flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Compiler Internals > [bug]pre-initialised floating point data

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Chewy509



Joined: 19 Jun 2003
Posts: 297
Location: Bris-vegas, Australia
Chewy509 27 Apr 2006, 03:26
Hi Tomasz,

Noticed this the other day when working on my compiler (which emits code to assembled by fasm).

The following causes fasm to stop with an error (which is correct):
Code:
my_fp0 dt 1.0e10.0    


however the following causes fasm to get stuck in a loop and exhaust all free mem:
Code:
my_fp0 dt 1.0e-10.0    


fasm will eventually stop gracefully with an out of memory error on the last one. However I expected fasm to stop with the same error as the first?

Tested with fasm 1.65.21 on both Win32 and Linux.

PS. I do consider both to be invalid syntax... just thought fasm's response the 2nd one a bit unusual.
Post 27 Apr 2006, 03:26
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8356
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 27 Apr 2006, 09:16
Fixed in 1.65.22.
Post 27 Apr 2006, 09:16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Madis731



Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 2139
Location: Estonia
Madis731 27 Apr 2006, 10:20
I think it has been discussed already, but its hard to find a dot (".") by searching so I'll ask again.
What was the reason for not supporting number formats like:
Code:
floatzero dt .0
floatminushalf dt -.5
    

Does it make the parsing harder or are there any other points that I missed?
Post 27 Apr 2006, 10:20
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 20414
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution 27 Apr 2006, 11:45
All numbers start with a numbers. All local labels start with a single dot. This is a good thing. Some versions ago (1.4x I think) we could not even have labels .e or .f, much more clear now in the later versions.
Post 27 Apr 2006, 11:45
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
vid
Verbosity in development


Joined: 05 Sep 2003
Posts: 7105
Location: Slovakia
vid 27 Apr 2006, 13:32
yep, i remember myslef reporting that bug several times Wink
Post 27 Apr 2006, 13:32
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
Chewy509



Joined: 19 Jun 2003
Posts: 297
Location: Bris-vegas, Australia
Chewy509 27 Apr 2006, 22:21
Tomasz Grysztar wrote:
Fixed in 1.65.22.

Thanks Smile
Post 27 Apr 2006, 22:21
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2024, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube.

Website powered by rwasa.