flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Main > flat assembler 1.65

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Kevin_Zheng



Joined: 04 Jul 2003
Posts: 125
Location: China
Kevin_Zheng
Hi, Thomas:
Thank you very much. But I've found that if we use dosbox to complie fasmw.asm. the fasm.exe will break up and windows pop-up an warning box. Please see the attached file.
1. Enter "DOS BOX"
2. set include=d:\fasm\include
3. fasm.exe fasmw.asm
The windows will break up the fasm.exe.
I've using the VS.NET 2003 to trace the break point, please see below code:
Code:
00405473  cmp         byte ptr [esi+ecx],3Ah 
00405477  je          00405486 
00405479  push        edi  
0040547A  call        00405BA5 
0040547F  pop         edi  
00405480  jae         0040548C 
00405482  add         esi,ecx 
00405484  jmp         004054B3 
00405486  lea         esi,[esi+ecx+1] 
0040548A  jmp         00405469 
0040548C  cmp         bx,0D85h 
00405491  je          004054D3 
00405493  cmp         bx,0BCEh 
00405498  je          004054D3 
0040549A  cmp         bx,0CDAh 
0040549F  je          004054D3 
004054A1  cmp         bx,0F7Ah 
004054A6  je          00405501 
004054A8  cmp         bx,0DFDh 
004054AD  je          00405590 
004054B3  lods        byte ptr [esi]  ====>Windows will break up this line.
004054B4  or          al,al 
    


But if I used the fasmw.exe to complier the fasmw.asm, it worked normally.

Kevin Zheng
Post 12 Jan 2006, 14:03
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 7725
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar
"dosbox"? I assume you mean the Command Prompt console?

And is it the DOS fasm.exe or Win32 one? I'm using the Win32 console fasm.exe to recompile all the executables before each release so I'd notice if there were something seriosly wrong with it, so perhaps it's the DOS one? I will try it when I'm back home...
Post 12 Jan 2006, 14:23
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 7725
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar
OK, it was Win32 one, but only under certain circumstances (I had to use the same "d:\include" path to reproduce this bug). After a lot of tracing I found out what was the reason - get the updated 1.65.7, it has it fixed.
Post 12 Jan 2006, 21:37
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Madis731



Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 2141
Location: Estonia
Madis731
Maybe just for completeness - add register support for:
r0, r1,..., r7 - aliases to rax,rdx,...,rsp
r00,r01,...,r09 - zero-prefix to register numbers under 10 for fixed length

Do you suggest equ instead?
Post 13 Jan 2006, 08:43
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
decard



Joined: 11 Sep 2003
Posts: 1092
Location: Poland
decard
Madis731 wrote:
Maybe just for completeness - add register support for:
r0, r1,..., r7 - aliases to rax,rdx,...,rsp
r00,r01,...,r09 - zero-prefix to register numbers under 10 for fixed length

Do you suggest equ instead?


no, no, no. It would simply cause mess, make x86-64 code that is posted here difficult to read. Some people will be using this convention, while others won't...
Post 13 Jan 2006, 09:02
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Madis731



Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 2141
Location: Estonia
Madis731
Smile I didn't know that will cause this much trouble - I was just thinking on the lines that you just use r0...through...r15 and everything will be fine. No messing with r-letters and r-numbers. But ok, if you're so against it...I knew that 64-bit instructions set won't be any good Razz

Another thought is Shift+F3 that will search backwards. This will not get in the way because if you don't use it - you just don't notice it Very Happy.
Post 13 Jan 2006, 09:42
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
decard



Joined: 11 Sep 2003
Posts: 1092
Location: Poland
decard
Madis731 wrote:
Another thought is Shift+F3 that will search backwards. This will not get in the way because if you don't use it - you just don't notice it Very Happy.


To search backwards you can check "backward direction" checkbox in search diaglog. But, Shift+F3 may be useful sometimes too, when user wants to go backwards. Proably I will implement it in Fresh.
Post 13 Jan 2006, 09:49
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Kevin_Zheng



Joined: 04 Jul 2003
Posts: 125
Location: China
Kevin_Zheng
Hi, Thomas:
I've tested the fasm 1.65.7, it's okay. Thank you very much.

kevin Zheng.
Post 13 Jan 2006, 11:00
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 7725
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar
1.65.8:
WHATSNEW.TXT wrote:
The ` operator now works with any kind of symbol; when used with quoted string it simply does nothing. Thus the sequence of ` operators applied to one symbol work the same as if there was just one. In similar manner, the sequence of # operators now works as if it was a single one - using such a sequence instead of escaping, which as kept for some backward compatibility, is now deprecated.


