flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Main > Help Compile

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Cool Dude 2k



Joined: 20 Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Cool Dude 2k 20 Aug 2005, 01:26
I try to compile one of the Example files and I keep getting a error saying it cant find win32a.inc I look in the INCLUDE Folder and its there How do I get it to compile things. Sad
http://img390.imageshack.us/img390/8497/error9ge.jpg
Post 20 Aug 2005, 01:26
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
r22



Joined: 27 Dec 2004
Posts: 805
r22 20 Aug 2005, 05:01
Good question, the first time I used Fasm I had the same problem.

The line in the source file that says
Quote:
include 'win32a.inc'


Doesn't have a path so you need to put the path to the directory where the file is infront of it
include 'c:\fasm\INCLUDE\win32a.inc'

I better way is to set a global variable for the path.
include '%fasminc%\win32a.inc'

To do this (if your using windows xp)
- Right click My Computer, click Properties
- Click the Advanced tab, click Environmental Varibles (button towards the bottom)
- In the User Variables box (top one) click New
- Where it says Variable name put fasminc
- Where it says Variable value put pather to the Include folder (ie: c:\fasm\INCLUDE\)
- Click Ok then click Apply and Ok
Post 20 Aug 2005, 05:01
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger Reply with quote
Cool Dude 2k



Joined: 20 Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Cool Dude 2k 20 Aug 2005, 07:09
Thanks very much. Smile
Post 20 Aug 2005, 07:09
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
UCM



Joined: 25 Feb 2005
Posts: 285
Location: Canada
UCM 20 Aug 2005, 15:53
Or, if you want to just use " include 'win32a.inc' ", add your FASM Include directory to the INCLUDE environment variable. this way, all the 'modern' code samples will work, and you won't have to type %fasminc% all the time.

_________________
This calls for... Ultra CRUNCHY Man!
Ta da!! *crunch*
Post 20 Aug 2005, 15:53
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
THEWizardGenius



Joined: 14 Jan 2005
Posts: 382
Location: California, USA
THEWizardGenius 21 Aug 2005, 19:28
I had the same problem. I think the examples should have the correct path in the first place, except I prefer a relative path such as
Code:
include '\include\win32a.inc'
    

rather than a global path, such as
Code:
include 'c:\fasm\include\win32a.inc'
    

Of course, using "%fasminc%" works too, and so does Ultra Crunchy Man's INCLUDE environment variable (which is actually the best solution, though a little more obscure in Windows).
Post 21 Aug 2005, 19:28
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2023, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.