flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > OS Construction > Metropolis

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
adefeo



Joined: 12 Jan 2004
Posts: 46
Location: Bellmore, Long Island, New York
adefeo 03 Jan 2006, 23:36
I'm making an announcement about my little OS named Metropolis. After a few days in development, I've released its first version. It doesn't do much, but it's a foundation for future versions to build on.

Metropolis 2006.R1 can be downloaded from http://512.bry.ath.cx/metro_releases/2006.R1.0/metro2k6R1.rar (66KB)

A Win32 Installer with Bochs 1.2 preloaded with Metro 2k6.R1 can be downloaded from http://512.bry.ath.cx/metro_releases/2006.R1.0/metrobe.exe (227KB)

It's a small realmode OS coded entirely in FASM.

Thanks,
Anthony

PS: The site is in development; it will be at http://512net.vze.com when finished. Also, forums are online at http://512net.vze.com/forum/


Description: Screenshot of Metropolis 2006.R1 in action.
Filesize: 48.97 KB
Viewed: 5454 Time(s)

metroshot.jpg




Last edited by adefeo on 06 Jan 2006, 22:57; edited 1 time in total
Post 03 Jan 2006, 23:36
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Reply with quote
RedGhost



Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 443
Location: BC, Canada
RedGhost 04 Jan 2006, 23:10
most os's are more complicated and further along in development (i am not insulting) so i am glad you released this os source, it allowed me to examine and understand whats going on by following along with a very easy-to-read source, nice job thank you

_________________
redghost.ca
Post 04 Jan 2006, 23:10
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address MSN Messenger Reply with quote
adefeo



Joined: 12 Jan 2004
Posts: 46
Location: Bellmore, Long Island, New York
adefeo 05 Jan 2006, 01:30
I know, thanks. And it's simple just for the fact that this is its first ever release, and only took 3 days to code and debug....
Post 05 Jan 2006, 01:30
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Reply with quote
Dex4u



Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 1601
Location: web
Dex4u 05 Jan 2006, 23:55
Yes it best to keep it simple, even when it gets bigger, by breaking it down into small parts, nice work.
Post 05 Jan 2006, 23:55
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Redragon



Joined: 27 Nov 2004
Posts: 101
Location: U.S.
Redragon 06 Jan 2006, 22:42
the download link is broken

_________________
(AH+AL=AX)+E=EAX
Post 06 Jan 2006, 22:42
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
adefeo



Joined: 12 Jan 2004
Posts: 46
Location: Bellmore, Long Island, New York
adefeo 06 Jan 2006, 22:57
Whoops, sorry, forgot to update it.
Here: http://512net.vze.com/metro_releases/2006.R1.0/
(goes to same place as http://512.bry.ath.cx/metro_releases/2006.R1.0/ )
Post 06 Jan 2006, 22:57
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Reply with quote
DC740



Joined: 01 Oct 2004
Posts: 74
Location: Argentina
DC740 07 Jan 2006, 18:20
I tested it on my 286 with 2 MB ram and 25 Mhz and it boots ok (the first home made OS that boot on that machine) but when I hit enter it freezes...

by the way, nice work!!!
Post 07 Jan 2006, 18:20
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
DC740



Joined: 01 Oct 2004
Posts: 74
Location: Argentina
DC740 27 Mar 2006, 17:15
ok, i thougth that you would fix the problem.... I was bored so i did it by myself... and I don't know why my 286 is not recognizing the repe movsb command... it freezes every time the OS executes it:
so this is the temporary fix... (repe should work, I don't know what's going on)
just replace the kernel code with this one:
Code:
compare_command_cls:
command_length equ 3

;@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@ Old loop
;#####################################

;mov di, cmdbuffer
;mov si, command_cls
;mov cx, command_length
;repe cmpsb
;##############################
;END OF old loop
;This works:
mov di, cmdbuffer
cmp [di],word 'cl'
jne @f
inc di
cmp [di],word 'ls'
jne @f
jmp cls
@@:

;compare_command_help:
mov di, cmdbuffer
cmp [di],word 'he'
jne @f
add di,2
cmp [di],word 'lp'
jne @f
jmp help
@@:

;compare_command_ver:
mov di, cmdbuffer
cmp [di],word 've'
jne @f
inc di
cmp [di],word 'er'
jne @f
jmp ver
@@:


;compare_command_halt:
mov di, cmdbuffer
cmp [di],word 'ha'
jne @f
add di,2
cmp [di],word 'lt'
jne @f
jmp halt
@@:

;compare_command_reboot:
mov di, cmdbuffer
cmp [di],word 're'
jne @f
add di,2
cmp [di],word 'bo'
jne @f
add di,2
cmp [di],word 'ot'
jne @f
jmp reboot
@@:
;jmp invalid_cmd


;invalid_cmd:
mov si, invalidcmd
call kprint
jmp commandready
    

_________________
[img]http://img194.imageshack.us/img194/9575/argentino7no3ym.gif
[/img]
Post 27 Mar 2006, 17:15
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Octavio



Joined: 21 Jun 2003
Posts: 366
Location: Spain
Octavio 28 Mar 2006, 15:35
DC740 wrote:
ok, i thougth that you would fix the problem.... I was bored so i did it by myself... and I don't know why my 286 is not recognizing the repe movsb command
[/code]

'rep movsb' should work on your 286 else the computer will probably crash before the OS is loaded , but i think that you are confusing 'movsb' and 'cmpsb'.
Post 28 Mar 2006, 15:35
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
DC740



Joined: 01 Oct 2004
Posts: 74
Location: Argentina
DC740 28 Mar 2006, 17:18
hehe yes, thats true, I ment "repe cmpsb"... anyway it doesn't work... I put this after and before the instruction:

;@@@@debug
pusha
mov esi,ERRORSTRING ; error string is something like "before repe cmpsb
call kprint ;this prints the string
popa

repe cmpsb

;@@@@debug
pusha
mov esi,ERRORSTRING2 ; after repe cmpsb | but this code is never executed :S
call kprint ;this prints the string
popa

_________________
[img]http://img194.imageshack.us/img194/9575/argentino7no3ym.gif
[/img]
Post 28 Mar 2006, 17:18
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Octavio



Joined: 21 Jun 2003
Posts: 366
Location: Spain
Octavio 29 Mar 2006, 07:53
DC740 wrote:
hehe yes, thats true, I ment "repe cmpsb"... anyway it doesn't work...

run it with Dos debug ,if it crash at 'rep compsb' then you can say it is a hardware problem, but the most probable is that there is some bug in the program.
Post 29 Mar 2006, 07:53
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2024, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube.

Website powered by rwasa.