flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Non-x86 architectures > FASMARM v1.43 - Cross assembler for ARM CPUs

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 18, 19, 20 ... 30, 31, 32  Next
Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4237
Location: 2018
edfed
the problem with android is that it is the property of google. then, if google become a closed thing, android will too. and and the tendency is to be more and more closed, google will follow.


i believe this kind of stuff indeed is really interresting.
Image
this open source hardware project seems to be a really good idea.

based on FPGA programming first, and based on open source.. it is like an encouragement to do it ourselves.

maybe a light opensource hardware can be really interresting.
something with a really simplified assembly layer.
like 64bits registers accessible in all 8bits parts.

like:

RAX
FAX ,EAX
AX3 ,AX2 ,AX1 ,AX
AH3,AL3 ,AH2,AL2 ,AH1,AL1 ,AH,AL

that would be really interresting to be able to compute on a large amount of registers.

and FPGA give us the possibility to do this.

but that's not because 1 ARM manufacturer is apple-ised now that all arm is closed.
Post 02 May 2010, 08:36
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17270
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
Allowing independent access to parts of registers will use up a lot of opcode encoding space. Perhaps it would be better to provide SIMD style instructions that treat the registers as separate bytes, hwords or words but still operate in parallel on the entire register. Plus, updating only parts of a register is generally not very efficient when you want to provide pipelines and register renaming and other features that improve throughput.
Post 02 May 2010, 09:57
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
ass0



Joined: 31 Dec 2008
Posts: 521
Location: ( . Y . )
ass0
But nothing guarantees that an open source software is forever. Tom Tomorrow could change his mind.
Image

_________________
Image
Nombre: Aquiles Castro.
Location2: about:robots
Post 02 May 2010, 12:20
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
pelaillo
Missing in inaction


Joined: 19 Jun 2003
Posts: 878
Location: Colombia
pelaillo
Quote:

But nothing guarantees that an open source software is forever.

Yeah, the GPL. And it has been successful so far.
Post 03 May 2010, 14:20
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17270
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
I thought PD is the only license that guarantees open source in perpetuity.
Post 03 May 2010, 15:09
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
rxantos



Joined: 19 Jul 2008
Posts: 41
rxantos
@revolution

You are right. As long as the original author did not use things that have a binding license from someone else, he/she can change the license to whatever he/she wants to. Or even have multiple licenses. Only public domain guarantees that a open source will remain open.

However, if you download a LGPL, GPL, MIT or BSD, source or design. And the author later decides to change the license, you can still use the code you had, and do a fork. Which basically means that you cannot call the fork the same name and you cannot incorporate any changes made to the original after the license changed.
Post 05 Jun 2010, 19:28
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Kuemmel



Joined: 30 Jan 2006
Posts: 198
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Kuemmel
...just curious, within the next weeks there are some ARM based TEGRA 250 devices available, like this netbook (sorry german link, but the specs are clear anyway) ->

http://de.computers.toshiba-europe.com/innovation/series/b2c-toshiba-ac100/1087013/

My question is, is there any chance to code in assembler for that thing ? Does Android (here version 2.1) allow you to do so ? May be there's an inline assembler available or even ARMFASM would run ?

I asked the question in an Android developer forum without any usefull answer...may be somebody here ? @Revolution ?
Post 22 Aug 2010, 20:01
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4633
Location: Argentina
LocoDelAssembly
Kuemmel, it should be able to produce ELF objects at least since according to wikipedia Tegra 250 series uses ARM v7 architecture which is supported by this assembler. However, you WON'T be able to compile from there, you'll need an x86 environment (or emulator in that netbook), to be able to run fasmarm.
Post 22 Aug 2010, 21:32
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17270
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
Version 1.17 now available:
Quote:
v1.17 2010-Sep-08
  • Added support to separate byte and rotation values for immediates in shifter encoding
Post 08 Sep 2010, 11:42
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17270
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
Version 1.18 now available:
Quote:
v1.18 2010-Sep-09
  • Update for compatibility with fasm v1.69.22
Post 09 Sep 2010, 12:02
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17270
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
Version 1.19 now available:
Quote:
v1.19 2010-Sep-16
  • Add support for half-precision and extended half-precision number formatting. Compatible with fasm v1.69.24
Post 16 Sep 2010, 03:29
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
den_po



