flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Windows > change the include location

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
AarzaK



Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Location: Venezuela
AarzaK 20 Aug 2006, 16:25
hey,

I am very new in the flatassembler world, I always have problems compiling any .asm file the error is .inc location.

my solution is write the complete location for the .inc file directly in the .asm source code. my question is can I change the location thru the other file? example fasm.ini ??

I always use this: include "C:\flatasm\INCLUDE\win32ax.inc"

I want to use only include "win32ax.inc"

what I need to change in the .ini??


cheers,

AarzaK

_________________
I Was Sent...
aarzak_@hotmail.com
http://aarzak.fadlan.com
Post 20 Aug 2006, 16:25
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4624
Location: Argentina
LocoDelAssembly 20 Aug 2006, 16:47
Hi, just put in FASMW.INI this:
Code:
[Environment]
Include = C:\flatasm\INCLUDE\    
Post 20 Aug 2006, 16:47
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
AarzaK



Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Location: Venezuela
AarzaK 20 Aug 2006, 17:54
thank you

where can I find more information about this tags?

(gracias de nuevo)


AarzaK

_________________
I Was Sent...
aarzak_@hotmail.com
http://aarzak.fadlan.com
Post 20 Aug 2006, 17:54
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4624
Location: Argentina
LocoDelAssembly 20 Aug 2006, 18:07
Sorry, I don't know where.

For the Environment I found it in the documentation (PDF version included in the package)

Quote:
1.1.1 System requirements
All versions require the x86 architecture 32–bit processor (at least 80386),
although they can produce programs for the x86 architecture 16–bit processors,
too. Windows console version requires any Win32 operating system,
while Windows GUI version requires the Win32 GUI system version 4.0 or
higher, so it should run on all systems compatible with Windows 95.

The example source provided with this version require you have environment
variable INCLUDE set to the path of the include directory, which is the
part of flat assembler package. If such variable already exists in your system
and contains paths used by some other program, it’s enough to add the new
path to it (the different paths should be separated with semicolons). If you
don’t want to define such variable in the system, or don’t know how to do it,
you can set it for the flat assembler IDE only by editing the fasmw.ini file
in its directory (this file is created by fasmw.exe when it’s executed, but you
can also create it by yourself). In this case you should add the Include value
into the Environment section. For example, when you have unpacked the
flat assembler files into the c:\fasmw directory, you should put the following
two lines into your c:\fasmw\fasmw.ini file:
[Environment]
Include = c:\fasmw\include
If you don’t define the INCLUDE environment variable properly, you will have
to manually provide the full path to the Win32 includes in every program
you want to compile.


Saludos!!
Post 20 Aug 2006, 18:07
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
vid
Verbosity in development


Joined: 05 Sep 2003
Posts: 7105
Location: Slovakia
vid 20 Aug 2006, 18:08
welcome

Quote:
where can I find more information about this tags?
nowhere, but you don't need to. Smile
There are only several things outside source that affect compilation, and this one is only one common, other are rarely needed. In FASM, almost all info for compilation is inside source, no command line params, no external defines, no makefiles etc.

btw, another way is to set up environment variable FASMINC to point to this directory
Post 20 Aug 2006, 18:08
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
AarzaK



Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Location: Venezuela
AarzaK 21 Aug 2006, 00:42
Thank you very much!

_________________
I Was Sent...
aarzak_@hotmail.com
http://aarzak.fadlan.com
Post 21 Aug 2006, 00:42
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger Reply with quote
SomeoneNew



Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 54
SomeoneNew 22 Aug 2006, 19:41
Why doesnt FASMW do this automatically? (ie get the running location and set the env variable in the ini at ini generation time?).

Perhaps it sounds stupid to many but it would save this type of issues.
Post 22 Aug 2006, 19:41
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8351
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 22 Aug 2006, 19:51
If you already have the INCLUDE in system environment, this might be unwanted.
The .INI setting was actually meant only for the cases, when for some reason you don't want to mix fasm's include paths setting with the one of other programs.
Post 22 Aug 2006, 19:51
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
okasvi



Joined: 18 Aug 2005
Posts: 382
Location: Finland
okasvi 22 Aug 2006, 20:06
lately I started using INCLUDE environment variable, and I think my sources are now prettier than with %fasminc%\...inc Smile
Post 22 Aug 2006, 20:06
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2024, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube.

Website powered by rwasa.