flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Windows > Mandelbrot Benchmark FPU/SSE2 released

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13 ... 18, 19, 20  Next
Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
bitRAKE



Joined: 21 Jul 2003
Posts: 2936
Location: vpcmipstrm
bitRAKE
My laptop has a 1.6Ghz Pentium M (Dothan) - very efficient CPU, imho.
Code:
Kümmel Mandelbrot Benchmark V 0.53G-32b-MT-FPU
---------------------------
Speed [Million Iterations / Second] : 161.325

Kümmel Mandelbrot Benchmark V 0.53G-32b-MT-SSE2
---------------------------
Speed [Million Iterations / Second] : 178.634    
We can see little has been done to improve the FPU - f0dder's machine is ~8 times as fast - four cores and twice the Ghz.

_________________
¯\(°_o)/¯ unlicense.org
Post 12 Apr 2008, 19:37
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Kuemmel



Joined: 30 Jan 2006
Posts: 198
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Kuemmel
edfed wrote:
pentium III M. is it good?

Yep, just try, will be interesting result, should deliver same efficiency like the Pentium M from BitRake...
Post 12 Apr 2008, 22:59
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17450
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
I've got Pentium M (Banias 1.3GHz) and Core Duo (Yonah 1.83GHz) both with 32-bit OS. Would you like me to run a test with these?
Post 13 Apr 2008, 02:16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4240
Location: 2018
edfed
i don't know why, but it still scratch my machine. Sad

only the busy cursor appear on black background in 800*600?

looks like 98 don't like it.
Post 13 Apr 2008, 03:21
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17450
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
edfed wrote:
i don't know why, but it still scratch my machine. Sad

only the busy cursor appear on black background in 800*600?

looks like 98 don't like it.
That is why I suggest you don't use a non-protected OS like 98. One errant proggy can upset your entire machine.
Post 13 Apr 2008, 03:57
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4240
Location: 2018
edfed
what do you think about a bsd?
open? net?
Post 13 Apr 2008, 04:29
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Alphonso



Joined: 16 Jan 2007
Posts: 294
Alphonso
Hi Kuemmel,
nice. Cool

PIII Tualatin 6-B-1 1Ghz, FPU 0.53F Speed 62.7 +-0.2

You asked earlier about DestroyWindow, there doesn't seem to be any message handling in your program, ie
Code:
msg_loop:
        invoke  GetMessage,msg,NULL,0,0
        or      eax,eax
        jz      end_loop
        invoke  TranslateMessage,msg
        invoke  DispatchMessage,msg
        jmp     msg_loop
end_loop:    
I think you need something like this to keep windows happy after you've posted your DestroyWindow,[mainhwnd] or PostMessage,[mainhwnd],WM_CLOSE,0,0 etc. Also noticed [flags] is not initialised. Might want MB_OK + MB_TOPMOST here or just get rid of it and stick it on the end of MessageBox instead.
Post 13 Apr 2008, 04:49
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
AlexP



Joined: 14 Nov 2007
Posts: 561
Location: Out the window. Yes, that one.
AlexP
Quote:
Ups...but now it's working !? Hopefully no other harm...what is your CPU and MHZ ? Anyone with a Pentium-M here or other CPU's ?
Yes, I did get it working. The taskbar on my Vista entirely disappeared, even stayed away if I put it in sleep mode. The tests were run on a 'Pentium Dual-Core' processor, around 1.5 Ghz. I don't know specific processor, sry!
Post 13 Apr 2008, 05:10
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Kuemmel



Joined: 30 Jan 2006
Posts: 198
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Kuemmel
revolution wrote:
I've got Pentium M (Banias 1.3GHz) and Core Duo (Yonah 1.83GHz) both with 32-bit OS. Would you like me to run a test with these?
Yep, would be nice, just use the 0.53G version I attached in on of the mails before, it's not on my webpage until now.

@Alphonso, thanks for the result, but please use also the 0.53G version in the attachement some posts of me before, as I said it's not on my webpage until now. Thanks for the window code stuff, I try to do implement that soon ! I 'm really not into OS stuff...Wink

@for all who don't know about their cpu: just get CPU-Z from http://www.cpuid.com/ It's a small programm to show all the data of your CPU.

@edfed, hm, I don't know about Win98, can it do multi-threading as WinXp ? I think so...then it could be a direct-draw/direct-x thing, I only use directdraw and if it is there in just an old version it should be fine.


