flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Main > and ebx, 0ffff0000h

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
lazer1



Joined: 24 Jan 2006
Posts: 185
lazer1
Very strange problem,

test.asm is:

Code:

use16
        and ebx, 0ffff0000h

    


when I try compiling this with 2 versions of fasm,
the one version succeeds and the other doesnt:

G:\fasm>fasm test.asm
flat assembler version 1.67.7 (15360 kilobytes memory)
1 passes, 7 bytes.

G:\fasm>
G:\fasm>fasmorig test.asm
flat assembler version 1.64
test.asm [4]:
and ebx, 0ffff0000h
error: extra characters on line.

You may be wondering why I want the earlier version of fasm,
its because I have a source file with a large number of includes
which the newer version of fasm will not compile.
Post 08 Oct 2006, 03:31
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4633
Location: Argentina
LocoDelAssembly
What things are incompatible with current version? I'm missing some important change from 1.64 to 1.67.10?

[edit] Corrected 1.76.10 to 1.67.10. Sorry, typed to fast Razz [/edit]


Last edited by LocoDelAssembly on 08 Oct 2006, 18:11; edited 1 time in total
Post 08 Oct 2006, 14:06
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Goplat



Joined: 15 Sep 2006
Posts: 181
Goplat
Is it possible it's having a problem with a '\r' character at the end of the line? BTW, if you want to zero out the low half of ebx in 16 bit mode, it's probably faster to just do "xor bx,bx".
Post 08 Oct 2006, 15:38
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
lazer1



Joined: 24 Jan 2006
Posts: 185
lazer1
Goplat wrote:
Is it possible it's having a problem with a '\r' character at the end of the line?


what is \r in hexadecimal?

Quote:

BTW, if you want to zero out the low half of ebx in 16 bit mode, it's probably
faster to just do "xor bx,bx".


Shocked
Post 08 Oct 2006, 21:14
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
lazer1



Joined: 24 Jan 2006
Posts: 185
lazer1
I've resolved the problem: Razz
I had installed both versions to the same directory,

by reinstalling the earlier version of fasm to its own
directory it now runs correctly: Very Happy

G:\fasm>fasm1\fasm test.asm
flat assembler version 1.64
1 passes, 7 bytes.

G:\fasm>

here I have installed fasm 1.64 afresh to the subdirectory fasm1,

so it must have been a conflict of system files
Post 08 Oct 2006, 23:36
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.