flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Heap > best linux distribution for newbie?

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
decard

decard
Finally I've bought a 64-bit processor (Athlon 64 3000+). I would like to get some Linux distro so I could finally learn about this system, and write some 64-bit apps (currently I don't have enough money to buy 64-bit WinXP). What distro could you suggest? I'm a complete newbie to Linux, shame on me I didn't try it before... Smile
Post 12 Aug 2005, 11:43
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar
Assembly Artist

Tomasz Grysztar
That depends on what kind of newbie you are. Wink
For example, for me coming from DOS, the Gentoo was the most friendly flavor of Linux. But I guess Gentoo is not friendly at all for someone coming from Windows.
Post 12 Aug 2005, 11:47
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
pelaillo
Missing in inaction

pelaillo
decard, I suggest you to give Gentoo a try. The time you spent installing it is useful because you learn a lot about linux and the packages that made up a distro.

Another suggestion: burn a mini live CD with Puppy Linux. You will love it, it runs entirely on RAM (you will notice the speed Wink ) and all your configurations are saved back to a single file, even back to the CD. There is no need to install it.
Post 12 Aug 2005, 12:43
madmatt

madmatt
I'm no expert on Linux but linspire looks good. goto: www.linspire.com
Post 12 Aug 2005, 22:22
THEWizardGenius

THEWizardGenius
Linspire looks too much like a WIMP (Windows, Icon, Pointer, Mouse) linux. If you're that kind of person, fine.