flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > DOS > .COM file wish

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
bttr



Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 16
Location: Berlin, Germany
bttr
I'd like to see a predefined "top" label for each segment. Then I could code "mov bx, (top + 10fh) / 16" without placing a stupied "top:" at the end of the file.
Post 21 Oct 2003, 08:41
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 7797
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar
For each segment? There's only one in the .COM program. And why do you think that such label is "stupid"?
Post 25 Oct 2003, 17:53
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
bttr



Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 16
Location: Berlin, Germany
bttr
Privalov wrote:
For each segment? There's only one in the .COM program.


I know. Forget it. I'll stay with NASM.

Privalov wrote:
And why do you think that such label is "stupid"?


"stupid", because the empty label has no other function as to be used for address calculation. I dislike empty labels. Wink
Post 27 Oct 2003, 10:15
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 7797
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar
bttr wrote:
"stupid", because the empty label has no other function as to be used for address calculation.

Just every label has such purpose ("address calculation"). And when you start to using such uncommon features, you just make your source less readable to someone who doesn't know them. I mean, when you write "mov bx,(top + 10fh) / 16" and there's "top:" at the end of file, everyone will know what does that mean, but when you're using some special feature of your assembler (and that probably should be something like "mov bx,(%top% +10fh) / 16" for example, as the assembler shouldn't take too much of simple word into "reserved" area), anyone who doesn't know that particular assembler that well will get confused with it...
Post 27 Oct 2003, 10:52
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
lee_huynh



Joined: 10 Dec 2003
Posts: 2
Location: Viet Nam
lee_huynh
Do you have exe2bin.exe or something else can format an *.exe file to *.bin or *.com?
Please send me if you do,thanks.
lee_huynh306@yahoo.co.uk
Post 10 Dec 2003, 09:31
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
evil__donkey



Joined: 07 Dec 2003
Posts: 26
evil__donkey
exe2bin is included with windows. try running this at command-line.

_________________
--A donkey always says thank you with a kick.
Post 12 Dec 2003, 16:58
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
evil__donkey



Joined: 07 Dec 2003
Posts: 26
evil__donkey
here's what you asked for. i haven't tested it so i cannot guarantee that it works. but i found it so here it is.


Description:
Download
Filename: EXE2BIN.zip
Filesize: 2.99 KB
Downloaded: 304 Time(s)


_________________
--A donkey always says thank you with a kick.
Post 12 Dec 2003, 23:36
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.