Last edited by Kuemmel on 13 Apr 2008, 10:32; edited 1 time in total
Post 13 Apr 2008, 07:19
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17450
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
Kuemmel wrote:
revolution wrote:
I've got Pentium M (Banias 1.3GHz) and Core Duo (Yonah 1.83GHz) both with 32-bit OS. Would you like me to run a test with these?
Yep, would be nice, just use the 0.53G version I attached in on of the mails before, it's not on my webpage until now.
I will see how I go with this later and report back.
Kuemmel wrote:
@edfed, hm, I don't know about Win98, can it do multi-threading as WinXp ?
I can partially answer that, Win98 doesn't support more than one core but can multi-thread using that one core.
Post 13 Apr 2008, 07:28
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Alphonso



Joined: 16 Jan 2007
Posts: 294
Alphonso
PIII Tualatin 6-B-1 1Ghz, FPU 0.53G Speed 69.0
Post 13 Apr 2008, 07:35
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17450
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
Banias 1300MHz
Code:
Kümmel Mandelbrot Benchmark V 0.53G-32b-MT-FPU
Speed [Million Iterations / Second] : 135.576

Kümmel Mandelbrot Benchmark V 0.53G-32b-MT-SSE2
Speed [Million Iterations / Second] : 145.854    
Yonah 1833MHz
Code:
Kümmel Mandelbrot Benchmark V 0.53G-32b-MT-FPU
Speed [Million Iterations / Second] : 360.674

Kümmel Mandelbrot Benchmark V 0.53G-32b-MT-SSE2
Speed [Million Iterations / Second] : 400.852    
Post 13 Apr 2008, 09:04
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Kuemmel



Joined: 30 Jan 2006
Posts: 198
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Kuemmel
Alphonso wrote:
PIII Tualatin 6-B-1 1Ghz, FPU 0.53G Speed 69.0
Hm, quite low, was expecting something like in the level of 90 or 100 as I thought the PIII design was almost same like Pentium-M, hm, got to read more about the design...
Post 13 Apr 2008, 10:34
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
rugxulo



Joined: 09 Aug 2005
Posts: 2341
Location: Usono (aka, USA)
rugxulo
Kuemmel wrote:

@for all who don't know about their cpu: just get CPU-Z from http://www.cpuid.com/ It's a small programm to show all the data of your CPU.


That's not small, Eric Auer's CPULEVEL (10k w/ src) is small! Laughing

Of course, it says this P4 2.53 Ghz "Northwood" (Dell Dimension 8200, BIOS A09 ??) here supports HyperThreading (which I didn't think it did). Anyways, here's what it says (Win XP Home SP2 32-bit, 512 MB RAM, ATI RAGE 128 PRO II - AGP 4X/PCI w/ 32 MB running vmode 1024x768 32-bit, DirectX 9.0c) ...


FPU: 174.980
SSE2: 388.747


EDIT: The version I tested was the Apr. 12, 2008 one (from KMB_V0.53G-32b-MT.zip ).
Post 14 Apr 2008, 21:30
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Kuemmel



Joined: 30 Jan 2006
Posts: 198
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Kuemmel
@rugxulo: Thanks for the test...just I think that P4 has no Hyperthreading, according to Wikipedia Northwood P4's with 2.53 MHz had no HT, just the later released 3.02 MHz version...
Post 15 Apr 2008, 09:15
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Madis731



Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 2140
Location: Estonia
Madis731
You won't believe what my newly bought Penryn just did Very Happy
Image
501.065 FPUMarks and 1541.549SSEMarks Very Happy

I'm really proud about my system. I just got it on 8th April
Intel Mitac 8222J barebone
MGM965JB board
4GB of Kingston's PC2-5300's
T9300 CPU with whopping 6MB cache
X3100 graphics
53Wh battery and 5hrs of working with WiFi Very Happy

_________________
My updated idol Very Happy http://www.agner.org/optimize/
Post 15 Apr 2008, 10:31
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
f0dder



Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 3170
Location: Denmark
f0dder
Quote:
53Wh battery and 5hrs of working with WiFi Very Happy
That sounds very nice! I hope Penryn laptops are available & affordable when I go back to education... battery lifetime has always been a major bitching point of mine wrt. laptops Smile
Post 15 Apr 2008, 10:48
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Madis731



Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 2140
Location: Estonia
Madis731
Can't wait for 64b-MT. Penryn has made some improvements in both worlds 32/64 Smile

OT again:
I know that they also sell 8/9-cell batteries for those, too. And I'd love to dream about 7-hour trips with no recharge. Btw with LAN/WiFi/GFX/HDD/CPU active, it tells me something around 2hrs
end of OT.

Coming back to the 64-bit subject I can't recall if there was any talk about it yet (there are 12 pages already), but I know there might be some corners to cut in the 64-bit world, like more registers and maybe free increased precision...which might in turn improve the performance when you arrive the needed precision sooner.
Post 15 Apr 2008, 11:39
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
Kuemmel



Joined: 30 Jan 2006
Posts: 198
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Kuemmel
Madis731 wrote:
You won't believe what my newly bought Penryn just did Very Happy
501.065 FPUMarks and 1541.549SSEMarks

Thanks for a Penryn result ! Just I think you could have scored slightly higher, the core speed shows 'only' 1600 MHz, I guess you operate in energy saving mode or something ? So I guess when starting my benchmark there's a small time for 'powering up' to 2500 MHz, may be you could run it again in non power save mode or whatever that mode is called...
Post 15 Apr 2008, 13:57
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Madis731



Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 2140
Location: Estonia
Madis731
The shot was taken when the CPU was throttled down. It does it every time its idle. Actually when your program starts up, both(all) cores should pick up their pace. I'll try again Very Happy
Post 15 Apr 2008, 18:33
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13 ... 18, 19, 20  Next

< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.