flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Main > symbol already defined

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
smiddy



Joined: 31 Oct 2004
Posts: 559
smiddy
Greetings All,

It has been a while since I last posted here, or have done any coding. I was re-associating myself with some code I was writing and went to add to it. When I went to assmble it with FASM (1.64) I got the error response symbol already defined. I checked all of my references and can not find a second reference. If I move the reference furthing into the ASM file, the next reference becomes the symbol already defined. I am assuming there must be something somewhere else in my code that is making this happen after FASM makes it series of passes. However, it is only references within this file. Additionally, if I remove the reference file from the include (which contains a procedure I call from another file), the calling procedure doesn't get flagged as an error, which leads me to beleive FASM already thinks it has a reference for it, which it shouldn't.

BTW, I ran a search on here and haven't found this and am hoping someone else has ran into something similar and perhaps found a fix.

Thoughts?
Post 23 Sep 2006, 16:04
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17270
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
Post the source! Sorry, but can't help without more information.
Post 23 Sep 2006, 19:35
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
smiddy



Joined: 31 Oct 2004
Posts: 559
smiddy
I figured that would be the case...however, I figured it out. Seems I had two includes for the same file, plus I was pop-ing ES twice (instead of only once) which cause much confusion. I realize that doesn't answer everything, but chalk it up to reinstroduction to former code. Posting would be difficult since there are approximately 52 files, assembled to about 96 kB. Finding the errors is perhaps too much to share in finding this error. The (OS) API file was used to include screen modes, and I tried to re-include it another time (inadvertantly). What a bone! Wink

FYI, the source will be available once I've finished the release first version, smiddyOS.
Post 23 Sep 2006, 22:08
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.