flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > OS Construction > End of RhynOS

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Should I scrap RhynOS?
Yes
42%
 42%  [ 3 ]
No
57%
 57%  [ 4 ]
Total Votes : 7

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Niels



Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 255
Niels
rhyno_dagreat wrote:
Quote:
Because I'm trying to grow more accustomed to using the Intel Architectual Manuals, I was wondering if anyone could tell me if there's any information in them about rerouting the PIC chips.


Not about the actual rerouting process. I will gather some links for you. Smile
Post 15 Oct 2006, 14:21
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
rhyno_dagreat



Joined: 31 Jul 2006
Posts: 487
Location: Maryland, Unol Daleithiau
rhyno_dagreat
Niels wrote:
rhyno_dagreat wrote:
Quote:
Because I'm trying to grow more accustomed to using the Intel Architectual Manuals, I was wondering if anyone could tell me if there's any information in them about rerouting the PIC chips.


Not about the actual rerouting process. I will gather some links for you. Smile

Thanks, though I'd think that it should be included into the manual myself; without it, it's kind of incomplete in my humble and honest opinion.

Also, how can I make a IDT that only comes up during run-time? I mean, I'm trying different methods, each one taking up mostly the rest of my 512 byte sector.
Post 15 Oct 2006, 14:29
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Niels



Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 255
Niels
Post 15 Oct 2006, 14:39
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
rhyno_dagreat



Joined: 31 Jul 2006
Posts: 487
Location: Maryland, Unol Daleithiau
rhyno_dagreat
Thank you Niels! I also have a PDF I found at http://www.osdev.net/ that I found helpful, but all it did was show you how to do it. It didn't explain much of what was really going on! Thanks again! Very Happy
Post 15 Oct 2006, 14:53
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
smiddy



Joined: 31 Oct 2004
Posts: 559
smiddy
In order to push the bounds into orignal thought you have to understand the under lying princples, that is through study which you have to copy in order to learn. Through hypothetical announcement and empirical tests does one expand the bounds of the already known to the unknown. I think both are ways of learning, it is the elesticity of the combined notions that we succeed towards the new, braking the plastic boundary.
Post 15 Oct 2006, 15:00
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
rhyno_dagreat



Joined: 31 Jul 2006
Posts: 487
Location: Maryland, Unol Daleithiau
rhyno_dagreat
smiddy wrote:
In order to push the bounds into orignal thought you have to understand the under lying princples, that is through study which you have to copy in order to learn. Through hypothetical announcement and empirical tests does one expand the bounds of the already known to the unknown. I think both are ways of learning, it is the elesticity of the combined notions that we succeed towards the new, braking the plastic boundary.

I agree. No one way will help you learn all there is to learn.
Post 15 Oct 2006, 15:11
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Niels



Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 255
Niels
Hello rhyno_dagreat,

About your other question:

If I guide you, you will start with Adam and end up with GOD.
You do not want to be GOD and constantly realizing why Adam is at the beginning of the Scriptures. Smile

Niels.

ps.
Maybe if GOD were there for me, I would really have life. LO Smile
Post 15 Oct 2006, 15:14
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Niels



Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 255
Niels
rhyno_dagreat wrote:
Quote:
It didn't explain much of what was really going on!


Too much information might give you the same idea.

Niels.
Post 15 Oct 2006, 15:19
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
rhyno_dagreat



Joined: 31 Jul 2006
Posts: 487
Location: Maryland, Unol Daleithiau
rhyno_dagreat
Niels wrote:
Hello rhyno_dagreat,

About your other question:

If I guide you, you will start with Adam and end up with GOD.
You do not want to be GOD and constantly realizing why Adam is at the beginning of the Scriptures. Smile

Niels.

ps.
Maybe if GOD were there for me, I would really have life. LO Smile

I have God in my heart. Wink But I don't see how this metaphor (which I hardly understand in the first place Laughing) deals with my question. Unless you're saying that if you teach me and I know, then I will understand why I hardly understand anything: Because I haven't learned from experience, but rather from a person, if I'm correct. If I'm not, can you try to explain it... My mind works in weird ways.
Post 15 Oct 2006, 15:21
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Niels



Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 255
Niels
Hello rhyno_dagreat,

Its the order in things and the way you are told and noticed, which makes you understand.

Niels.

ps.
If a stairway had only its highest step, I would turn it around and did something useful with it. Smile
Post 15 Oct 2006, 15:28
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
rhyno_dagreat



Joined: 31 Jul 2006
Posts: 487
Location: Maryland, Unol Daleithiau
rhyno_dagreat
I see what you're saying now I believe. BTW, I like your second metaphor. Smile
Post 15 Oct 2006, 15:30
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Niels



Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 255
Niels
I'm 33, you have plenty of time.
Post 15 Oct 2006, 15:32
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Niels



Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 255
Niels
rhyno_dagreat:
Quote:
Because I haven't learned from experience, but rather from a person, if I'm correct.


You have learned through experience and yes, I bleed when you stab me. Smile

Niels.
Post 15 Oct 2006, 15:43
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
rhyno_dagreat



Joined: 31 Jul 2006
Posts: 487
Location: Maryland, Unol Daleithiau
rhyno_dagreat
Well, I think the majority of the problems I have aren't logic problems within my code, but a misunderstanding of how things work beneath the surface on the actual hardware, which can be a big issue in the case of OSDev. But then again it's what makes it a fun and challenging learning experience.
Post 15 Oct 2006, 15:58
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Niels



Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 255
Niels
Post 15 Oct 2006, 16:20
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
rhyno_dagreat



Joined: 31 Jul 2006
Posts: 487
Location: Maryland, Unol Daleithiau
rhyno_dagreat
Wow... A blank message... Shocked
Post 15 Oct 2006, 16:29
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
vid
Verbosity in development


Joined: 05 Sep 2003
Posts: 7105
Location: Slovakia
vid
wow, man. there is over 40 thousand posts here, but you are first to accomplish this.
Post 15 Oct 2006, 18:59
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
rhyno_dagreat



Joined: 31 Jul 2006
Posts: 487
Location: Maryland, Unol Daleithiau
rhyno_dagreat
vid wrote:
wow, man. there is over 40 thousand posts here, but you are first to accomplish this.
First to accomplish what?
Post 15 Oct 2006, 23:39
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
rhyno_dagreat



Joined: 31 Jul 2006
Posts: 487
Location: Maryland, Unol Daleithiau
rhyno_dagreat
This message is somewhat directed at Dex4U - How did you make your OS small enough to fit in one sector? Or, maybe a more appropriate question is how did you make your IDT small? I tried Artlav's idea which was to make stubs, but what did you do? Did you make it so that there was one descriptor for all the errors that pointed to a single stub and then worked with the IRQs? All I really know how to code the IDT is in raw form... so yeah, it's a pain.
Post 17 Oct 2006, 01:46
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Dex4u



Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 1601
Location: web
Dex4u
The simple answer is that demo did not set IDT up, you do not need them in pmode, you only need GDT, But if you do not set them up, you need to mask int, before entering pmode.
If want to set up IDT and keep code Small, you need to code them like what bubach has done in BOS, see here for code http://bos.asmhackers.net/downloads.php

Also do not think that by making your code small it will be easy to understand, as it does not always work like that.
Post 17 Oct 2006, 02:25
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.