

NoKey1A:
        cmp   al,0x1c
        jne   NoKey

    
Post 17 Oct 2006, 03:58
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
rhyno_dagreat



Joined: 31 Jul 2006
Posts: 487
Location: Maryland, Unol Daleithiau
rhyno_dagreat 17 Oct 2006, 04:09
Ah, I see! So basically you're polling! Thanks!
Post 17 Oct 2006, 04:09
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Filter



Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 67
Filter 19 Oct 2006, 01:45
You must start to copy to understand and then you begin to try new things on your own once you understand.

A baby lion first learns to hunt by copying it's mother and then practices on it's own to learn new skills that make it a master hunter.

You have to start somewhere and copying someone else is that start. Once you understand the basic concepts then you can build upon them into something new and unique. It's how we as humans advance so fast. If everybody had to learn everything from scratch we would still be in the stone age.
Post 19 Oct 2006, 01:45
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Niels



Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 255
Niels 19 Oct 2006, 07:12
Hello Filter,

If I may bother you; Why did you copy from Person B and not Person A?

Niels.
Post 19 Oct 2006, 07:12
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3

< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2024, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube.

Website powered by rwasa.