flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

flat assembler > MenuetOS > setup questions

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Kain



Joined: 26 Oct 2003
Posts: 108
a couple questions.

i can't access the 16 bit vesa graphics options. i can manage to load into 640x400 vga mode. (option 0)

even with that, on a 600 mhz celeron, the os was choppy at best, with poor performance. yet i can read about some people getting excellent performance with 340-ish mhz processors... what gives?

also, i have 900 mhz pendium ii, but no working floppy controller. any way to set up a bootable cd to load menuetos? on this machine, i can only use bochs emulator to run the os, but that is even more slow than my 600.

if bootable cd is impossible, i have a 3 gig unused partition tucked away on secondary hd, i can split a couple dozen megabytes from this to dedicate to menuetos, but i'll need a walkthrough on how to write the data to the partition and how to modify my boot uptions for multi-boot (all without using a floppy). i'd rather use this as a last option as i don't like messing around with windows boot. windows is too fussy about little changes.

thanks in advance for any assistance. this is the best looking os in dev. that i've seen. its functionality is approaching amiga-workbench (also a functional gui os interface that fits onto a single floppy... and it includes cli-shell as well!).
Post 26 Oct 2003, 05:51
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Ville



Joined: 17 Jun 2003
Posts: 221
>i can't access the 16 bit vesa graphics options. i can manage to load
> into 640x400 vga mode. (option 0) even with that, on a 600 mhz
> celeron, the os was choppy at best, with poor performance. yet i can
> read about some people getting excellent performance with 340-ish
> mhz processors... what gives?

Menuet is written for Vesa 2.0 (and above) 24/32 bit colours.
The other modes are only for getting the main functionality out of the system. Even Vesa 1.2 is a bit slow.

> also, i have 900 mhz pendium ii, but no working floppy controller. any
> way to set up a bootable cd to load menuetos? on this machine, i can
> only use bochs emulator to run the os, but that is even more slow than
> my 600.

A few people have made a bootabe cd succesfully. You could search the other 2 Menuet forums.

Cheers,
Ville
Post 26 Oct 2003, 13:18
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Torrey



Joined: 12 Oct 2003
Posts: 78
Even without an ISO image bootable CDs are easy to create. Most burning software have an option to create them. For example when using Roxio Easy CD Creator®...once you are in their program (the one where you can drag files to the window pane that contains the files to be written to the disc) you click on File > New > Bootable CD...from that you use the file menuet.img, click on OK then burn the CD, after that you just reboot the system and if your system is configured to allow boots from the CD it'll work just fine.

~Torrey
Post 29 Oct 2003, 05:13
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2019, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.