Joined: 17 Jul 2006
Posts: 23
Location: Russia, Cheboksary
den_po
v1.19

test.asm:
Code:
include "test.inc"

section 'test' executable readable writeable at 0 align 1

nop    


test.inc:
Code:
format ELF dwarf executable    


output:
Code:
flat assembler for ARM  version 1.69.24  (1344147 kilobytes memory)
error: Fatal: Failure when processing line numbers.    
Post 16 Sep 2010, 13:51
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17270
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
Hmm, works for me.
flat assembler for ARM version 1.69.24 wrote:
flat assembler for ARM version 1.69.24 (160166 kilobytes memory)
4 passes, 868 bytes.
I presume you are using the console version?

Can you try with a reduced memory. Try: fasmarm -m 100000 test.asm
Post 16 Sep 2010, 14:07
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
den_po



Joined: 17 Jul 2006
Posts: 23
Location: Russia, Cheboksary
den_po
the same thing
Post 16 Sep 2010, 15:01
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17270
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
I copied your text from above and cannot reproduce the problem. Please check your source files for anything odd or extra that is not shown above.
Post 16 Sep 2010, 15:06
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
den_po



Joined: 17 Jul 2006
Posts: 23
Location: Russia, Cheboksary
den_po
Post 16 Sep 2010, 15:10
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17270
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
Still works for me:
Quote:
C:\Documents and Settings\We are the Borg\Our Documents\den_po>runme.bat
flat assembler for ARM version 1.69.24 (160335 kilobytes memory)
4 passes, 868 bytes.
I'm using XPSP2. Perhaps the Windows version is messing it up? Confused
Post 16 Sep 2010, 15:17
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
den_po



Joined: 17 Jul 2006
Posts: 23
Location: Russia, Cheboksary
den_po
win7 x64, win7 x86.
one man confirmed that the error occurs in winxp too.
crashlog from another man (win7 x64):
Code:
Problem signature:
  Problem Event Name:     APPCRASH
  Application Name:     FASMARM.EXE
  Application Version:       0.0.0.0
  Application Timestamp: 4c917084
  Fault Module Name:    FASMARM.EXE
  Fault Module Version:      0.0.0.0
  Fault Module Timestamp:        4c917084
  Exception Code:       c0000005
  Exception Offset:     0000d02d
  OS Version:   6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.1
  Locale ID:        1049
  Additional Information 1: 0a9e
  Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
  Additional Information 3:     0a9e
  Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

Read our privacy statement online:
  http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=104288&clcid=0x0409

If the online privacy statement is not available, please read our privacy statement offline:
  C:\Windows\system32\en-US\erofflps.txt
    


i haven't specified that in winxp fasmarm crashed.
exception offset points to rep movsb

edit:
ok, some people report about crashes, some people report about "Failure when processing line numbers"
Post 16 Sep 2010, 16:00
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17270
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
What was the source code used to get it to crash? That is a different problem from the fatal error above. But the Exception Offset value makes no sense to me. 0000d02d is in the lower 64k space, which wouldn't point to any code from fasmarm.
Post 16 Sep 2010, 16:17
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
den_po



Joined: 17 Jul 2006
Posts: 23
Location: Russia, Cheboksary
den_po
sources from the link above.
d02d is a relative offset.
i've just found that the bug isn't reproduced in 1.13

Code:
C:\10_09_16\test>FASMARM113.EXE test.asm
flat assembler for ARM  version 1.67.27  (1302819 kilobytes memory)
4 passes, 724 bytes.

C:\10_09_16\test>FASMARM114.EXE test.asm
flat assembler for ARM  version 1.69.11  (1301527 kilobytes memory)
error: Fatal: Failure when processing line numbers.    
Post 16 Sep 2010, 16:21
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 18, 19, 20 ... 30, 31, 32  Next

< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.