flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > OS Construction > FASM Challenge - For all users

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 6, 7, 8 ... 13, 14, 15  Next
Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Octavio



Joined: 21 Jun 2003
Posts: 366
Location: Spain
Octavio
edfed wrote:
does anybody know how to obtain a good frame rate, for video, it's 24 FPS, so... i don't understand why it's too slow with my algorithm...
please, help there is a solution, i'm sure, direct X and opengl are able to print fast...

direct X and opengl run in a OS that has drivers with hardware acceleration, but you don't have ,so your program is limited by the pci
bandwith 130MB/s but with some mainboards only half of this is usable
so your program only cand send about 60MB/s to the screen that is about
20fps for high resolution modes.
Post 03 Feb 2008, 16:41
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4237
Location: 2018
edfed
the problem with acceleration:
it's hardware dependant.
so, i'll need to code for various graphic cards...

ok, i'll try to.
Post 03 Feb 2008, 16:45
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Dex4u



Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 1601
Location: web
Dex4u
Its a case of lots of little things, that add up to a good FPS rate. eg: set MTRR to write combine, will up 24 fps to maybe 38 fps.
Also remember your best going for 800*600 instead of 1024*768.
Like i pointed out in the first place.
Post 03 Feb 2008, 18:46
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4237
Location: 2018
edfed
1024 is a better resolution, and is my native one.
but i can try the 800 one. but it's ugly on my omnibook. video expansion.
Post 03 Feb 2008, 20:23
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4237
Location: 2018
edfed
there is a solution in hardware triple buffering.
but it require returns to RM to change the current frame.

to test.
Post 03 Feb 2008, 22:54
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4237
Location: 2018
edfed
update, ?? OO language included in fbboot.zip
you'll be surprized.
Laughing
Post 04 Feb 2008, 22:12
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Dex4u



Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 1601
Location: web
Dex4u
I have released the latest source code here:
http://board.flatassembler.net/topic.php?p=70861#70861
Post 09 Feb 2008, 13:38
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4237
Location: 2018
edfed
good job dex.
but there is no escape.
so, for mans that try this:
brute force to cut the power, and then reboot via ctrl or F8 during boot.
then, choose the msdos echec less mode
del autoexec.bat
ren autoexec.wos autoexec.bat

soon, the mouse and the buttons with bitmaps in my distro.
i'll use dex4u's bigfont too, and his bitmaps. and wait for dosin html parser...
for the keyboard, i'll remake it for keyboard mode3.
about kb modes:
i don't understand why there are mode 1 and 2? it's really ... hem hem
Post 09 Feb 2008, 13:54
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
tom tobias



Joined: 09 Sep 2003
Posts: 1320
Location: usa
tom tobias
edfed wrote:

it doesn't read the vesa info correctly, says i don't have vesa 2+
I have the same error message.
Dex4u wrote:

This demo simple test for vesa, then if presant goes to pmode
Evidently my video card bios doesn't support vesa2...I have Trident 9685.
Question then is where do I need to change source code, to accept older graphics controllers?
Post 11 Feb 2008, 09:55
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Dex4u



Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 1601
Location: web
Dex4u
Now if we are talking about this demo
http://board.flatassembler.net/topic.php?t=8281

Than first i would double check, that it does not have vesa 2, as the method i use works on about 90% of cards.
You can do this by getting a veas test program off the net and see what that comes up with.
If it still say banked or vesa 1, than you need to convert it to banked instead of LFB
( or Simulated linear framebuffer).
Which is slower as you have a 64k window and you need to switch windows (banks) every 64k.