So ` will no longer signal an error when it is followed by a type of symbol other than the name - it converts also the special character symbols into quoted strings, and the quoted strings are just unaltered. This allows also to recognize the quoted string symbol with "match", like:
Code:
macro check symbol
{
 match `symbol,symbol \{ display "It's the quoted string" \}
}    
Post 15 Jan 2006, 17:22
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
vid
Verbosity in development


Joined: 05 Sep 2003
Posts: 7105
Location: Slovakia
vid
rewrite your pushd macro then Wink
I'll rewrite mine (FASMLIB's).

But maybe with parse-optimization implemented if-else is faster than preprocessor...
Post 16 Jan 2006, 10:17
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 7725
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar
Well, "eqtype" should anyway be faster especially with longer strings, since "match" compares the whole string to be equal. I just consider it to be another kind of trick when someone really needs to be able to check for the quoted string at preprocessing time.
Post 16 Jan 2006, 10:23
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 7725
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar
1.65.9: After first making parser/assembler a little faster I could now a bit more comfortably make it slower again, by making them collect more information into data structures related to labels.*

Also added a new section in documentation about the numerical constants and few other small modifications in other places in manual.

*Information for the people digging in fasm's internals (like Fresh developers): the symbol structure has been extended to 32 bytes, which are now pre-initialized by parser. The two added dwords at offsets 24 and 28 contain the address to symbol name (with byte containing length at offset -1) and the address of preprocessed line by which this symbol got defined.
Post 22 Jan 2006, 21:41
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 7725
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar
Some important changes in 1.65.12:
  • Added "linkremove" and "linkinfo" section flags for MS COFF output.
  • Changed ELF executable to use "segment" directive in place of "section", to make the distinction between the run-time segments and linkable sections. "section" still works with ELF executables for backward compatibility, but it's recommended to replace it.
Post 25 Jan 2006, 10:44
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Madis731



Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 2141
Location: Estonia
Madis731
I was coding with 1.65.12 and this is what happened:
1)I deleted some code from the end of the line (longer than 80chars)
2)Then I decided I didn't need it so I Ctrl+Z-d back some steps
3)Trying to find end of line with END-button FASM fails to go to the correct column

It seems like in undos text, but caches the end of lines. Changing anything on that line causes the line-end to correctly re-set. I could find out what is the number of undos you need to do to make it happen.
Post 30 Jan 2006, 22:42
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4633
Location: Argentina
LocoDelAssembly
Why FASMW 1.65.14 doesn't accept alt+number sequence anymore? :'(
I need it to do alt+126 to write "~" since my spanish keyboard doesn't provide that key.
Post 11 Mar 2006, 22:15
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 7725
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar
This is perhaps somehow related with the implementation of "Revive dead keys" option. I will check it out.
Post 11 Mar 2006, 22:17
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 7725
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar
A very small fix - but it should be OK now.
Post 11 Mar 2006, 22:34
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4633
Location: Argentina
LocoDelAssembly
Well, I downloaded it and it doesn't work and just before pressing the button "submit" of the forum I rememered that my $&·%$"& ISP has a transparent proxy so I had to download with quetannon using "Cache-Control: no-cache" to force refresh the proxy's cache and then I redownloaded it again from IE and now it works, thank you!!!Very Happy

Regards,
Hernán

PS: Telefonica and Speedy of Argentina fuck you!!!
PS2: Oh please look everybody how visible is this proxy using quetannon (specially because I get responses from 1.1.1.1 and download whatever I want from that inexistent host...):

[edit] I removed the attachment for space saving[/edit]


Last edited by LocoDelAssembly on 09 Apr 2006, 22:05; edited 1 time in total
Post 11 Mar 2006, 23:02
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 7725
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar
And by the way, how do the dead keys work on Spanish keyboard? Or are there none?
Post 11 Mar 2006, 23:49
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4633
Location: Argentina
LocoDelAssembly
What do you mean by dead keys?

Another "problem" that you probably know is that I can't do "Á" (and the other vowels) pressing "´" and then "A" like I do in any win32 program, I have to do alt+0193. I'd never reported this because you don't need this characters for programing but for strings only. At this time if I press "´" FASMW inmediately prints on screen that character so doing the sequence I'd described I get "´a" instead of "á".

If you want I can send you a PM with a picture of my keyboard to see my keys layout and what keys I have

Regards
Post 12 Mar 2006, 01:16
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.