flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Main > error in fasm or afd

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
IDK



Joined: 29 Jun 2005
Posts: 7
Location: Partille near Gothenburg, Sweden
IDK
I got this code in an included file that I have done:
Code:
        inc     bx                      ;itarate the pointer
        cmp     bx, playerdegree        ;end of rightcodes...
        je      checkAngret
    


Now becouse it didn't run as expected I started to debug using AFD.exe
But at the same spot it says this:
Code:
        inc     bx
        cmp     bx, 130
        db      0f
        test    [EB00+BP+SI],CH
        call    fcd6
    

I double and tripple checked and recompiled, but it still looks like this
I followed it there, it was 100% correct before that cmp, but after it freaked out. And it isn't a file ending error, becouse I got a lot of code after that.

Why is this happening, is it a compiler bug?
Have anyone else haved the same problem?

_________________
Niklas Ulvinge
Post 28 Oct 2005, 16:39
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger Reply with quote
MazeGen



Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 977
Location: Czechoslovakia
MazeGen
It seems that AFD can't disassemble near conditional jumps, introduced with 80386.

Here, the opcode of JE is 0F84. AFD skips 0F and disassembles 84, what is opcode of the TEST instruction.
Post 28 Oct 2005, 16:50
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
IDK



Joined: 29 Jun 2005
Posts: 7
Location: Partille near Gothenburg, Sweden
IDK
Thanks, I was worried about the assemblers.

I need a new debuger then.
Wich do you use?

Thanks again

_________________
Niklas Ulvinge
Post 28 Oct 2005, 16:58
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger Reply with quote
MazeGen



Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 977
Location: Czechoslovakia
MazeGen
IIRC Turbo Debugger is able to disasm up to 386.

I don't know how is it with free DOS debuggers, I always used Turbo.
Post 28 Oct 2005, 17:32
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
IDK



Joined: 29 Jun 2005
Posts: 7
Location: Partille near Gothenburg, Sweden
IDK
I did get something, that the jmp was a long jmpl or something, I don't know, but it was different from the others, and I did wrong when I coded it.

It shouldn't jump there, it should only jump a few bytes forward, not the whole file...

So, now I don't need to get a new debugger (for this project anyway, I like AFD), but later I will.

Thanks anyway

PS. I'll look for the turbo debuger...

_________________
Niklas Ulvinge
Post 28 Oct 2005, 17:38
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger Reply with quote
madmatt



Joined: 07 Oct 2003
Posts: 1045
Location: Michigan, USA
madmatt
If your programming in windows you should try olly debug, it supports up to a pentium III instruction set and has helped me more than a few times find bugs in code. also turn on crash dump in Dr. Watson, this will help also find many bugs.
Post 28 Oct 2005, 22:19
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
rugxulo



Joined: 09 Aug 2005
Posts: 2341
Location: Usono (aka, USA)
rugxulo
http://board.flatassembler.net/topic.php?t=3871&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0

MazeGen wrote:

I don't know how is it with free DOS debuggers, I always used Turbo.
Post 29 Oct 2005, 00:31
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
zhak



Joined: 12 Apr 2005
Posts: 490
Location: Belarus
zhak
In Windows OllyDbg and SoftICE are the best, I think
Post 29 Oct 2005, 22:22
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
IDK



Joined: 29 Jun 2005
Posts: 7
Location: Partille near Gothenburg, Sweden
IDK
I can't make OllyDbg handle .com files... so it won't be good, otherwise it was pretty much what I was looking for.

I couldn't find softice anywhere to download.
Post 29 Oct 2005, 22:57
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger Reply with quote
Matrix



Joined: 04 Sep 2004
Posts: 1171
Location: Overflow
Matrix
IDK wrote:
I can't make OllyDbg handle .com files... so it won't be good, otherwise it was pretty much what I was looking for.

I couldn't find softice anywhere to download.


( i simple search at
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=soft+ice+download&btnG=Google+search%C3%A9s&meta=
)

edited


Last edited by Matrix on 30 Oct 2005, 18:09; edited 1 time in total
Post 30 Oct 2005, 00:41
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
MazeGen



Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 977
Location: Czechoslovakia
MazeGen
Matrix, posting links to illegal downloads may cause problems to the forum administrator. You should avoid that. I mean, no version of SICE is for free.
Post 30 Oct 2005, 07:38
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
tom tobias



Joined: 09 Sep 2003
Posts: 1320
Location: usa
tom tobias
maybe the forum administrator knows something, himself, about expropriation..... Crying or Very sad
Post 30 Oct 2005, 08:55
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Matrix



Joined: 04 Sep 2004
Posts: 1171
Location: Overflow
Matrix
sorry, i left the google search there,
it is not illegal to search on google
btw, these tools are illegal in some countries?
they can be considered reverse engineering tools
Post 30 Oct 2005, 18:11
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
MazeGen



Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 977
Location: Czechoslovakia
MazeGen
I think they are illegal in democratic countries only when you violate, using them, the Copyright Act or their license agreement.
Post 30 Oct 2005, 20:10
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
rugxulo



Joined: 09 Aug 2005
Posts: 2341
Location: Usono (aka, USA)
rugxulo
Perhaps you should convert your .COM to an .EXE (temporarily), then use OllyDbg. c2e_e2c.zip

IDK wrote:
I can't make OllyDbg handle .com files... so it won't be good, otherwise it was pretty much what I was looking for.

I couldn't find softice anywhere to download.


Last edited by rugxulo on 12 Oct 2016, 00:06; edited 1 time in total
Post 31 Oct 2005, 21:40
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Reverend



Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 408
Location: Poland
Reverend
rugxulo: Imo it won't work. OllyDbg is a windows debugger and so it is unable to debug dos files - doesn't matter if it's .com or .exe
Post 01 Nov 2005, 08:51
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.