Here some links that may help
Simulated linear framebuffer:
Chris Giese's simulated linear framebuffer: http://my.execpc.com/~geezer/os/slfb.asm
Alexei Frounze's LFBemu: http://alexfru.narod.ru/miscdocs/pmode/lfbemu22.zip
Potential problems with simulated linear framebuffers: http://marc.theaimsgroup.com/?m=88102879813311&w=2
Post 11 Feb 2008, 12:59
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
DJ Mauretto



Joined: 14 Mar 2007
Posts: 464
Location: Rome,Italy
DJ Mauretto
Hello Wink
There is also my Vesa info utility for dos,win98,xp or boot version

http://board.flatassembler.net/topic.php?t=7208
Have Fun!
Post 11 Feb 2008, 13:47
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
tom tobias



Joined: 09 Sep 2003
Posts: 1320
Location: usa
tom tobias
Dex wrote:
Now if we are talking about this demo
http://board.flatassembler.net/topic.php?t=8281

Than first i would double check, that it does not have vesa 2, as the method i use works on about 90% of cards.
Yes, that is the demo; here is the message:
"you need vesa2 for this demo!",
implying that the bios on my graphics controller does not support vesa2, which it may or may not, I don't know. I don't reach the switch to protected mode, the computer just hangs with that error message....
Confused
Post 11 Feb 2008, 19:11
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
tom tobias



Joined: 09 Sep 2003
Posts: 1320
Location: usa
tom tobias
DJ Mauretto wrote:

There is also my Vesa info utility for dos,win98,xp or boot version
Yup, worked very well, my card shows compliance with VESA 1.2 using your program....
Smile
Post 11 Feb 2008, 19:59
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
bitRAKE



Joined: 21 Jul 2003
Posts: 2902
Location: [RSP+8*5]
bitRAKE
Might want to try SciTech's Display Doctor older versions are free and availble all over the web.
Post 11 Feb 2008, 21:16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
tom tobias



Joined: 09 Sep 2003
Posts: 1320
Location: usa
tom tobias
I just bought a new video card, with trident chip set....
Post 11 Feb 2008, 21:51
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17249
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
I have written some principles about multi-developer projects here. I hope it might be able to help you guys out a little.
Post 15 Feb 2008, 19:02
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
tom tobias



Joined: 09 Sep 2003
Posts: 1320
Location: usa
tom tobias
Thank you revolution, well done. I appreciate your effort. I now have a VESA2 compliant video card installed, (Thanks DJMauretto!), and I am able to observe the same image as Dex illustrated here, on the forum, several days ago. I have begun studying the fasm browser code, and will write to Dex, once I have some understanding of what he and Alexei Frounze (alexfru@chat.ru) have written thus far, to create an initial specification document, in accord with revolution's suggestions.
Smile
Post 15 Feb 2008, 19:48
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Dex4u



Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 1601
Location: web
Dex4u
Thanks revolution and tom tobias.

@revolution your "multi-developer projects doc's" will be a big help and we will do our better to stick to it's guide lines and thanks for writing a much needed set of guide lines.

@tom tobias great to hear you have a vesa2 card and look forward the initial specification document, in accord with revolution's suggestions Smile .

@All, I am adding mouse support to the project and will post a up date as soon as its ready to test.
Post 16 Feb 2008, 16:15
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4237
Location: 2018
edfed
what will be the default function call protocol?
stack?
direct memory?
indexed memory?
file system?
i think that the syscall with push pop is not a good thing.
push and pop are used to be temp values, for intermediates calculations, not for parameters passing.

about the mouse, there is NO doc to know how to program the PS/2 mouse. they all say what to do (command, acknoledge, packet format...), but nothing about the I/O ports or the irq connected to mouse data flow. am i blind?
Post 16 Feb 2008, 17:02
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
DJ Mauretto



Joined: 14 Mar 2007
Posts: 464
Location: Rome,Italy
DJ Mauretto
Quote:

about the mouse, there is NO doc to know how to program the PS/2 mouse. they all say what to do (command, acknoledge, packet format...), but nothing about the I/O ports or the irq connected to mouse data flow. am i blind?

IRQ 12
I/O Ports same of the Keyboard ,60h-64h Wink
Post 16 Feb 2008, 17:21
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 6, 7, 8 ... 13, 14, 15  Next

< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.