flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Main > Multi-byte NOP instructions support

Goto page Previous  1, 2
Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
vid
Verbosity in development


Joined: 05 Sep 2003
Posts: 7105
Location: Slovakia
vid 24 Jul 2006, 17:51
same way like some guy patented a wheel after law change in astrualia...

america is off the way, same way like roman empire was in cca 500 AD.... and it will end same way, unfortunately
Post 24 Jul 2006, 17:51
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
Hunter



Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 41
Hunter 16 Aug 2006, 09:15
Tomasz, Why don't you want to support muti-byte NOP for completeness? Wink
Post 16 Aug 2006, 09:15
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Madis731



Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 2139
Location: Estonia
Madis731 18 Aug 2006, 11:50
Hmm, but how would it be implemented then?
Code:
nop
word nop
dword nop
    

Razz or something else?
Post 18 Aug 2006, 11:50
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
vid
Verbosity in development


Joined: 05 Sep 2003
Posts: 7105
Location: Slovakia
vid 18 Aug 2006, 12:25
if, then "nop word", not otherwise Smile
Post 18 Aug 2006, 12:25
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8358
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 18 Aug 2006, 12:40
The syntax like "nop dword [eax]" appears obvious from the opcode point of view, though its usability is questionable. Perhaps the syntax where you could directly specify how many bytes long NOP you want would be better, but for this I'd stick to macro solution (we can make a package of code alignment macros for different processors).
Post 18 Aug 2006, 12:40
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
vid
Verbosity in development


Joined: 05 Sep 2003
Posts: 7105
Location: Slovakia
vid 18 Aug 2006, 13:04
i also like the idea with macros more... anyway, it's still just optimization, all those instructions are encodeable using current assembler
Post 18 Aug 2006, 13:04
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4624
Location: Argentina
LocoDelAssembly 18 Aug 2006, 14:13
My Athlon64 reaches int3 with this
Code:
format PE GUI 4.0

macro nop src 
{ 
local ..lea 
  if ~src eq 
    db $0F 
    ..lea: lea eax, src 
    store $1F at ..lea 
  else 
    nop 
  end if 
} 
irps instr, noP nOp nOP Nop NoP NOp NOP {macro instr src \{nop src\}} 

nop dword [ebx+esi+5]
int3    
Post 18 Aug 2006, 14:13
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Hunter



Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 41
Hunter 18 Aug 2006, 15:31
I think, It's needed for completeness, because it's official Intel instruction and official mnemocode. Smile
Post 18 Aug 2006, 15:31
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
MazeGen



Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 977
Location: Czechoslovakia
MazeGen 21 Aug 2006, 15:57
vid wrote:
same way like some guy patented a wheel after law change in astrualia...

Sorry for off-topic, I couldn't resist. Friend of mine has found the link:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/1418165.stm
Post 21 Aug 2006, 15:57
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  
Goto page Previous  1, 2

< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2025, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube.

Website powered by rwasa.